We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, great value!”
Review of Hotel Diana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Diana
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Ravenna
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely, great value!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed for one night and loved it. This 3-star hotel was nicer than the 4-stars we stayed in in other Italian cities, and it was a much better value. The manager who was at the desk was always friendly and helpful, gave us good food recommendations and made the stay pleasant. Breakfast was good, too, with a wonderful variety of foods and everything was fresh and tasty. We'd love to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    190
    53
    8
    2
See reviews for
102
137
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
647 reviews
302 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and really enjoy our superior double room, top class service and assistance from Fillipo and his team. Breakfast was really nice. The room was very clean as was the ensuite with one exception. The massaging arm chair was tremendously welcoming after long days of wandering through the interesting streets and lanes of Ravenna.
As with some of the other reviewers, my wife was surprised by the amount of obvious black mold in the grouting between the tiles in the shower cubicle. At home, we use a mold removal detergent spray on our shower cubicles every month or so. It works.
Just the same, a big thank you to Fillipo for an enjoyable stay. We'll be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Hotel is in a central and convienant location, the decor is a little naff and the rooms smallish with small bathrooms, but clean and the breakfasts are great, the service was excellent genuinely friendly and helpful, the Hotel bikes are handy and its good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Convenient location for walking into city centre, but coaches not allowed in street meant a 200 metre walk with case to reach hotel.
Hotel quirky in some respects. Despite lift, there are likely to be some stairs to rooms. Reception is up a short flight of stairs.
Enigmatic decor in our bedroom - metallic green and a poem/quotation painted on the wall. Small balcony overlooked a very overgrown garden.
Lovely pastries at breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TallSteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauble Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Having spent a month travelling in Europe, my daughter and I were delighted by Hotel Diana because it is an easy walk from the train station with rolling luggage, is located very close to San Vitale and Galla Placidia -- 2 of the best sites for Byzantine mosaics, and has very friendly and helpful personnel. For instance, the friendly man at the desk saw our half empty water bottles, and offered to fill them up with cold fresh water from the water dispenser near the front desk. Next, he suggested an itinerary for seeing the mosaic sites in and around Ravenna-- beginning with Sant' Apollinare in Classe because each church has specific times when it is open to the public. Rather than taking the train to this site 3 km away, he said we could use the bicycles of Hotel Diana instead- at no charge, and that we could follow a bike path to the church. An assistant immediately brought up the bicycles and we were given a lesson on how to use the 2 lock system and how to store our bags safely in the front baskets so as to deter thieves from snatching our possessions while riding. Our room was comfortable-- and yes the shower stall is very small as other guests have commented, and the toilet is located right in front of the tiny shower stall making it a bit uncomfortable for use. You have to have a slim build to fit through the opening into the shower-- so beware. No big beer bellies would be able to get into our shower stall. But otherwise, we were very pleased. Finally, check the times ahead of time for trains to your next destination and purchase your ticket the day before. We were heading for Rome and the "direct" Frecciarossa train leaves Ravenna at 6:22 a.m. We asked if we could have a couple of "doggy bags" for breakfast and found them in the morning on the front desk all neatly laid out with croissants, yogurt, apples, baby Gouda cheese, and complimentary new bottles of water. If you are Canadian you are lucky-- because you will be directed to visit a gelato place a few minutes away that is owned by a Canadian from Montreal. We were treated so well all in all during our 2-night stay to see the beautiful mosaics of Ravenna, that there is no question of us returning to Hotel Diana in the future. Compared to the atrocious cost of staying in Venice, Hotel Diana is a bargain. And Ravenna was a nice change from the tourist and traffic-clogged streets of Venice, Florence, Pisa, and Rome. Ciao.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaubleisBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA. USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Hotel Diana is tucked into a neighborhood in the historic district of Ravenna. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the service friendly and helpful and the breakfast was spectacular. Rates were very reasonable, too. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristip34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I loved this hotel. It was truly one of my best hotel experiences. The room was clean and large and the bottled water was free! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location could not have been better. The breakfast spread was huge. Thank-you, Hotel Diana!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfhousen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravenna hotels
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Bezzi
Palazzo Bezzi
#2 of 36 in Ravenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Ravenna
NH Ravenna
#6 of 36 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Centrale Byron
Hotel Centrale Byron
#7 of 36 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Astoria
Astoria
#9 of 36 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.3 mi away
M club De Luxe B&B
M club De Luxe B&B
#1 of 36 in Ravenna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Ravenna
B&B Hotel Ravenna
#16 of 36 in Ravenna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Property: Hotel Diana
Address: Via Girolamo Rossi 47, 48121, Ravenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Hotel Ravenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing