We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Great location, great place'”
Review of Residence Liberty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Liberty
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“'Great location, great place'”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here for four nights with a friend while visiting Trieste. The residence is close to the centre and close to lots of cafés, bars etc. The staff were very helpful although not all of them spoke English. Our apartment was on the 3rd floor, large sitting room with twin beds curtained off, kitchen with double doors which opened on to a small balcony. Large bathroom with shower, bidet .. Clean bright spotless apartment.

Room Tip: Room 3c at front with small balcony, don't think any others had one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldocheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    101
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
62
76
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our recent visit to the Residence Liberty could not have been better. We arrived barely in time for 8 pm check-in due to flight delays, but were given a room high up in the property with a view of the coast (just as I requested). The small studio apartments are minimally appointed, but clean, bright and very comfortable. We could barely hear anyone in the hotel but were told that it was fully booked.

The woman at reception was so friendly and kind and immediately made us feel welcome. She even suggested we hunt for parking on the street so as to not incur the extra car garage costs. The wifi could have been more reliable, but that was a small drawback to staying in such a gem of a hotel. I loved Trieste and I loved the Residence Liberty!

Room Tip: Request a room high up in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The location was perfect, just a few minutes from the centre of the city and I was amazed at just how clean and spacious the accommodation was. Brilliant memory foam pillows ensured a full nights sleep every night. Massive apartment too. Lovely staff who stayed late as our arrival was due after they were due to close. Can't fault this place atall. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this.

I would mention that I had read previous comments about the hellish smell of smoke in the lobby. This must have been addressed because there was no smoke smells when we were there (5 day period).

Room Tip: We had room 10a and had a pretty good view do the sea area......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voronezh, Russia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We visited Residense Liberty in may 2014. Hotel situated in the centre of Triest, near Piazza Unitá d'Italia, Aquarium and Stazione Maritima. 10-15 minutes by walk to Castello di San Giusto. Hotel doesn't serve breakfasts because there is no restaurant there. But there are citchens in the Studio rooms. Parking is extra-paid and doesn't situated at "nearby" location! You'll have to take all necessaries away from the car. Please note that the street under the windows still noisy late into the night! In general Residence Liberty is a good choice for the city trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izamjatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oropa, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the Residence Liberty. Perfectly located a couple of blocks from Piazza dell'Unita and from the sea, near restaurants, bars, and other attractions, the personnel was exceptionally cordial and helpful. Our mini-apartment included a foyer, a large modern bathroom, and a large bedroom with a comfortable bed. There was also a functional furnished kitchen with electric burners, a mini fridge, a dishwasher, and all the basic essential cutlery. The free internet was fast but a bit odd--you have to have a separate password for each computer. The flat screen TV worked perfectly. Basically, if you have to spend any length of time in Trieste, this would be the perfect place. Our only quibble, and one about which we decided not to make an issue since we were there for only two nights and since the city was packed because of the Giro d'Italia, was that the foyer reeked of cigarette smoke. While we would definitely consider returning to the Residence Liberty for future stays in Trieste, particularly lengthy ones, we would definitely check in advance to avoid this problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank restifbretonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have been very happy with the Residence. We arrived late but they waited for us. We kept forgetting things in a car that needed to be driven away to a private parking lot but they were patient with us. The room was enormous, with fantastic kitchen (with a dining table!). Very clean. We stayed at the 10th floor, with a good view and a lot of light. I can imagine that staying on lower floors is not that exciting. Location is also good, steps from the Trieste port and attractions.

Room Tip: Top floors have probably more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamanta_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I stayed here for a few nights while on business. As always, I booked it last minute. The lady on Reception spoke little English, but don't let that put you off, as she speaks German, Italian and also French. Check in was a swift, and within a few minutes I was in my room.

The apartment itself was huge, with a King bed, 2 comfy chairs and a table. It was very light and airy, with large windows. The aircon was working, but we were assured that they were due to switch the whole system on, very soon.

The kitchen has most of what you would need for a short stay, but take my advice and take a travel kettle, as the one supplied takes an age to heat on the hot plate.

The bathroom was very spacious, and fitted with a Bidet. If I had to find one criticism, it would be the size of the shower. Although adequate, the bathroom size would have allowed a larger one.

The apartment I had was on the 8th floor? There is a lift all the way to the top, but for those with limited mobility, be aware that the lift starts from the 1st floor, and not the ground.

Plenty of places to eat, all within 5 mins walk. Also, be aware that parking can be a nightmare in Trieste. I had to park 2/3 streets away, but having been to Trieste many times, I was expecting it. That said, the car was safe, due probably to the good amount of Police in the area.

Room Tip: The room I had, had an excellent view up the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefBosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#6 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Liberty

Property: Residence Liberty
Address: Via Generale Armando Diaz 14, 34124, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Liberty 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing