We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”
Review of Hotel Bisanzio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bisanzio
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Ravenna
Norcross, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I read some of the other reviews and disagree entirely.
Personally I do not care what color carpeting is in the room so long as it's clean. The room was large, the bathroom gigantic by European standards with a jetted tub. We were on the 2nd floor and haas no problem with water pressure. Breakfast was in a downstairs area but was well lit. Breakfast was substantial. The staff gave excellent recommendations for places to dine and provided umbrellas on a day that it rained.We stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed Ravenna and the Bisanzio

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marcia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    91
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
37
87
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
granada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I shall start with the two positive aspects of this hotel, the main one being its location. It could not have been closer to the main sites of Ravenna and its pretty centre. I would also like to mention its staff who, on the whole, were charming, friendly and helpful.

Sadly, the rest of the hotel is in desperate need of updating... It seems to be stuck in a rather depressing 80s time warp and this strikes you the moment you walk in the lobby. It reminded me for some reason of the lounges on Dover to Calais ferry crossings. Flock carpets everywhere and swirly, ornate lights dangling from the rather low ceilings. Lots of space stretching off into the distance as you enter with seating areas configured .... but NO ONE in them!!!

Our breakfasts (fine but nothing special) were taken in a rather airless basement where you should most definitely not venture with a headache. The mosaics down there, after seeing San Vitale, seemed to be someone's idea of a bad joke.

Our bedroom was on the top floor. There was no water pressure which made for an interesting interlude when trying to wash one's hair. It was clean enough but again, the same busy wall to wall carpets, some strange bright yellow armchairs and - worst of all - wafer thin walls, which meant we could hear everything said (and done) next door. We had to whisper if we didn't want our conversations overhead by our neighbours, who turned out to be an unpleasant and rather vindictive lot.

I would recommend this hotel to people who wish to have the beautiful mosaics within easy reach but who do not mind the accompanying aesthetics. The hotel could not have been more out of keeping with its awe-inspiring surroundings.

Room Tip: I would imagine the top rooms would be slightly less noisy as there is no one above but the water pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tintorettoGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

If I hadn't had to stay here with a study course I was doing, I would have left after the first night. The staff are unfriendly, the rooms depressing and very noisey, the breakfast room is something else!! Down in the dungeons, with hideous decoration, if you haven't got a hangover when you enter, you have when you leave. Uninspiring breakfast, too. Bathrooms are pokey and our shower never reached more than a sad dribble.
Such a shame in such a wonderful town!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEATHERFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Gorgeous hotel with excellent services is located in the centre of Ravenna.
Very convenient location, within easy walking distance of the main sightseeings in the city centre.
The suite was enough spacious and nice decorated.
Wi-Fi internet was available for free.
The bathroom was well equipped and luxury.
All the people at the reception desk were very kind and helpful at all times.
I would absolutely recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room on the 4th floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poryadynska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folegandros, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The staff could not be more welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable about this amazing city. The hotel itself is clean, with good sized rooms that are well furnished with comfortable beds. In a city famed for its mosaics, the Bisantio is worth a visit just to see its spectacular ceramic tiles, especially in the dining room. Breakfast, which is included, was excellent with a wide choice and gluten free options. Secure parking is available at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yiatross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I are in our late 60s and are independent travelers. We stayed at Hotel Bisanzio for a romantic three day weekend in late February. This hotel was excellent and has an excellent location. We never rent cars, but we were able to walk to the hotel, rolling luggage, through the historic district from the train station in about ten minutes. The Hotel could not be in a better location within the largely pedestrian historic zone, and is very close to all major sites, public squares, and restaurants. The hotel itself offered large comfortable rooms, modern bath, drying rack, excellent wi-fi in the room, professional and friendly staff, control of the heat (important at that time of the year), wonderful views of the city, and a superb breakfast every morning. This is an excellent choice for enjoying Ravenna for more than a quick in and out day trip. Enchanting Ravenna is more than worth a long weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for room on back for view of Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night here, we were upgraded to a suite which was spacious although a little dated and quirky! The reception staff were extremely helpful, beds were wonderful, the hotel wifi was excellent and the breakfast pleasant. No hotel restaurant but opposite a charming wine bar and easy walking to the centre. Well placed for exploring the mosaics too.
Excellent hotel for a short stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cmr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravenna hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale Byron
Hotel Centrale Byron
#8 of 36 in Ravenna
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Bezzi
Palazzo Bezzi
#2 of 36 in Ravenna
722 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Ravenna
NH Ravenna
#9 of 36 in Ravenna
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence La Reunion
Residence La Reunion
#7 of 36 in Ravenna
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mosaico
Hotel Mosaico
#12 of 36 in Ravenna
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria
Astoria
#10 of 36 in Ravenna
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bisanzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bisanzio

Property: Hotel Bisanzio
Address: Via Salara 30, 48121, Ravenna, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Bisanzio)
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bisanzio 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a few steps from the Mausoleum of Galla Placidia and conveniently located near the train station, Hotel Bisanzio offers the ideal location to explore this historic city. Nearby the hotel you will also find the famous San Vitale Basilica as well as a host of elegant shops and fine restaurants and bars. If you arrive at the hotel by car, parking is available just 40 m away in a garage which offers special rates. A free car park is also available nearby. The Bisanzio Hotel offers all modern-day comforts as well as a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Bisanzio is a beautifully renovated, modern hotel which offers you a peaceful garden area as well as well-furnished, comfortable guest rooms. Moreover a welcoming public areas, furnished in warm colours, contribute to make guests' holidays unforgettable. The beach and the Mirabilandia amusement park are only few kilometers away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bisanzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bisanzio
Best Western Ravenna
Ravenna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing