We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rubra Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
Ranked #11 of 68 Parma B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Arrived on a really hot day 35c and it was lovely that the apartment was cool and cold water in the fridge. The air-conditioning never faltered during our 5 nights. Good location as a supermarket is close by ( 150 m ) for such a good location it is very quiet with great shutters. Rooms are cleaned every day, and water in fridge replaced daily. Marco was fantastic as he was so helpful by booking squash courts for my husband, and recommending places to eat. It was not an issue that the apartment does not have a washing machine as there is a washing point( laundry ) down the street. Put the washing on, had a coffee and then returned to the apartment to hang out the washing on the terrace

Only issue was the shower but there is not much to be done . Would highly recommend staying in this apartment and visiting Parma. Friendly people and a lovely town with a great park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jann58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 224 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rubra is best place in centre of town, in walking distance from all most important places. 5 mins walking from Parma main square, from opera theatre, from all museums and night life. 100 mt from Ducale Park, the oldest and main one. very clean and quite, because the front door is on the main street of town but rooms look the the rubra's garden available for all guests. Wifi very fast in room and safe in room too. We enjoyed so much that time there and hope to back soon! Thanks Max!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Tutto era ottimo! In short, we'd return in an instant and we'd recommend Rubra to our family, friends, co-workers and anyone else who values comfortable living and an hospitable host.

Here are a few more details...

We stayed at Rubra for seven nights while on our honeymoon in northern Italy and we have only good things to say. We'll first note the highlights of the apartment, followed by the highlights of the host, Max.

The apartment: The building location is well-situated in central Parma, where it's a short walk to just about anything (e.g., 15 minutes to the train station; 8 minutes to the central piazza; 1 minute to caffe or an evening glass of wine; 1-15 minutes to great food). It's on one of the main city streets, but amazingly, the apartment remained very quiet inside. (It's a very long building and the rooms/apartments are located on the back half of the building.) There were times when we woke up from our evening nap and headed out to dinner and the happenings on the street were bustling - still, we couldn't hear a thing. The same could be said when we returned from dinner/drinks: we'd come home (late-ish) and there'd be a lot going on in the street, but when in our apartment, we couldn't hear a thing.

We stayed on the top floor in the studio apartment. It was just the right size for the two of us. The bathroom was clean and spacious, and there was always hot water; the bed was comfortable; the air-conditioning unit worked very well; and the balcony overlooking the Parma rooftops (and the private garden below) provided a quiet, peaceful space. In all, the building location and apartment amenities were perfect. Finally, the apartment was affordable. We paid 500 euros for the week; that was after a small discount for our extended stay.

As for our host, Max: He was great! From the moment we arrived, he was helping us. After he showed us everything in our apartment, we asked for a dinner recommendation and without missing a beat, he gave us a map and marked several options for a glass of wine or delicious food. It became clear from that moment that he was intent on making sure we were taken care of. Even before we arrived, we were in touch with Max via email about local food tours and he provided multiple options. One food tour option was provided by one of Max's childhood friends who is starting a food tourism business called "ParmAround" (Max's friend is also named Max - we called him Max Due; check him out: info@parmaround.com). Max Due's day-long tour was private, fun, and informational, but most importantly, Max Due was really great company! (We'll be posting a positive review for Max Due just as soon as TripAdvisor makes that available.) Both Max and Max Due really showed us a side of Parma that was not in the guidebooks. While traveling, it's always great to meet people who can introduce you to what's best about a country/city that is otherwise hard to find on your own.

Another example of Max's hospitality was that during our stay, the shower needed to be repaired - it was a Sunday, the day of a festival when everything was closed, but Max found a way to repair the shower quickly. We really appreciated that.

We could go on and on about how great the apartment is and how great/convivial/fun/hospitable Max is, but this review has gotten very long and you may not even be reading this anymore!

As we said above, we'd return in an instant and we'd recommend Rubra to our family, friends, co-workers and anyone else who values comfort and hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DLM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We originally were only looking for a room for three nights in Parma when we called Max at Rubra. Unfortunately his room was already booked but he offered one of his apartments at a discounted rate which as it turns out was a real bonus. We were able to make our own breakfasts using local produce and make coffee that was supplied with the apartment, a nice touch.
On arrival Max had ensured that a large botle of cold water was in the fridge and the air-con was turned on ready for us and considering it was 37 degrees it was welcomed.

Max was really helpful with where to go and what to see including the offer of a visit to a parmigiano-reggiano farm and factory. Well, this visit to a small cheese factory has been one of our best experiences of our trip so far. The cheese maker was a great guy and character and we were the only ones there as it is not an organised tour. This was fantastic, our driver whose name was also Max was great too and he interpreted for us.

All in all we had a great experience in Parma and this is largely thanks to Max and his excellent le el of service and willing to go that bit extra to satisfy his clients. We looking for accommodation in and around Como and were struggling to find somewhere at a reasonable price but Max offered to assist and made a phone call to friends in Bellagio. Wow!, he found us a studio apartment for the right price and booked it for us. Great service! It was beyound our expectations, thanks Max for arranging that.

Absolutely recommend Rubra for your stay in Parma, the service is great and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hello,i spent one week in Parma at Rubra bed and breakfast and it was fantastic,the city and the place where i sleep....Marco was very kind,help me in everything,about museums,restaurants,connection and information...the apartment really nice,fashonable,confortable..absolutly clean and no noise at all,being in the centre of the city with amazing wiew on the old roofs of the other houses...
I hope to have the possibility to came back,maybe in the winter to have a different vision of the place and enjot the quiet od Rubra's place..very reccomended!!!

Room Tip: apartment number 3 fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariadelasesrellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Rubra B&B and we were very pleased. The top floor room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The view from the kitchen window was of quaint Parma rooftops and the location was perfect for seeing the city.

The best part of the experience, however, was the host. Max could not have been more welcoming and helpful! He placed himself completely at our disposal, telling us to knock on his door any time. He gave us a map and information on what to see, where to eat, and how to get there.

When we left, he called us a cab to the Stazione. Because there was some type of strike going on, the taxi could not pick us up directly in front of the B&B, so Max walked with us, carrying my bag down a short street to meet the cab, tucked us in to it and gave the taxi driver instructions for our delivery to the station.

We totally recommend this as a place to stay in Parma. Thank you, Max!

Room Tip: If you need wifi, Max told us that the wifi only worked well in the garden of the ground floor apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cfarrell47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Rubra. My room was nicely furnished, clean and with all amenities, even coffee for an early morning wake up! The owners were very friendly and welcoming, answering any questions we had on Parma. The location couldn't be any better, next to some nice restaurants, bars and shops and a stone's throw from the ancient quarter. Whether you want a nice quiet relaxing weekend, or a weekend of fun in Parma, Rubra is a great choice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniele_Ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Parma Toscanini
0.7 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 48 in Parma
1,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Opera B&B
Opera B&B
#9 of 68 in Parma
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
B&B San Francesco
B&B San Francesco
#15 of 68 in Parma
93 reviews
1.3 mi away
Latte e Miele B & B
Latte e Miele B & B
#10 of 68 in Parma
47 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villino di Porporano
Villino di Porporano
#1 of 68 in Parma
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubra Bed & Breakfast & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubra Bed & Breakfast & Apartments

Address: Strada Massimo d'Azeglio, 48, 43125, Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Parma
Price Range: $70 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"In the ancient Parma, Rubra offers a luxury accommodation where you'll find the quiet of its private garden and the happiness of the central city streets."Rubra is located 5 minutes walking distance from Parma main square Piazza Garibaldi as well as the most important historical monuments such as The Cathedral, Battistero, Palazzo Pilotta, the Regio Theatre, University. Because of its central location, public services such as train station (15 min. walking or bus n.7), hospital and main car park are all within 0,5 km away. Indoor Car Parking Kennedy (Via Kennedy) 200 mt away only. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing