We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasure From Start To Finish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rubra Bed & Breakfast & Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rubra Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 70 Parma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Pleasure From Start To Finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Rubra. My room was nicely furnished, clean and with all amenities, even coffee for an early morning wake up! The owners were very friendly and welcoming, answering any questions we had on Parma. The location couldn't be any better, next to some nice restaurants, bars and shops and a stone's throw from the ancient quarter. Whether you want a nice quiet relaxing weekend, or a weekend of fun in Parma, Rubra is a great choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniele_Ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
104
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

On our trip around Italy, we decided to spend a few days in Parma and were looking for a great place to stay. We came across Rubra B&B on Trip Advisor and decided to book based on the reviews. We were not disappointed. The location of the apartment is stellar, being walking distance from many of Parma's attractions, as well as right off a bus line to take you to the train station if you are planning any day trips.

The apartment was a clean, close to a supermarket to pick up your Italian staples for snacking and very spacious. There were only two of us, but there was plenty of room if you had a few more people.

Max was an outstanding host, offering us amazing recommendations for everything from dinner to self-guided walking tours.

I cannot recommend Rubra enough. Do yourself a favor and book immediately!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Landon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I wanted a convenient and reasonable room for our two night stay in Parma. Our room at Rubra more than satisfied our requirements. The front door to Rubra is modest and unassuming, but behind the door is an inviting and cordial guest house. We had a modern, spacious room with a kitchen and a private balcony. Our host, Max, was very attentative, even lending us a computer for our internet requirements. The balcony was large enough for two to have a glass of wine while overlooking a quiet courtyard. The room was walking distance to most all attractions in the city, including the train station, and center city. Visit their site at www.bbrubra.com

Room Tip: Ask for rooom 3. Good size for two and it has a great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a great find Rubra was! A lovely clean apartment, located minutes away from everything we needed (supermarket, cafes, laundromat, etc.) and a short walk to the historic centre. We travelled by train and the street is a comfortable 15 minute walk from the station. Max is a real gem and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiaPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I should have to do this long ago. I and my 2 little princesses visited Parma. It is my first time to travel with kids alone. Macro is very kind and very helpful. The place is cozy and nice. Nice kitchen too. The location is also VG. Supermarket is nearby and there is a delicious pizza take-away around the corner. Close to the city center and the railway station. Macro has a great friend who speaks good English as well as Spanish (sorry! I forgot his name!). He has arranged a day trip for us to visit the famous Parma Ham factory as well as the Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese factory where the guided tours are in English. Perfect!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lucia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

A lovely, simple place in a great location in Parma. The courtyard garden is gorgeous. It was like living in Parma with my own apartment and garden. Other houses overlooking the garden but that made it more like real family Italy. Max was very helpful. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed in the apartment on the top floor. Very nice, there was a fridge and hot plate and little oven and microwave. Supermarket very close so you could buy items and make your own breakfast or lunch. For dinner however definitely go to one of the restaurants to sample Parma cuisine.

Marco, the host and manager, was very friendly, conversant in English and other languages, and very helpful with recommendations for restaurants. He can even arrange or guide tours of local facilities such as a Parmesan cheese maker (family business) and Balsamic vinegar vineyard.

I have eaten pizza from all over the US, New York style, Chicago style, and St. Louis and the pizza at the restaurant Marco recommended, AL CORSARO, was probably the best I have had. You eat it with a knife and fork.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SidneyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Parma Toscanini
0.7 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 52 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Parma Stendhal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Starhotels Du Parc
Starhotels Du Parc
#11 of 52 in Parma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#12 of 52 in Parma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
#4 of 52 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubra Bed & Breakfast & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubra Bed & Breakfast & Apartments

Property: Rubra Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
Address: Strada Massimo d'Azeglio, 48, 43125, Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"In the ancient Parma, Rubra offers a luxury accommodation where you'll find the quiet of its private garden and the happiness of the central city streets."Rubra is located 5 minutes walking distance from Parma main square Piazza Garibaldi as well as the most important historical monuments such as The Cathedral, Battistero, Palazzo Pilotta, the Regio Theatre, University. Because of its central location, public services such as train station (15 min. walking or bus n.7), hospital and main car park are all within 0,5 km away. Indoor Car Parking Kennedy (Via Kennedy) 200 mt away only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Rubra Bed & Breakfast & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing