We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an experience”
Review of Grand Hotel Rimini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Rimini
Ranked #38 of 630 Hotels in Rimini
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

we were with my american friend on a leisure winter trip of italy and decided to stop in rimini.this was the right choice.Rimini and the Grand hotel in winter are really an experience worth to do.
You get the best service , the best rooms without any problem , the best prices and the atmosphere !!!!!!!!! if you loved Fellini's movies , well , you are acting in one of them .
The bar service was extremely professional as it was the breakfest room.
we decided to stay for two nights and went for long walks to the beach.

Room Tip: garden or beach view , this is the question?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gbianconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 853 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was there for the MOTO GP , a classic Palace hotel built in typical luxurious Italian style, great location and fantastic staff who could not do enough to help or inform. well worth it, must be visited to appreciate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaronBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I just spent 4 days at this wonderful hotel. Our room was in the old section - which had been renovated and was not large. But the room was comfortable, the bed was very comfortable and the room had an elegance and charm. We had a lovely little balcony overlooking the outdoor dance floor and dining area. One night, there was a party until midnight - and they played music from the 60's and 70's and we enjoyed watching the party from time to time. A step back in time. We were delighted. The service at the hotel was outstanding. Ekaterina at the front desk was fabulous, as was Canio. I had some difficulty connecting my wife's Blackberry to the wi-fi system - in 2 minutes came Canio to the rescue and resolved the problem. Breakfast outdoors under the umbrellas was gracious and wonderful. We spent one day at their beach and thoroughly enjoyed it. Everything about the hotel was elegant and well-done. We would return to the hotel with no hesitation.

Room Tip: We were in the old section - renovated - but room was smallish...We had a great view of their magnif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one week, upon arrival there was no information about breakfast ,lunch or dinner. No information about anything about the the hotel facilities which I found impolite and unprofessional . For a 5 star hotel I expected more from the staff, the hotel was clean and staff polite.breakfast was as expected ,prices the same as we knew it was going to be expensive. Upon leaving no one asked if we had a good time or enquired whether the hotel meant our expectations.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank chelsea013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This fine property is located on the Adriatic Riviera in Northern Italy. For about 400 euros a night you get a king sized, a spacious bathroom, a sitting room and a balcony with views of the Adriatic Sea and the property's exquisite garden. The property has an amazing private beach steps away from the hotel furnished with lounge and sitting chairs, an umbrella and safe for another 50 euros a day. The property is charming and enchanting depicting old world charm. I later discovered while there that Princess Diana and Frederico Fellini were past guests. Breakfast is included in the room price and it was very good. My only issues with this property was the dated mattress and pillows both of which were almost petrified and stoney hard. The chamber maid was able to change out the pillows to down which were ok however you cant change a mattress that easily. A fine memory foam mattress would have made this a 5 star property. Sleep and mattresses are important and that was not easy to come by when a mattress is petered and just too old.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GGBRAUNEMOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights end of March with a private group which took over the entire hotel. We had two connecting rooms with one bathroom. "Ask for renovated rooms", ours wasn't and looked very old (more like a hospital from the 30s). But, the rooms were very clean! The toillet was running water and when we called to have this repaired, they handyman did something but it was still running water. We were two adults with four children.
I certainly would come back to this place as the staff is very children-friendly, the hotel spotles clean, the food amazing, and the hotel grandios with a nice park. It is two minutes to the beach. The place to be with children! One day we also rented a car and drove to Vince (2,5 hours!).

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms, as some aren't. They also have little apartment like rooms with two bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucernelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here June 2013 and had a wonderful time. We stayed in La Residenza, and it's true what they say: better price/quality. We were also lucky to book a corner room in La Residenza, because those rooms are bigger than the small rooms in the Grand (I don't quite understand the other reviewers on this, but I guess the corner rooms are really much better in La Residenza than the smaller rooms there).

There are a number of money sinks you want to keep an eye out for. Primarily the beach: it's a 100 euro's for some beds and an umbrella. If you get the beach included in your stay, that's a headache less. Otherwise just head 100m over, the beach is much cheaper (or even free) there.

Also for parking: we parked for free (outside of season) right in front of La Residenza. Two steps away from the door. Much better than the 18 euro a day parking spots in the paid parking, in front of the Grand.

The breakfast is excellent (don't miss it!). Especially if the weather is nice, you can sit on the terrace. We also had lunch in the gardens around the hotel every day, and it's amazing how much peace and quiet you can get in such a central place of town.

Our biggest complaint, aside from the money sinks, was the fact that the straws on the beach are straight, instead of bent, so that you have to sit up every time you want to sip your cocktail. If that's the worst to complain about... It's a good hotel.

(but you must love old charm, if you're a "modernist" and only like endless pools and taps that people with a PhD find hard to operate and water pressure that could beam away concrete and ACs that work 24/7 and reduce 40 degree weather to a soothing -5, don't stay here.)

Room Tip: View the rooms before hand, probably better off-season, as the rules will probably get stricter when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlingerJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rimini hotels
1.1 mi away
i-SUITE Design Hotel
i-SUITE Design Hotel
#11 of 630 in Rimini
1,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milton Rimini, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Ambienthotels Villa Adriatica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#40 of 630 in Rimini
689 reviews
0.8 mi away
Erbavoglio Hotel
Erbavoglio Hotel
#5 of 630 in Rimini
822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Londres
Hotel De Londres
#22 of 630 in Rimini
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Rimini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Rimini

Address: Parco Federico Fellini 1, 47921, Rimini, Italy (Formerly Il Grand Hotel di Rimini)
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Rimini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rimini
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rimini
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Rimini
#33 Business Hotel in Rimini
Price Range: $155 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Rimini 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Grand Hotel Rimini, welcome to charm! The Grand Hotel Rimini, the five star deluxe hotel which has always been considered as the symbol of "La Dolce Vita" on the Adriatic Riviera, is a magnificent building with more than a 100 years history. Inaugurated in 1908, a national monument since 1984, the Grand Hotel Rimini has always welcome a large number of celebrities: the tenor Caruso, the Duce Mussolini, Gorbatchev, Bush Senior, Federico Fellini and his wife Giulietta Masina, Lady Diana, Christian Barnard, Tony Blair, Sharon Stone, Albert of Monaco, Edward of Windsor and the Dalai Lama, just to mention a few. With the taking over of the Batani family in 2007, major renovation works have been immediately started following the criteria imposed by the Italian Ministery of Fine Arts and today the Grand Hotel Rimini is back to its ancient splendour, especially the mythical Liberty facade. New, precious materials such as travertine, onyx and white marbles from northern Italy beautifully combine with the renovated original parquet flooring and Venetian flooring in the ancient ballrooms, in a beautiful harmony between old and new, history and present time. The ambitious project will be completed with the setting of the famous domes that went destroyed during the terrible fire that broke out in July 1920.The Grand Hotel Rimini is defined by its guests as a "magnificent oasis of tranquility." It is surrounded by a luxuriant garden of centennial pine trees, olive trees and flowers and stands just a few steps away from the private beach of golden sand, with a kids’ swimming-pool, restaurant-bar and a wellness centre, open in summer time.At just one kilometre from the hotel, the historical centre of Rimini is the heart of luxury shopping and night life. Culture and the arts are also very well represented thanks to major international art exhibitions organized every year inside Castelsismondo, the several castles dating back to the Malatesta seigniory (1500) and extraordinary Roman remains.High oeno-gastronomy is the specialty of the house. The hotel’s ancient ball rooms are the beautiful setting to "La Dolce Vita" restaurant where the Chef Claudio Di Bernardo and his brigade are proud to welcome you. Simple, natural and wholesome qualify the chef’s strong passion for good cuisine. In summertime, dinner is served on the magnificent terrace overlooking the sea and the gardens. The atmosphere is unique: the gentle sea breeze, the excellent cuisine, the elegant orchestra playing romantic music on the backdrop of the famous Liberty facade... Just like one of the famous scenes from Amarcord by the great film-maker Federico Fellini! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Rimini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimini Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing