We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional gelato!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papilla Gelateria

Papilla Gelateria
Ranked #4 of 29 Dessert in Ravenna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Wheelchair Accessible
Bonita, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exceptional gelato!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great service and exceptional, creamy gelato. Located just off the main square, it's easy to find (several times!). Only two small outside tables for seating, but more fun to take the gelato to the square, sit on some stones and people-watch. My wife is an expert gelato consumer, and she highly recommends this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KyPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    71
    29
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST Gelato in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The first thing you notice is how BEAUTIFUL the stylish Gelateria is. Then you taste the product and you are in heaven! I had the best pistachio gelato EVER here. Also, I had my first taste of FIG gelato and it was amazing. I proceeded to have it in several other places on our trip but none came close to Papilla's

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maggynorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sid
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best gelato on our trip!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pure fantasy of a gelato!What a discovery on a hot summer day in Ravenna.It was best gelato on our trip in Italy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeSa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Great service and really creamy ice cream. Awesome experience. A must-try if you spend some time in Ravenna. You won't regret it. It's delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moritz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
476 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best gelato in Italy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent two weeks touring through the north of Italy and this gelato was the smoothest, creamiest, most wonderful that we had. Most tour books tell you to get gelato in Florence, and that is a good thing when touring all the museums, but if you get to Ravenna, you will find heaven on earth at this gelato store. Besides gelato, you will also find a number of other sweet items like a fruit tart that is exceptional as well. Right off the square from Piazza del Pupolo, this place is open late for an after dinner treat while walking back to your hotel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papilla Gelateria also viewed

Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
 
Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
 
Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
 

Been to Papilla Gelateria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing