We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chosen at random, but would certainly return....”
Review of La Gardela

La Gardela
Ranked #31 of 632 Restaurants in Ravenna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chosen at random, but would certainly return....”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Chose this for dinner on our first night in Ravenna, not looking for anything special, but were pleasantly surprised by this restaurant. Massively friendly staff, cosy rather than fancy decor, and nice, plainly presented food. The food wasn't overly complex, but was made with good ingredients (with vegetables that tasted of something!) and cooked well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pearscr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    508
    168
    42
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A good restaurant”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had spent a busy morning looking at the beautiful mosaics of Ravenna and were tired and hungry. We found this place on Trip Advisor and attended form lunch. We were seated outside in a somewhat small space. We were immediately served by an attentive waiter. The menu is extensive and reasonably priced. It also had a fresh fish section which was appreciated. The fish were cooked whole but were deboned by the waiter much to my partner's delight. We chose house wine which was good. We had desert but were a little disappointed with fresh cream turning out to come from a can. Come on guys this is Italy not small town USA!!!
In all however it was an enjoyable meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henryadams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
475 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Very nice for dinner”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Dinner here was very nice. It was very busy and t he food was very good. Service was a bit slow, but that was probably due to the busy time. Food was very good, and you will get a very nice meal with nice wine. Ask the server for their recommendation if you need to - they are helpful. We had a very nice Montepulciano from the region. The meals are large enough that you may not need an appetizer/antipasto. We suggest reservations . We barley got a table when we showed up at 7:30 though by 8:30, tables were opening up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“They're right - it's a good place”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Lunched early with delicious veal in lemon sauce + mixed salad + a shared 1/2 litre of house white wine; the wine a bit steep at 7 euros but the food v. good value. Charming waitress saw to our special needs.
People were flocking in as we left, mostly locals engaged in a typical 3-course lunch with rather-too-posh-us red wine.
It's good reputation seems fully justified.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank beaulieu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food but what about that moving bread basket?”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant's outdoor seating. The Capelleti Bolognese was very good as was our other entree. The weirdest part was as soon as our plates were taken, a waiter wisked away our bread basket (2 euro cover) and brought it to a table on the other end of the outdoor seating. While we hardly ate any of our bread-we did finger through it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gardela also viewed

Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
 
Ravenna, Province of Ravenna
 

Been to La Gardela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing