We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My last Night in Ravenna I Ate Here”
Review of Ca' de Ven

Ca' de Ven
Ranked #21 of 642 Restaurants in Ravenna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $46
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Venice, FL
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“My last Night in Ravenna I Ate Here”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The building housing this restaurant is very old and very interesting but I didn't like sitting with other people and not have my own table. The pasta dish was tasty but I prefer a smaller venue and my own table. Many locals were there for dinner but it also had a mix of tourists, too. In hindsight I wish the place I wanted to go had been open.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    1,300
    403
    137
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunch”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

As the title says, we had a pleasant lunch in this very interesting building which has had many uses since it was originally constructed in 1542.
Contrary to Mario's review below, we found both the food, wine and service to be more than acceptable and a number of the clientele appeared to be locals rather than tourists.
Try a 'piadina' or flatbread with your meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeltaMike20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Typical Food from Romagna, top quality for a fair price”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The title says it all. This restaurant serves typical food from Romagna, and offers top quality for a fair price.

I recommend trying piadina if you haven't, and castrato (mutton) for main. My favourite red wine is Palpedrigo, not sure if they have it anymore, but if they don't ask the staff for a recommendation, and you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank operageist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good for local food”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

It is a very nice venue with charm and a very good local wine selection. The selection and quality of local dishes is very good though my tagliata was a disappointment. Definitely worth a visit for lunch or a low key dinner at a fair price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJLondon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Professional Staff”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

If are around Ravenna area do not miss the place, you can have a taste of the real local cucine at very good price, restaurant has also wide spaces with communal tables to facilitate socialization, piadina is very good and they have a wide selection of local wine with excellent quality/price ratio. I had a little incindent with my main course, lamb chop with roast potatoes, potatoes were inedible and the lamb chops were close to sheep chops but after my claim they cancel it from my bill.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca' de Ven also viewed

Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
 
Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
 
Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
 

Been to Ca' de Ven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing