We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much money for non-hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grande Albergo Roma
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Piacenza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is the second time I stayed in this hotel and unfortunately forgot about the disappointing last time...
This hotel is not welcoming at all. Check in was 5 sec in which she handed me a key and pointed the way to the elevator. No welcome, no explanation or interested questions. I felt like in Moscow.
At 9PM the restaurant seems to be closed, the bar is empty, although I have to say the barkeeper did his efforts to prepare me some small finger food.
An internet code they refuse to give it by phone, you have to go doen to the reception to take it.
Rooms are clean but old-fashioned and very noisy. It's easy to join discussions with neighbours.
After all it pretends to have 4 stars and ask the price for it, but I won't get back here ever.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan-Henk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 313 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2010

As there are only two hotels inside the Piacenza walls, you need to decide whether the business travel oriented room price is worth the convenience.
The decor of the rooms is a little dark, but overall quality is good. Limited amenities, average bathroom. Good hotel restaurant. Nice breakfast room overlooking the city ~ average breakfast.
Well located for the centre of things, albeit that Piacneza is a pretty quiet place ~ beware Sunday night, almost everything closes by 8pm
Very helpful front desk

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Good 1) Location 2) Internet

The Bad 1) Rooms - Too small, poorly lit 2) Basic amenities are very poor - No kettle, tiny refrigerator (3) No sofa to sit (4) no business / travellers kit (6) bathroom is ill-equipped. (7) No activity room in hotel (8) Very expensive restaurants (9) Hotel has subscribed very few English channels on Sky TV (No sports / movie channel)

The Ugly – Worst thing is their staff. Unfriendly, does not know English well. They say “No” for almost everything and anything. Do not look like they are customer oriented at all. Have been to several non-English speaking countries before, even one in VN are more open and customer friendly. I would not recommend any one to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2007

Although our guidebook described Grande Albergo Roma as Piacenza's grandest hotel, I found that it doesn't deserve all four of the stars it blatantly boasts.

The bathrooms are modern, it is centrally located to the historic district and the top floor breakfast buffet has a view of the city, but it pales in comparison to other 4 star hotels (such as Hotel San Michele in Cortona). Though the rooms were generally clean, the building hasn't been attentively cared for as furniture shows signs of use and abuse.

While the staff was polite and efficient, the overall impression of the service was rather impersonal and businesslike…far from the warmth which can be found in many rural and urban Italian lodgings.

This hotel is way overpriced and Piacenza is a town that tourists should pass.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

I stayed at this hotel some time ago and am surprised to see that this hotel had not been listed so far ....
Extremely pleasant hotel, room was larger than usual for Europe, bathroom left nothing to be desired.
The restaurant was not opened at the time of my visit, I stayed only one night...
Only drawback is the garage, a total nightmare, extremely narrow and tight .... but the porter was most helpful and got my car fairly quickly out of this place .... I have noticed that most Italian garage are simply too small and certainly adequate for a FIAT 500 but not for large, modern cars ...
Plesant bar at the top floor, breakfast OK but not great

Stayed: June 2004
3  Thank AESCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Biagiogiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WallyRestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piacenza hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ovest
Hotel Ovest
#1 of 12 in Piacenza
826 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
Best Western Park Hotel
#3 of 12 in Piacenza
475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Idea Hotel Piacenza
Idea Hotel Piacenza
#4 of 12 in Piacenza
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Stadio Hotel
Stadio Hotel
#5 of 12 in Piacenza
216 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel City
Hotel City
#6 of 12 in Piacenza
138 reviews
3.1 mi away
MH Hotel Piacenza Fiera
MH Hotel Piacenza Fiera
#8 of 12 in Piacenza
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Roma

Address: Via Cittadella 14, 29121, Piacenza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Piacenza > Piacenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Piacenza
Price Range: $105 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grande Albergo Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing