We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need right in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Centrale Byron
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Ravenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend trip to Ravenna - which is well worth visiting. The hotel is right in the centre of the old city - which is pretty quiet as the streets are pedestranised. The main attractions of the city are in easy walking distance, you can unload your luggage and the helpful staff will direct you to an inexpensive car park.

The rooms are clean and comfortable though somewhat lacking in atmosphere. The breakfast absolute fine and although it's an extra it is nice to see proper fresh juices available in Italy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighburyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrin, Direttore at Hotel Centrale Byron, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

thanks for your kind review of your stay at our hotel in Ravenna.

We are pleased to read your positive feedback and encourages us to do even better
to satisfy our guests and leave them with a good memory of Ravenna and our hotel.

Hoping for your future visit to Ravenna to welcoming you at our hotel and have you again as our guest, we take this opportunity to extend

Best Regards

the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 436 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in room 6, the junior room on the 2nd floor.
Small room and mini bath room, but all very clean and well equiped.
Breakfast is included in the room rate and offers good choice of breads, cheeses, meats fruits, marmlades, fresh yoghurt and coffees. At some extra cost also egg and bacon and fresh fruit juices are available.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.

At walking distance, some 20 minutes, from the railway station.
Great location in Ravenna, in the middle of most of the Unesco monuments. For the few monuments at some distance from the city centre, one can get free bicycles from the Tourist Information, close by the Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrin, Direttore at Hotel Centrale Byron, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review of you stay at our hotel.

We are pleased to read a positive judgment and this will help us to improve
ourselves again to do always the best.

Thank you very much and looking forward to welcoming you back in a future
visit in Ravenna,

Best Regards,

The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is right in the centre near the Piazza del Popolo. The staff really make the place and when we arrived at 10p.m., desperate to eat something the night porter suggested two places and then rang up and arranged a table for us - he couldn't have been more helpful.
The room was modern and clean. Breakfast was good with the choice of cheese, different cold meats, yoghurt, fresh fruit, croissants and the possibility for just a few Euros extra a cooked breakfast. We weren't so keen on the coffee but then all around us were so many wonderful bars it just didn't matter.
Good value and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrin, Manager at Hotel Centrale Byron, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

thanks for your kind review of your stay at our hotel in Ravenna.

We are pleased to read your positive feedback and encourages us to do even better
to satisfy our guests and leave them with a good memory of Ravenna and our hotel.

Hoping for your future visit to Ravenna to welcoming you at our hotel and have you again as our guest, we take this opportunity to extend

Best Regards

the Management

Dear Guest,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Room and bathroom were on the small size but had most of what one needed. We found it quite noisy at night. Breakfast was good with a large choice and they provided a basket of gluten-free products for my coeliac husband. One disappointment was that the free Wifi didn't work with our I-pad..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrin, Manager at Hotel Centrale Byron, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

thanks for your kind review of your stay at our hotel in Ravenna.

We are pleased to read your positive feedback and encourages us to do even better
to satisfy our guests and leave them with a good memory of Ravenna and our hotel.

Our wifi technology is working usually well, but sometimes it could happen that some device
does'nt connect properly. We are sorry about it.

Hoping for your future visit to Ravenna to welcoming you at our hotel and have you again as our guest, we take this opportunity to extend

Best Regards

the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a friendly hotel just off the main piazza in Ravenna. Its walking distance from the Railway station (if you have wheeled luggage ).

The room was large and well equipped. Air conditioner worked nicely. There is a fridge in the room with the usual sodas and drinks - all of which are very moderately priced. There was free internet which was perfectly fine. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful as they would say in Italian : "molto gentile" . Breakfast was typically Italian - and good enough. Overall I cannot think of anything to find fault with the establishment.

The gelateria in front of the hotel is perhaps one of the best in Emiglia-Romagna - don't miss the ice-cream made out of "uva fragola" - the strawberry grape !
There is a piadinerria just near the ice cream shop which is good for quick snacks - there are good restaurants if you go further down where you can have Tortilloni washed down with cheap and excellent wine (e.g. 1 litre of excellent house wine = Euro 3 !! )

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanasaheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrin, Manager at Hotel Centrale Byron, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

we thank you so much for your kind review of your stay in our hotel.

We are pleased to read your positive judgement and this is for us an incentive to do always our best to satisfy our dear guest, also for leaving them a good memory of their stay in our city.

We thank you again and looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel in a future visit to our city,

Best Regards
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Centrale Byron for one night on an excursion to Ravenna to see the famous late Roman and early Byzantine mosaics. The hotel is centrally located, just 10 minutes from the train station, and just a few minutes away from all the important sights.

I was traveling by myself, so I opted for the economy room. It was admittedly small, and the decor was a bit dated, but it was impeccably clean and comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, but spotless, and had plenty of towels and soap. My only complaint was the shower design which was not optimal and resulted in the bathroom floor being a little flooded. Still, there was plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and spoke several languages. They pointed out good places to eat, and how to get the bus from Ravenna to Classe, to see the church of Sant'Apollinare.

What I liked most, however, was the large breakfast. This is nothing short of a miracle in Italy. Italian breakfasts are awful--sugary pastries that leave you hungry in 10 minutes. The hotel has a breakfast room with a large buffet, and you also had the option of ordering eggs (a substantive breakfast is what you need before sightseeing) for a just a few euros more. The breakfast made my stay.

This is definitely the place to go when you're in Ravenna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing in the interior courtyard if you don't want to be bothered by noise on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibrahimdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrin, Manager at Hotel Centrale Byron, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

we are pleased to read your kind review of your stay at our hotel.

Your positive judgement will improve us to do always the best to make our dear guest a pleasant stay in Ravenna.

We thank you again and looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel in a future visit to our city,

Best Regards
The direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel has a perfect location, also from the train station you can walk there. Going out for dinner or drinks is not a problem at all, as everything is close. Although the hotel is very central it was not noise at all at night.
The staff is very friendly and speaks several languages.
The breakfast was huge and very very good, compared to other Italian hotels.
The room was clean and had everything that is needed (AC worked perfectly) if you just stay their for sleeping (perfect cost effectiveness)
The ice cream across the street is awesome!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiNi-0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrin, Manager at Hotel Centrale Byron, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

thanks for your kind review of your stay at our hotel in Ravenna.

We are pleased to read your positive feedback and encourages us to do even better
to satisfy our guests and leave them with a good memory of Ravenna and our hotel.

Hoping for your future visit to Ravenna to welcoming you at our hotel and have you again as our guest, we take this opportunity to extend

Best Regards

the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravenna hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Bezzi
Palazzo Bezzi
#2 of 36 in Ravenna
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Ravenna
NH Ravenna
#7 of 36 in Ravenna
946 reviews
1.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Ravenna
B&B Hotel Ravenna
#16 of 36 in Ravenna
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Astoria
Astoria
#10 of 36 in Ravenna
896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence La Reunion
Residence La Reunion
#6 of 36 in Ravenna
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
M club De Luxe B&B
M club De Luxe B&B
#1 of 36 in Ravenna
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale Byron

Address: Via IV Novembre 14, 48100, Ravenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Ravenna
Price Range: $84 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale Byron 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Centrale Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Byron Hotel
Centrale Byron Ravenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing