We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel. Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grande Albergo Roma
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Piacenza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Just got back after staying here for business.

The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. The room was acceptable but did not have the wow factor. The walls between rooms were thin and allowed me to hear the conversations gong on next door.

The bathroom was also reasonable but not great. The shower head was partly blocked and there was little pressure behind it however the rest of the room was clean and tidy.

The location of the hotel is excellent , just off the main city square.

We had evening meals in the hotel restaurant and the food was superb, especially the steak. The breakfast was not as good as the evening food and was something of a let down.

Overall my review is that I would stay at this place again but only for the location and the restaurant .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Grande Albergo Roma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 300 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you want to be in the center of Piacenza this is a great hotel. Location is great with many restaurants close by. The hotel is old style luxurious. The room decor was nice but dated. Room was very clean and furnished nicely but looked like it could use an update. The breakfast was served in a nice roof top room with good views. Breakfast was pretty standard minimalistic but had the basic necessary items. Overall this hotel served my needs for 3 nights. Parking was a bit of a challenge but convienent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDaddy3859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

As has been noted by other reviewers this hotel is VERY central - great for exploring the amazing history and culture in Piacenza as well as the great selection of shops. Our room was very clean/quiet and had all the necessary requirements for comfort (except tea and coffee making equipment but a quick call to room service brought the requested refreshments). The view was not wonderful from our room but we had better things to do than sit looking out the window when there are 99 churches to explore. Breakfast is served on the 7th floor - as we stayed on a Sunday it was a continental selection, not sure if and when hot items are served. The food was delicious and the service excellent. Also had lunch at the on-site restaurant (Piccolo Roma) - lovely food served by a very courteous waiter. Lunch selections start at about 10Euros which is great value. Overall would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in Piacenza although I do understand that parking is an issue so check with reception about the parking requirements.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somerferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is fine. It's right in the middle of Piacenza, with helpful staff and an excellent garage underneath. The town is fine, and you can walk everywhere. We we there for three nights and recommend particularly the Modern Art Museum, which has some lovely pictures. It's not a smart boutique hotel, but I guess it's the best in town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Let's talk about good things:
1) Staff, really nice and friendly.
2) Clean!
3) Wonderful position.
4) Quiet
Moving to bad things:
1) Restyling needed.
2) Parking.
3) Expensive for offered services.
4) Rooms are a little bit too dark

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel lies 100 meters from the central square of Piacenza which is great when you want to go out for a drink and a bite but it is not so easy to get in and find a place to park.
When you enter downtown Piacenza by car your license plate will be noted and non-residents will get a fine unless you inform the reception of your car's license plate. Great way to promote visitors!
The hotel itself is reasonable, bit outdated. The rooms are provided with shutters which make it very dark when they are closed.
I had a room on the street side and from 5 o'clock in the morning you can hear the stores being supplied by noisy minivans. Not to mention the many scooters going around all night. Either keep the windows and shutters closed or get a room at the backside.
The restaurant on the seventh floor offers great views over Piacenza and the snowy peaks of the Alps. Breakfast is OK.

Room Tip: See my remarks above
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I can echo the recent reviews here, to say that the hotel rooms are very clean and spacious, have comfortable beds and are extremely quiet. (I really appreciated the roller blind, which also gave complete darkness).

The breakfast was fantastic (I don´t have hot breakfasts, so continental suits me), the waitress made me a fresh capuccino. The view from the restaurant terrace on the upper floor is wonderful.

Piacenza is a fascinating town, which we stumbled on by chance and would definitely consider returning to in order to explore more of the sights. It seems to be a natural town, with minimal tourism - hence finding a decent restaurant was a little bit of a struggle (it being Sunday night probably did not help either).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piacenza
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ovest
Hotel Ovest
#1 of 12 in Piacenza
778 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
Best Western Park Hotel
#3 of 12 in Piacenza
461 reviews
1.6 mi away
Idea Hotel Piacenza
Idea Hotel Piacenza
#4 of 12 in Piacenza
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Stadio Hotel
Stadio Hotel
#6 of 12 in Piacenza
212 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel City
Hotel City
#5 of 12 in Piacenza
136 reviews
8.8 mi away
Residenza Torre di San Martino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Roma

Address: Via Cittadella 14, 29121, Piacenza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Piacenza > Piacenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Piacenza
Price Range: $113 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Grande Albergo Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing