We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little hotel on the top!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Little hotel on the top!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming for years to this family owned hotel.
The location can be treaky to find, but the location is great and so are the views from the rooms facing the valley.f possible try to book one of these
Room and bathrooms are very clean.
The restaurant has been suspended for the time being. Will probably reopen for the summer months.
Breakfast is simple but sufficient, and is included in the price.
You have two choices of parking, one public not far, and also at the hotel..

I strongly recomend this place if you intend to discover the oldest republic of Europe.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jose Manuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    188
    39
    2
    1
See reviews for
92
268
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Choose a room with a view, it's definitely worth paying the extra for, the view from our balcony was amazing. The hotel is run by a couple who were very helpful, the rooms were nice and clean and the breakfast was ok. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Rosa in San Marino in October, 2012........it was a little hard to find but once we figured out that you could only drive to it at certain times of the day it was pretty simple......Beautiful Location on top of a Mountain in the center of the City, next to one of the Castles in the town..........our Window opened onto the Castle next to the Hotel and the City below.......a wonderful Restaurant, had a great Dinner and the free Breakfast was wonderful.....if we ever get back to San Marino this is certainly where we will stay...........Bill in Texas....

Room Tip: Request Castle View........
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opschief136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra, Regno Unito
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Room was fairly big with a very nice bathroom. The hotel was perfectly clean and very close to the city center.
I have just a little complaint about the quality of the sleep: the walls where really thin and I heard (way too much) the neighborhood's snoring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Clean, very hepfull and friendly staff, verry good location - just inside the castle, amazing views and they serve best coffee ever. Highly recomended. And very good restaurant. Highly recomended. We were really impressed by the location and views:))

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We toured Italy and found ourselves in San Marino at the Rosa. Our first impression was good. The hotel reception was clean, and pleasant and the owner/manager very helpful. We checked in (after a heart pounding walk up the hill with our luggage) and found our way to a small extremely clean room. The size of the room was an issue because we only stayed one night, and wanted to 'live out' of our suitcase. Unfortunately the only room to open a case was on the bed. In a week of travelling, it was the only hotel/b&b where we had to ask for extra pillows too. However, they were only minor issues, so we were happy enough.

As we were travelling without our small children, internet access for Skype was essential for us and we were assured that the hotel had free Wifi. We were really please to find that the router was just outside the room too so our connection was top notch. The reality was different. The connection to the network may have been great, but the internet connection was abysmal. It was so bad that it was virtually useless. The manager put it down to many people using the wifi in the hotel which firstly seems like a poor excuse as they should be set up for a full hotel, let alone one only partially full and secondly he was just wrong. How do I know? Well after waking at 3am sweating because the room was too hot (It was November, there was no heating on, and the window was open - I can only put it down to the room being so small) I tried going online. Again, I had the same drops in service. I can't imagine many people using it at that time. My wife had the same problems on her devices.

Breakfast was a simple fare. Perfectly adequate without being memorable. Although there was still the lingering smell of cigars which one of the staff smoked the night before. Smoking is not allowed inside, but I guess this rule didn't apply to them.

So would I recommend this hotel? Yes if you were staying for one night and you got one of the larger rooms, and if connecting to the internet wasn't important to you.

If you must have internet connection, and wanted something with a bit of character with friendly (rather than functional) staff, then I would say give it a miss.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJoneshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
465 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This small hotel is located within the walls of San Marino at the very end of the road. Until 19:00 traffic is restricted in the city however there is a parking lot at the city wall 100 meters or so from the hotel. All uphill but........The room was very clean and updated with reasonable wireless connections. Breakfast was adequate with bread, meats and cheeses, pastry, yogurt and cereals. We had an evening meal there as well. The food and service were good as was our two night stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, overlooking the valley, or both! There is no traffic to be concerned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bstdflsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these City of San Marino hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Cesare
Hotel Ristorante Cesare
#1 of 10 in City of San Marino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Joli
Hotel Joli
#3 of 10 in City of San Marino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel San Marino
Grand Hotel San Marino
#2 of 10 in City of San Marino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Grotta
Hotel La Grotta
#4 of 10 in City of San Marino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#6 of 10 in City of San Marino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rocca
Hotel La Rocca
#5 of 10 in City of San Marino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa Hotel

Property: Rosa Hotel
Address: Via Lapicidi Marini 23, City of San Marino 47890, San Marino
Phone Number:
Location: San Marino > City of San Marino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in City of San Marino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, situated in the historic centre of San Marino, a few steps from the "Guaita" tower, offers to its guests the privilege of a unique position between the walls, the silence of the Mediterranean bush and an excellent view on the Montefeltro. Recently restored, the Rosa Hotel is open all year long and it is also ideal for long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel San Marino/City Of San Marino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing