We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“buono!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Centrale Byron
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Ravenna
Certificate of Excellence
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“buono!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Short stay with family for tourism. Room and breakfast good; car parking somewhat troublesome; location perfect; personnel outstanding (people at the reception and maids in particular); value for money at the best. If you go to Ravenna this place is strongly recommended (look for the restaurants La Gardela or CaDeVen in the very close proximity, and remember to book in advance!).

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank luuupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    226
    50
    8
    2
See reviews for
86
171
50
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
home counties
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Excellent position within very easy walk of all the magnificent sights. Only 10-15 minutes easy walk from the station Staff were efficient. Room was modern and clean with all necessary facilities. Breakfast adequate but not wide choice. One could pay extra for more variety

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bomobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
203 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Since we last stayed here many years ago, this hotel has almost doubled in size and has invested heavily in itself. This face-lift, however, has not resulted in a corresponding lift in prices. What we have here is a professional, friendly, well-run establishment in the heart of the old town – which is surprisingly good value for money.

We recommend the ‘standard’ rooms (i.e. top rate), especially if you are staying more than one night. They are larger, and the one we were given (No 16) even has a small balcony off the bathroom, overlooking the rear street. Although this is a 3-star Albergo, the quality here is nearer 4-star, with a (rather narrow) bath, good shower, bidet and top-class decor and fittings. The bedroom, though plainly decorated, was well furnished, with a large, comfortable bed. The only drawback was the lack of English channels on the TV. With so many English-speaking visitors to this historic town, this should be their next priority.

Breakfast was excellent (compared to the usual abysmal Italian offerings) – with a good range of cold meats and cheese, fresh yoghurt, pastries and great coffee – all included in the room rate. This hotel would be a top option in Ravenna at any price. At these rates, you need look no further.

Room Tip: 'Standard' rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrishandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Perfectly situated small hotell, with comfortable bed & pillows, and a pretty decent breakfast. I stayed at room # 1, facing the pedestrain street and the tempting gelao bar right across :-)
I appreciated the quiet atmosphere right in the center of Ravenna and I'm happy to know where to get my beauty sleep when next time needed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy.walkerNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting the sights of Ravenna, for which this hotel is ideally located. Just off the main piazza, a few blocks from the best restaurants (Ca' de Ven and La Gardela, both of which were excellent), the covered market, and thus pretty much in the center of the late antique churches. This made it easy to stop back at the hotel between sights, which was quite useful. The only downside about the location is getting to the hotel. Ravenna is an extremely charming and small (at least downtown) town, with a largely pedestrianized center, including where the hotel is. The train station is several blocks away and has to be walked; and the car parks are all at least 2 blocks away also. It is possible to park in front of the hotel to load and unload if you let the hotel know, but we didn't know this ahead of time, so we dragged our luggage to and from the car park.

The rooms in the hotel were very clean and perfectly comfortable, but very basic. As a family of five, we had a double and a triple across the hall from each other, the double was very small but the triple was two rooms plus large bathroom. We seemed to be almost the only people in the hotel, so presumably we could have had any rooms we wanted - these were fine for one night without much luggage, I did wonder whether there were larger ones. The wifi worked well and was free.

It might be useful to know that, as is usual in European hotels, the elevator was tiny, and depending on which side of the hotel one entered (there were two entrances) there were 5 steps to get up to the elevator. The lobby was small and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was pretty standard (breads, pastries, cold cuts, yoghurt, cereal), fresh and plenty of it; I think that cooked eggs could be had for an additional fee, but we didn't do this. They made individual coffee, and some very thick and delicious hot chocolate for the kids.

Would I stay here again? I would certainly stay in the center of Ravenna rather than outside town, I might look into some of the other places, but none are as well-located for the restaurants as this one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank INTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a great place to be, in the middle of the ancient city center of beautiful Ravenna. Driving through the center to get there was already a experience. Great and friendly staff, nice room, with a bath! Absolutely a place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inezdeligt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Husband and I stayed for 5 nights in Sept. Front door one minute from main square. Spacious bedroom overlooking street at the back of hotel. Small but adequate bathroom. Decent breakfast.Very nice staff on Reception. Happy to help in English but also coach you in Italian if preferred! Main sites in walking distance. Also walked to train station. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a decent room, breakfast and great location, this is for you! Friendly staff! We looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyCardiffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravenna hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Bezzi
Palazzo Bezzi
#2 of 36 in Ravenna
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astoria
Astoria
#10 of 36 in Ravenna
848 reviews
1.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Ravenna
B&B Hotel Ravenna
#16 of 36 in Ravenna
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Ravenna
NH Ravenna
#7 of 36 in Ravenna
876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence La Reunion
Residence La Reunion
#8 of 36 in Ravenna
333 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Oceanomare
Hotel Oceanomare
#1 of 3 in Punta Marina Terme
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale Byron

Property: Hotel Centrale Byron
Address: Via IV Novembre 14, 48100, Ravenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale Byron 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Centrale Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Byron Hotel
Centrale Byron Ravenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing