We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Cesare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've only stayed here for one night, but the service was very friendly and the room was clean, too.

If you get a room (take a superior one) you will be greeted by a stunning view of the whole valley. Really stunning and worth the extra €18.

Contrary to what others are saying the parking is not free (it is a public parking space after all), but you get a discounted voucher at the reception for €4 a day. Take parking zone #6 (very small parking space and you need to be there in time)

Room Tip: Superior rooms have stunning view over the valley
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thenitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ristorante Cesare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 581 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Excelent location! Just in historic city centre next to all important historic buildings and castles. Like a guest of hotel you have discount in museums and entrances.Parking is next to hotel. Room is big and nice equipped. Hotel staff was very polite and really made our day! They were OK with later check out and didn't charge us. Breakfast were delicious and there was great choice- you can even cook egg your own way you like :) Restaurant has good food on menu, but we didnt try it, so I cant tell if the kitchen is good, but true is, that at 8pm came for dinner just Italiens and restaurant was full...so it should be good :)

Advice:
If you wanna see San Marino never go there in weekend and during the day. Best time is in the evening, all souvenir shops are closed and historic centre is empty: You can make great pictures. There is just few opened restaurant-enough for few people. Museums and towers are closed in the evening, but you can go there in the morning after breakfast :D

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Park your car in a public lot (number 6) and walk just a few meters to the front door. Check in was easy. Our Corner room had a nice view but was typically small. The bathroom was also tiny with the unfortunately normal 2 X 2 foot shower stall. The room was quite clean. Plusses are the location, within easy walking distance to everything. Minuses were a stiff bed, no wifi in the room, though it is advertised as having wifi throughout the hotel, average breakfast and, though minor, we had to ask for toilet paper. Given the location and price, we might stay again though I'd check out other hotels and other recommendations. We didn't try the restaurant.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tod25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesare11, Proprietario at Hotel Ristorante Cesare, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for sharing your personal opinion with internet community and for having choosen our Hotel for your stay. I remember You and the difficulties with wi-fi in your room, I' m really sorry for this inconvenience as I know the importance that a very good wi-fi line has for Guests.

This is the reason I remember I immediately offered you to change your room . ..why didn' t You accepted ?

As I explained we were finishing some upgrading works, as since some time we noticed a signal degradation really in a pair of rooms in the end of the floor like in your room.

Right now we have finished the work of line reinforcement.... !! so the wi-fi is perfectly efficient!
very good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

So, you decided to add The Most Serene Republic of San Marino to your travels. It's soooo worth it! So many will say its just a silly land of bric a brac, etc, but we made the trip. It takes a little extra effort if not driving, and by all means, stay the night!!!! The castles and the scenery become magical at night. It's incredibly relaxing, and there are good hotels and restaurants. We stayed here at the Hotel Cesare. It's not the fanciest, but it's a good deal, and if you ask for a room with a terrace you have an amazing view. The sunset was superb. The restaurant was exquisite, great food, great service. The hotel was comfortable. Go to San Marino, and enjoy the fantasy! If you do, stay at Hotel Cesare!!!!!

Room Tip: You should get a balcony room, share some wine and watch the amazing view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howardrpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Location is excellent here and the staff were nice but I can still only give this hotel an overall 'average.'

For what you get I feel it is expensive. The rooms are really quite small and beginning to look older. The breakfast selection isn't particularly large, just ok, and that's in my view like the hotel overall.... Ok, average.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlistairDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Cesare for just the one night and would definitely recommend it as a very nice place to stay.
The staff are so friendly arranging a pick up for me from the bus stop and dropping me down when I was leaving - this is important as San Marino is built on a very steep hill and though the hotel is only a few minutes on foot from the bus station, the walk would be very steep, especially with luggage and especially too if there is snow which there was lots of for me!
The rooms are spotless but small but the views of the surrounding valleys and hills are magnificent.
The restaurant downstairs is top notch and the breakfast was very good. San Marino is a beautiful little place and the Cesare is an excellent option if you are visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing away from the road, i.e. looking over the valleys.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Booking was easy despite me changing my mind once our twice and I emailed on the morning of our arrival in order to take them up on their offer of a shuttle service. Unfortunately I didn't get their reply which pointed out that the buses drop people off in more than one place - hint, if you want the shuttle service, make sure you can phone the hotel when you arrive - luckily I had their phone number so when we arrived they sent a shuttle, a Mercedes people mover. Very nice.
The check in was fine but the lady informed us that the restaurant was closed the next day, our only full day, which was annoying to say the least. It would have been nice had we been told a month or so before when we booked the room as it was one reason we chose the place. Fwiw it was a Tuesday; perhaps they close each Tuesday at this time of year.
The room was smallish but very stylish with a view to die for (room 206) over the valley.
A few hidden problems emerged later: the noise of the lift 'bings' that someone else mentioned, were very loud. The rooms are not well insulated from each other and we were woken the next morning by the delightful sound of the person in Room 205 urinating.
The bed consisted of two mattresses placed together and we could feel the join rather too easily and my pillow was thicker at one end than at the other, despite all my thumping and fluffing.
The bathroom is small, which is okay, but the shower was indeed the world's smallest (per another's comment) and it was hard to get in (I'm big but not huge) and impossible to bend over to wash my legs or feet; for a 4 star hotel that is ridiculous.
Also, when beer and wine is tax-free why are the mini-bar prices so high? Double what you pay in the shops is standard (although still a rip-off) but four times?
Breakfast is substantial, though the only thing you will get hot is a boiled egg and the drinks, but that said, the choice is huge and very nice.
The hotel location is fantastic, just below the castle, and handy for the whole town.
Finally, when we left, we asked for the shuttle - we booked it the night before - but in the morning were told it was busy (really, on an off-season Wednesday at 11am?) so they had ordered us a taxi.
Now, a real 4 star hotel would pay for the taxi themselves if their shuttle was unavailable. A good hotel would negotiate a rate with a firm; this hotel just told us that we should pay €10 and ordered us a taxi that charged us €15. Shame on you.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon_Bennett_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCesare, Hotel Staff at Hotel Ristorante Cesare, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review and for having shared with tripadvisor users the positive aspects of your holiday in our hotel, such as our location, the view from our rooms, the choice of our breakfast buffet.

Anyway, we would like to make some points.
First of all, we are really sad that you did not try our cuisine. As a matter of fact, we informed you that our Restaurant would have close the day after as soon as you checked-in at about 8 pm, we would have been pleased to reserve you a table for that evening.
Our Restaurant is open nearly every day all year-round and it was not expected that it should close. This rarely happens due whether to weather conditions or to unpredicted changes in the internal organization. We apologize.

Regarding the rooms, we acknowledge that just few of them have shower boxes which are not really big, but most of other rooms offer bigger boxes or Jacuzzi bathtubs.
Furthermore, in only 2 rooms it is possible to separate the two single beds or to prepare them with one double bed. It often happens that unfortunately because of this reason we are not able to satisfy many requests.

As concerns the shuttle service upon arrival from the bus stop in San Marino, as you may understand, we always kindly ask to our guests for confirmation of the arrival time, because of the hitch in time which may occur.
We apologize instead for the service on your departure: you are completely right about this.
We are absolutely not used to do so, but in that moment we really had no shuttle available, because of technical problems. We are really sorry that the taxi driver asked you 5 Euros more than usual, we have been cooperating until now with several taxi companies but we are actually thinking to negotiate a rate with a firm as you suggested.

In conclusion, in case you will come back to the Republic of San Marino and you will choose us again, we would be really pleased to reserve you a very special treatment in order to beg your pardon.

Kindest regards,

Hotel Ristorante Cesare Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these City of San Marino hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel San Marino
Grand Hotel San Marino
#1 of 11 in City of San Marino
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Joli
Hotel Joli
#3 of 11 in City of San Marino
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Titano
Hotel Titano
#6 of 11 in City of San Marino
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Titano Suites Hotel
Titano Suites Hotel
#8 of 11 in City of San Marino
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Grotta
Hotel La Grotta
#4 of 11 in City of San Marino
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rocca
Hotel La Rocca
#5 of 11 in City of San Marino
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Cesare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Cesare

Address: Salita Alla Rocca 7 | Old Town City Centre, City of San Marino 47890, San Marino
Phone Number:
Location: San Marino > City of San Marino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in City of San Marino
#2 Luxury Hotel in City of San Marino
Price Range: $90 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ristorante Cesare 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cesare, a small and elegant hotel within the ancient walls of San Marino, is located in a in a pedestrian-only and panoramic area, only 20m far from "Piazzale Cava Antica" (the public parking N.6, in the highest position). You can easily walk among nice shops to the Towers of San Marino and to all the places of historic and artistic interest of the city. Within this historic palace we will be welcomed by a multilingual staff. The rooms are elegantly furnished and equipped with many comforts, including free unlimited WIFI internet connection and Sky TV with international channels. At the breakfast buffet you will find, among other things, cakes of various kinds, homemade tarts, fresh fruit salad, typical products of San Marino and the corner of cold cuts and boiled eggs. Hot drinks are served at the moment by the staff. The restaurant offers a discount to the clients of the hotel and proposes both international and traditional cuisine. The specialties are homemade pasta and wood-fire grilled meat and fish. The hotel provides its customers with a short guide of the historic center with a useful map of the city and several reductions for visiting the places of interest such as the castles, the museums and the Palazzo Pubblico, for getting the cable car to Borgo Maggiore, and also discounts cards for shopping. The hotel is located just a few kilometers from the Adriatic coast and from San Leo, Montebello, Verucchio and other jewels of the Montefeltro Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Cesare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Cesare Hotel
Hotel Ristorante Cesare San Marino/City Of San Marino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing