We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On top of San Marino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Cesare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel Ristorante Cesare ("Cesare") is located at the top of the mountain, "walled" city, so it's location is spectacular for views and visiting within the walls of the City of San Marino (thus it is a long ways from everything else). For couples in the summer, you must ask for room no. 106, as it has a huge private balcony (one of the best, if not the best in the entire city); the room is small, faces south-southwest and will get warm, but there is air conditioning (when the key jag is inserted and the windows closed). Remember the step up into the bathroom (especially at night)! The staff was pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast lady (who happens to clean your rooms too), is by far the most wonderful person at Cesare! She makes a great cappuccino, scrambled and/or hard boiled eggs, anything you may desire at breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcwbesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 593 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've only stayed here for one night, but the service was very friendly and the room was clean, too.

If you get a room (take a superior one) you will be greeted by a stunning view of the whole valley. Really stunning and worth the extra €18.

Contrary to what others are saying the parking is not free (it is a public parking space after all), but you get a discounted voucher at the reception for €4 a day. Take parking zone #6 (very small parking space and you need to be there in time)

Room Tip: Superior rooms have stunning view over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thenitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Excelent location! Just in historic city centre next to all important historic buildings and castles. Like a guest of hotel you have discount in museums and entrances.Parking is next to hotel. Room is big and nice equipped. Hotel staff was very polite and really made our day! They were OK with later check out and didn't charge us. Breakfast were delicious and there was great choice- you can even cook egg your own way you like :) Restaurant has good food on menu, but we didnt try it, so I cant tell if the kitchen is good, but true is, that at 8pm came for dinner just Italiens and restaurant was full...so it should be good :)

Advice:
If you wanna see San Marino never go there in weekend and during the day. Best time is in the evening, all souvenir shops are closed and historic centre is empty: You can make great pictures. There is just few opened restaurant-enough for few people. Museums and towers are closed in the evening, but you can go there in the morning after breakfast :D

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Park your car in a public lot (number 6) and walk just a few meters to the front door. Check in was easy. Our Corner room had a nice view but was typically small. The bathroom was also tiny with the unfortunately normal 2 X 2 foot shower stall. The room was quite clean. Plusses are the location, within easy walking distance to everything. Minuses were a stiff bed, no wifi in the room, though it is advertised as having wifi throughout the hotel, average breakfast and, though minor, we had to ask for toilet paper. Given the location and price, we might stay again though I'd check out other hotels and other recommendations. We didn't try the restaurant.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tod25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesare11, Proprietario at Hotel Ristorante Cesare, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for sharing your personal opinion with internet community and for having choosen our Hotel for your stay. I remember You and the difficulties with wi-fi in your room, I' m really sorry for this inconvenience as I know the importance that a very good wi-fi line has for Guests.

This is the reason I remember I immediately offered you to change your room . ..why didn' t You accepted ?

As I explained we were finishing some upgrading works, as since some time we noticed a signal degradation really in a pair of rooms in the end of the floor like in your room.

Right now we have finished the work of line reinforcement.... !! so the wi-fi is perfectly efficient!
very good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

So, you decided to add The Most Serene Republic of San Marino to your travels. It's soooo worth it! So many will say its just a silly land of bric a brac, etc, but we made the trip. It takes a little extra effort if not driving, and by all means, stay the night!!!! The castles and the scenery become magical at night. It's incredibly relaxing, and there are good hotels and restaurants. We stayed here at the Hotel Cesare. It's not the fanciest, but it's a good deal, and if you ask for a room with a terrace you have an amazing view. The sunset was superb. The restaurant was exquisite, great food, great service. The hotel was comfortable. Go to San Marino, and enjoy the fantasy! If you do, stay at Hotel Cesare!!!!!

Room Tip: You should get a balcony room, share some wine and watch the amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howardrpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Location is excellent here and the staff were nice but I can still only give this hotel an overall 'average.'

For what you get I feel it is expensive. The rooms are really quite small and beginning to look older. The breakfast selection isn't particularly large, just ok, and that's in my view like the hotel overall.... Ok, average.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlistairDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Cesare for just the one night and would definitely recommend it as a very nice place to stay.
The staff are so friendly arranging a pick up for me from the bus stop and dropping me down when I was leaving - this is important as San Marino is built on a very steep hill and though the hotel is only a few minutes on foot from the bus station, the walk would be very steep, especially with luggage and especially too if there is snow which there was lots of for me!
The rooms are spotless but small but the views of the surrounding valleys and hills are magnificent.
The restaurant downstairs is top notch and the breakfast was very good. San Marino is a beautiful little place and the Cesare is an excellent option if you are visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing away from the road, i.e. looking over the valleys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these City of San Marino hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel San Marino
Grand Hotel San Marino
#2 of 12 in City of San Marino
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Joli
Hotel Joli
#4 of 12 in City of San Marino
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Titano
Hotel Titano
#7 of 12 in City of San Marino
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Titano Suites Hotel
Titano Suites Hotel
#9 of 12 in City of San Marino
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Grotta
Hotel La Grotta
#5 of 12 in City of San Marino
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rocca
Hotel La Rocca
#6 of 12 in City of San Marino
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Cesare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Cesare

Address: Salita Alla Rocca 7 | Old Town City Centre, City of San Marino 47890, San Marino
Phone Number:
Location: San Marino > City of San Marino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in City of San Marino
#2 Luxury Hotel in City of San Marino
Price Range: $87 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ristorante Cesare 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cesare, a small and elegant hotel within the ancient walls of San Marino, is located in a in a pedestrian-only and panoramic area, only 20m far from "Piazzale Cava Antica" (the public parking N.6, in the highest position). You can easily walk among nice shops to the Towers of San Marino and to all the places of historic and artistic interest of the city. Within this historic palace we will be welcomed by a multilingual staff. The rooms are elegantly furnished and equipped with many comforts, including free unlimited WIFI internet connection and Sky TV with international channels. At the breakfast buffet you will find, among other things, cakes of various kinds, homemade tarts, fresh fruit salad, typical products of San Marino and the corner of cold cuts and boiled eggs. Hot drinks are served at the moment by the staff. The restaurant offers a discount to the clients of the hotel and proposes both international and traditional cuisine. The specialties are homemade pasta and wood-fire grilled meat and fish. The hotel provides its customers with a short guide of the historic center with a useful map of the city and several reductions for visiting the places of interest such as the castles, the museums and the Palazzo Pubblico, for getting the cable car to Borgo Maggiore, and also discounts cards for shopping. The hotel is located just a few kilometers from the Adriatic coast and from San Leo, Montebello, Verucchio and other jewels of the Montefeltro Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Cesare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Cesare Hotel
Hotel Ristorante Cesare San Marino/City Of San Marino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing