We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bisanzio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bisanzio
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Ravenna
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is definitely NOT a 4 star hotel. The location is great, the room was clean and the bath was large and well appointed. On the downside, the bed was like sleeping on a brick, there was no drawer space, and the air conditioning couldn't be calibrated very well. It was either too much, or too little. The breakfast buffet was pretty limited and disappointing, especially after the bountiful spreads at the other hotels we stayed on this trip. Service was efficient, but not very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brillag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    88
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
34
85
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Excellent walking distance to everything - and believe me, you do a LOT of walking in Ravenna -especially around all those spectacular mosaic-filled temples.
The hotel itself is great - friendly staff, good clean rooms (fairly small, but totally adequate) and comfy lounge area in the foyer. Sweet garden out the back for a morning repose.
The breakfast room is a cutie... All pink&blue-painted coordination - and some days I had the Most delicious freshest fruit imaginable with my prosciutto and local cheese. They also cater for gluten& lactose free which is a Big bonus. Breakfast staff are sweet and accommodating.
The other great bonus is the Bottega bottle shop across the road specializing in local brews and wines, and simple produce. We were their best customers of the week!
The only down side...the beds were fairly hard, and the pillows even harder. Good for some, but with all that walking each day, I longed for some pillowy comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for some softer pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparklarkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Good location, friendly reception. We were given plenty of information such as map, where to go. The lady called the garage asking for waiting for us. our passports were immediately returned. Superior room simple but spacious with living room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel is well-located in the center of town. But this means that with the byzantine traffic patterns (pun intended) it was a frustrating HOUR (at least) before we could find it. Take a taxi, even if you have to drop off your rental car first.
It is also not attractive...really...but, it actually has all you need. The staff was EXTREMELY helpful at finding us a non-smoked room (quiet and in the back), there was a PC and printer in the lobby, they gave you a parking permit for the night if you were on the restricted streets, and they gave superb restaurant recommendations for the neighborhood -- all were excellent. Finally, we got caught in a train strike and the wonderful concierge (Davide) organized a car service to Bologna so we couild continue our journey. So, it is not particularly attractive physically, but it got the job done and well done. If we were in Ravenna again, we would probably repeat. BTW -- Ravenna was great! The mosaics and buildings were stunning and the food uniformly excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back look onto a courtyard and, although not marvelous, were definitely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana-Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

This hotel is convenient to all important tourist attractions and to shopping and several decent restaurants. Staff is cheerful, courteous and helpful. Rooms are clean and adequately furnished, though small to the point of seeming cramped. Breakfasts are more or less the norm for comparable lodging. All told, it gets the job done, keeps you warm and dry and off the streets at night. Remember, you're not in Ravenna to lounge around a Best Western!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FriarTuckSherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Nice for typical Italian hotel. Staff very friendly, located right in the middle of downtown area. Garage nearby at reasonable rate or they will give you pass to park on street. Typical breakfast. Air con strong and free internet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SargeantKinchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

From the moment I drove up the manager of the hotel, a chap called Fabrizio Varani, was nothing but impeccable in assisting me. Best westerns are the Mcdonalds of hotel services often and are the choice of excellence for any company when it comes to business stays . But wether it was restaurant recommendations, a real breakfast or any possible help to make my stay comfortable, the staff were on hand 24 hours a day. I really have to commend Best Western for their hiring choices and wish it more in some of their other hotels. A work trip which felt like a small getaway.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravenna hotels
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Bezzi
Palazzo Bezzi
#2 of 36 in Ravenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Ravenna
NH Ravenna
#6 of 36 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence La Reunion
Residence La Reunion
#8 of 36 in Ravenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale Byron
Hotel Centrale Byron
#7 of 36 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Mattei
Grand Hotel Mattei
#4 of 36 in Ravenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria
Astoria
#9 of 36 in Ravenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bisanzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bisanzio

Property: Hotel Bisanzio
Address: Via Salara 30, 48121, Ravenna, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Bisanzio)
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bisanzio 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a few steps from the Mausoleum of Galla Placidia and conveniently located near the train station, Hotel Bisanzio offers the ideal location to explore this historic city. Nearby the hotel you will also find the famous San Vitale Basilica as well as a host of elegant shops and fine restaurants and bars. If you arrive at the hotel by car, parking is available just 40 m away in a garage which offers special rates. A free car park is also available nearby. The Bisanzio Hotel offers all modern-day comforts as well as a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Bisanzio is a beautifully renovated, modern hotel which offers you a peaceful garden area as well as well-furnished, comfortable guest rooms. Moreover a welcoming public areas, furnished in warm colours, contribute to make guests' holidays unforgettable. The beach and the Mirabilandia amusement park are only few kilometers away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bisanzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bisanzio
Best Western Ravenna
Ravenna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing