We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Mausoleo di Galla Placidia
from $127.80
More Info
from $69.70
More Info
from $244.00
More Info
Reviews (2,915)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
429
58
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
58
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews galla placidia san vitale beautiful mosaics alabaster windows blue sky cole porter golden stars small space latin cross five minutes next door combo ticket small chapel jaw dropping roman empire mosaic work mausoleum
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 490 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Ravenna itself is charming but this is truly a gem! The mosaics are beyond belief and the state of preservation is unbelievable. Note that tickets must be purchased for this and the neighbouring church (San Vitale) and there are multiple other sights that also require tickets.

Thank wanderlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This structure, like others from the period, is unadorned on the exterior. It is when one enters that one sees the majestic mosaics. Virtually every surface of this small interior was covered with colorful tesserae. The colors here are darker than the mosaics at other local attractions. It is impressive to note this variation.
It is in the same admission area as San Vitale. This attraction is packaged together with several other locations that are all on a single ticket. Included on the ticket are the Basilica San Vitale, the Mausoleum of Galla Placida, the Basilica of Sant’Apollimare Nuovo, Neonian Baptistery and the Archbishop’s Museum/Chapel of Saint Andrew. The price was nine and a half euro which seemed very reasonable. We were easily able to visit all 5 locations on the ticket in a single day. It is an easy and casual stroll from one location to another.

Thank michaelmartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I saw a LOT of mosaics in Ravenna, and among the classic mosaics this tops the list for me. (If you have the time, check out the modern mosaics in the MAR for a nice change of pace.)

As others have noted, this site is relatively small and somewhat dark. But that concentrates the experience and makes it more intimate. With mosaics it is especially nice to be up close and personal (unlike in many of the basilicas where I had to look through a monocular to see detail).

Hard to say on time you should want to send here. I spent under a half hour, but would have stayed longer were the mausoleum not swamped with 2 tour groups when I was there. You pays your money and takes your chances on that.

Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We toured his Placidia with a tour guide. I believe that a tour guide may not be necessary if given a well written tour pamphlet. I am satisfied that this is one of the exhibits we visited.

Allow about 30 min for this exhibit.

Thank somanyfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

No pictures, movies or description come anywhere close to standing inside this mausoleum. I was lucky to be there with only a handful of people, all whispering as they shuffled around. An unforgettable and unique experience!
Take your time to take it in and study all the superb colorful details. Groups are not allowed to stay inside for more than five minutes, so go there on your own and chose timing carefully!

Thank filopella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The mosaics inside the Mausoleo are not to be believed. I thought I was overwhelmed by the mosaics inside San Vitale Basilica, but these were even more stupendousl There are simply not words to describe the workmanship, the majesty, the glittering and glowing walls and ceilings. This is well worth a trip to Ravenna, and be sure to check out ALL 5 sites that are available on one ticket.

Thank JulieJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It costs 9EUR to get into here plus 4 other places and it is definitely 9EUR well spent. The Mausoleo is small enough that you can get up close and personal with the mosaics. It was dark and quiet and a great place to just admire the art and history of the place.

1  Thank buttercup1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Anywhere else this place would be really impressive. The mosaics are amazing, even though I found it a bit too dark inside.

However, for me as this is right next to San Vitale, which is to me far more amazing, it really doesn't compare well. As I went there first I found this place quite underwhelming. Luckily, the ticket allows you to see both but if you were really pushed for time, San Vitale- mere metres away- is the one that you should see.

2  Thank AlexSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow....Just amazing!!
For a small structure it packs quite a wallop.
The mosaics are out of this world.
A must see for sure

Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Read about the mosaics but this was awesome! It was the #1 recommendation our our Innkeper and he was right.

Thank M3338YPdanielt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews