We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Ravenna
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Terrific location and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We spent 5 nights here (probably a bit too long for Ravenna, on reflection) but had a great time. The hotel is clean and, as others have said, the location is ideal. Praise is specially due to the reception staff, who were unfailingly friendly, warm and efficient. We didn't notice any dodgy restaurant smells, but enjoyed a spacious room (€55 for a double, and as usual, this was a fraction of the "official" rate advertised in the room), and can concur that the Trattoria La Rustica is a great place to eat. Breakfast was included in our rate and was basic but satisfactory. If anything let the hotel down, it was this. Sunday's croissants had a very Saturday freshness to them. And apparently you have to pay for a second hot drink if you want one!

Useful tip - if, like me, you're a coffee snob, you'll need to be very specific about your coffee order. We asked for cappuccino one morning and it tasted like it had come from a machine (although it hadn't). Caffè latte the next day was a pot of appallingly undrinkable instant muck served with frothed milk in a separate jug. By process of elimination we evolved into ordering a "double espresso with hot milk" and finally received something quite decent.

Wi-fi was €2 an hour, which I used a little, but it always seems rather unnecessarily profiteering of hotels not just to throw it in. There was a friendly bar across the road that offered free wi-fi, and it was a good place (full of locals) to have a reasonably priced drink and do internet at the same time. And they were happy for you to linger with your beer or iced tea for an hour or more at their tables. It had a good feel.

It was too hot to think of using the hotel's bikes (and although we saw them, there was no publicity about them), but we walked everywhere, except to Classe, and the bus going there leaves from the station nearby.

We'd happily stay here again. The hotel is right by the railway lines and our room had a charming view of the tracks which caused us a little worry, but in fact, the sound-proofing is good and the trains don't seem to run at night. We may have heard one train per night, but that's a trivial disruption compared with traffic and neighbours we've experienced elsewhere occasionally.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bienypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    54
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
26
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Igualada, Spain
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great value for money!!! €34 for a double room breakfast included. Free wifi. Walking distance to the monuments of Ravenna. The "Trattoria La Rustica" is a good option for dinner, 2 minutes walking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomanetJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The hotel is not in the best location - just up the road from the station and next to a very smelly Vietnamese restaurant. Once inside, it's nice and friendly. Breakfasts are not good, and rather chaotic with staff rushing around trying to clean tables.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerP138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Sitting next to the train station you really couldn't get much closer to the centre of everything in Ravenna on such a small budget. The staff were really freindly and welcoming and the room was of a decent size, but maybe a little cramped with four adults. We didn't really trust the sofa turned bunk-bed so we took out the bottom mattress and just laid it in the middle of the room.

I was a little concerned the sound of trains outside would be an issue but after a certain time (about 9pm, something like that) they just seemed to stop, which was nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeepJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Right by the train station and only a few minutes walk to the centre of Ravenna. Very friendly staff and simple but decent breakfast spread. This was my 3rd time to stay here and will do so again on my next trip to Ravenna.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella-Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Italia for 2 nights in June. Quick walk from the train station. We were able to purchase discount tickets to Mirabilandia at the front desk. The staff was very helpful and the room was comfortable and clean, but a little cramped for 3 people. The breakfast staff was wonderful and provided a special gluten free assortment of food for me. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeegirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

The hotel is located very close (about 200m) to the train station. Despite that, it is very quiet. It's about a 10 minute walk to the attractions in central Ravenna. There is a coin laundromat around the corner from the hotel.

The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff was helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MississaugaMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravenna hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#28 of 37 in Ravenna
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Centrale Byron
Hotel Centrale Byron
#7 of 37 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ravenna
Hotel Ravenna
#25 of 37 in Ravenna
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sant'Andrea Hotel
Sant'Andrea Hotel
#17 of 37 in Ravenna
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Ravenna
NH Ravenna
#8 of 37 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mosaico
Hotel Mosaico
#12 of 37 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Viale Giorgio Pallavicini 4/6, 48121, Ravenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Ravenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing