We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Our own palazzo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Cappello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Cappello
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Ravenna
Certificate of Excellence
San Terenzo, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our own palazzo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for one night during February--a slow time even for quiet Ravenna--and enjoyed this beautiful, restored palazzo. Comfortable, well-appointed and well-situated for visiting the monuments and mosaics for which Ravenna is famous.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kaysitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    47
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
76
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here for three days in January as a part of my birthday celebrations. We had the suite that a previous reviewer mentions. There was small living room with two sofa beds and a large bedroom with a very very comfortable bed. The living room was little empty looking and functional but everything else was really very charming. There was a toilet and washbasin on one side of the small corridor leading to the bedroom and a shower room on the other. Everything was spotlessly clean and well appointed.

Carla the receptionist who greeted us was exceptional - she had a real enthusiasm for Ravenna and for the hotel - it was lovely see that she took such pride in where she worked and she was a credit to the establishment. Another member of staff who deserves a special mention was Massimiliano who went out of his way to be helpful in every way. The management should be proud of them both.

The only slightly disappointing thing about the hotel was the breakfast which was lackluster and quite frankly not worth getting out of bed for. I really regret having to say this because I liked the hotel so much. I really can't get my head around how they get so many things so right and get breakfast so wrong. However it would not deter me from staying there again.

The hotel is centrally placed, warm welcoming, spotlessly clean and with a restaurant and bar both of which looked good. We had one drink in the bar and it was fine. If I was in Ravenna again I would be very happy to stay at this hotel again. Incidentally we found the room at a considerably better price on their own web site as compared with Booking.com.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grechophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As a family of 5 we stayed for one night in a cold Ravenna in November 2012. We had a 'suite' which was actually a small sitting room with two sofa beds and a seperate bedroom with a double bed. It was charming and quirky and full of history. IN fact there were quite a lot of what appeared to be reception rooms which were not in use that we had to walk through which gave the place a bit of a creepy feeling tbh. The staff were nice enough but I would prefer to stay here when it is full of peple - all that history combined with dark (though very beautiful) rooms just spooked me a little. The location is brilliant and the price was certainly right. Ravenna itself was a very intererting place and very different to the Renaissance parts of Italy - great history and much to be explored. Well worth seeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dourdan, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A beautiful place to stay. It's a fine old building in a pedestrian street in the centre of the old town, a short walk from San Vitale. A great deal of trouble has been taken over conversion and decoration. We took one of the double rooms - the others being suites - which was very comfortable and attractive with a large and well fitted out shower room. Staff both at the reception and the restaurant were attentive and friendly.
Breakfast looked a bit restricted but in fact it was quite sufficient, of good quality and different each day. Salami and cakes is not my usual breakfast choice but we still enjoyed it, and coffee was good.
We ate twice in the restaurant. The quality of the food was high, even excellent, and we found good value. We had only 1 course (fish or meat) and a desert and a glass or two of some very nice local wine which came to about 60€ for 2. The restaurant room is magnificent. We stayed 3 nights and would love to come again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashleydourdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful evening here. We stopped at the bar for an early evening drink and then decided to stay and eat in the restaurant. The food was excellent, hard to pick out a favourite but I keep remembering the stuffed zucchini flowers lightly battered and fried...... Our waiter was charming and couldn't have been more helpful.
When the bill arrived they had forgotten to charge us for the original drinks. When we reminded them they said theft they were on the house! Lovely place, will try and return and stay in the hotel next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cmr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

A "house hotel" originally from 15 century, but totally restored. Only a couple of nice rooms which give you the feeling that the owner will nock on your door for dinner. Nice restaurant downstairs and very friendly staff. You cannot find a better location. This 3 stars hotel gives a 4 stars feeling and for a very affordable price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magerekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Centrally located, this hotel is perfect to visit all of Ravenna's early Christian sites except for Sant' Apollinare in Classe which is 5km away. Comfortable bedroom though not very large. Bathroom was modern, clean and stocked with toiletries and lots of towels.
Elegant dining room where breakfast, included in the price, was available. Breakfast offering was adequate.
Would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SatyaCDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravenna hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Bezzi
Palazzo Bezzi
#2 of 37 in Ravenna
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.2 mi away
M club De Luxe B&B
M club De Luxe B&B
#1 of 37 in Ravenna
5.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#12 of 37 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence La Reunion
Residence La Reunion
#5 of 37 in Ravenna
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale Byron
Hotel Centrale Byron
#8 of 37 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Ravenna
NH Ravenna
#7 of 37 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Cappello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cappello

Property: Albergo Cappello
Address: Via IV Novembre, 41, 48100, Ravenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Cappello 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Cappello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cappello Ravenna
Albergo Cappello Hotel Ravenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing