We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic mosaics

You enter through a small and unremarkable church. Then for a fee you can descend to an amazing... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
AlexSwallow
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Underground Marvelous Mosaics!

Well worth adding to your list of sights in Ravenna - look downwards rather than upwards! These... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2018
Fiona A
,
Beccles, United Kingdom
Read all 605 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Ravenna
from $106.10
More Info
from $240.80
More Info
from $68.80
More Info
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
54
40
10
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
40
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mosaic floors four seasons byzantine palace roman times geometric patterns beautiful floor underground garage euro entry fee roman art well worth the visit don t miss on display gift shop fantastic mosaics excavation walkway discovery
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You enter through a small and unremarkable church. Then for a fee you can descend to an amazing series of mosaics, mainly set into the floor.

I believe they were discovered when someone was trying to build a car park on the site.

The walkways over the mosaics are cleverly built so that you are able to get close without damaging them. I would have liked more information in English, but it isn't their fault I don't speak Italian!

2  Thank AlexSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Well worth adding to your list of sights in Ravenna - look downwards rather than upwards! These mosaics are a relatively new discovery ( only a couple of decades ago) and found by chance. There are 14 "rooms" belonging to a Byzantine house dating back to 4th and 5th centuries AD. The floor mosaics are all different. The floor featuring the dance of the four spirits are extremely fine. A contrast to the religious focus of the church mosaics. Ticket price - 4 euros. Wheelchair lift available to avoid short flight of stairs.

Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

To find this we followed a map that took us from one of the main shopping streets, down a side street around a corner to an unimposing church alongside a restaurant but we were in for a surprise, so were they when they originally found these floors. For a modest entry fee of 4 euros, another Unesco heritage site opened up for us.
As we were passing it would have been a shame to have missed these roman mosaics as they cast a contrast to the church ones we had been visiting,

Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

I stumbled upon this place looking for a dirrerent church. It is an archeological site that explains the sinking of Ravenna and treasures still being found!

Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

This is certainly important as one of the most recent discoveries in Italy from the 6th century. I absolutely get that. However you can walk the 14 rooms and 3 courtyards in about 5 mins - 10 if you’re really milking the 4 euro entry fee.

Interesting but I think too expensive so if left me feeling like I got poor value giving what you can see in the old city of Ravenna.

Of course it’s all all relative so do some reading and decide for yourself.

Thank IvanaSydney2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

It’s a kind of new discovery, an excavation that found like a house from the roman bizantino time.
The mosaics are really beautiful and superb!
I was lucky to have someone explaining for a group exactly when I arrived there.
A master peace, don’t miss it!

Thank adrianahaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

A nice view of floor mosaics recovered from a Byzantine palace. However not worth the 4 euro price at the time of our visit in my opinion. Probably something for specialists

Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018

This is definitely worth the visit. A recent discovery that gives you a sense of the history that is laying just a few meters under your feet as you walk through Ravenna. The Roman estate that was uncovered comes to life as you walk through the ruins.

Thank SethSPollack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2017

These floors were only excavated a few years ago so they don't even appear in some guidebooks! But if you are a connoisseur of Roman art, these are quite wonderful.
You enter through a rather scruffy little church into a small paydesk area and gift shop, and descend the stairs down to the basement. The young lady at the paydesk had given me a set of notes in English about the mosaics but you could really do with a plan of the layout, some idea as to what the building might have looked like and whether it was a large villa or a palace! The "rooms" could also have done with a notice to tell you which room you were looking at. But the pattern design and execution of the mosaic floors is very sophisticated and even though some parts have been damaged over the years, you get a good impression of what the floors must have looked like and you wonder what the rooms would have looked like. The "dance of the seasons" in the centre of the largest floor is lovely. The exhibit is well lit and the walkways allow you to look out over the mosaics; when I was there, there was one other person studying the floors but as it is quite a large layout, I would think that it would not seem crowded even if a party of tourists turned up! I wonder how many more floors of buildings long burried are waiting to be discovered?

Thank CalBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017

It was included in my ticket of the TAMO during the Notte D'Oro, and it was quite interesting. It was a major discovery in the history of mosaics. I recommend going.

1  Thank CXuor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews