We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitively under expectation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Hotel Letterario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Definitively under expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sorry to find out a final feedback which comes different from other reviews. We paid 150€/night for a Junior Suite (4th floor) but only had a superior room, with no extra sitting space as we expected. In the bathroom we found items used and left (empty, of course) by previous guests. This kind of room is featured by a bookshelf (you're in a literary hotel, remember) with an electric fireplace: it's hard to say we found very few books and some broken knick-knack! Stylish interior design with nice marble bathroom and wooden floor. Small minibar with few items and no ice. Free internet wi-fi (ask for the password) but very slow and weak. Good buffet breakfast, with salty food and fresh pastries. No info about spa. It seems to be some lack of control by hotel management. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Beware the Junior Suite is just a superior room, the only extra was a small coffee table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    346
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
147
598
40
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gross-Enzersdorf, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in Trieste for just one night, a stop-over on a longer journey. I decided for Victoria hotel because of good ratings from other guests - and they were confirmed by our experience.
The room was on a high standard, including AC and WIFI - only the TV did not work well.
The service was very good, the people were eager to help whenever they were asked.
The parking is about 50 meters away, over the street at extra charge - OK.
The location is fine, just a few minutes away from the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a superior room in August - and would happily stay at Hotel Victoria again and recommend it to others. It's about a 10 minute walk from the centre. Very good service. Nice staff and room. Although it's on a busy road, it was v quiet with the windows closed and v comfortable with the air-conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Arrival and Location:
The Hotel is located on one of the main axes through the city and is therefore easy to find. There is no unloading zone in front of the hotel, you have to turn into the side street Via Antonio Caccia where the hotel has some dedicated short-term slots, but those may not always be available.
Long-term parking is in a side street opposite the hotel (Via Della Madonnina – Garage Parcheggio), maybe 100 m from the main entrance, for € 13 per day.
The hotel is around a 10 min walk from the Canale Grande, and roughly 15 min from the Piazza Unita. Most major bus lines have stops close to the hotel.

The Room:
We had a superior double room, which was spacious and nicely appointed. Fridge/Minibar with sufficient space to cool some own beverages or food items, large safe deposit box, adequately sized flat screen tv with international channels. Sound-proofing seemed efficient enough to reduce the traffic noise from the main road to a tolerable level. The aircon system worked efficiently, but once it reached the set temperature it started to turn on and off quite frequently which was a bit annoying. Wifi was available free of charge throughout the whole hotel and seemed reliable.

The Bathroom:
Adequately sized with screened shower/bathtub combination. Everything looked clean and well maintained. Quality amenities.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was included in the room rate. It was served in an area adjacent to the lobby which seemed a bit crammed. Theoretically the buffet with its selection of hot and cold items could have been quite good, but unfortunately the area was ridiculously understaffed, and the two staff members did not manage to keep the buffet refilled in a timely manner. Requests to refill particular items evoked irritated to rude responses; the two staffers were clearly on the edge. On one occasion it took about 30 minutes to get a cappuccino.

Check-in / Check-out / Frontdesk:
Efficient, friendly and helpful

Conclusion:
Good and recommendable hotel in a suitable location for those who want to explore the city of Trieste. The breakfast service requires some organisational improvements.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fotomate88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augst, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel is centrally located. Shops and Restaurants are in the surrounding area. Rooms are nice, clean and not to small. Staff is nice and helpfully. Also there is lot of traffic, the room was quiet and has aircon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urs J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very good, friendly service. Nice and clean rooms. Excellent service. Very good breakfast.
Somehow a bit difficult to park the car but a garage is in the neighborhood. A nice walk of 10 min. to reach ctiy center,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Pierre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with another couple. It was very nice experience. And the staffs r so friendly and helpful.
Especially the floor is with very nice classic woods. I was so satisfied with the room. The space is very enough big. The staff, who all the time smile at us , is Vanessa. Thank you very much again.
I would defiantly recommend the hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilieJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.7 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.5 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
4.5 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 50 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel Letterario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel Letterario

Property: Victoria Hotel Letterario
Address: Via Alfredo Oriani 2, 34131, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Trieste
#2 Family Hotel in Trieste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel Letterario 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nel cuore di una citta da leggere, l'Hotel Victoria e stato creato per esprimere l'apprezzamento per la tradizione culturale di Trieste, con tutto il fascino, la storia e l'eleganza di una miscela mitteleuropea di 44 camere. Situato in un edificio storico - che fu la residenza del famoso scrittore irlandese James Joyce - l'Hotel Victoria e organizzato con una particolare attenzione per i dettagli. E la risposta ideale per uomini d'affari e viaggiatori che amano il comfort e un servizio di qualita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Victoria Hotel Letterario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing