We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning - A Real Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Relais Fontevivo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Relais Fontevivo
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Parma
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning - A Real Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Let's be clear - the room is definitely no more than a standard 3-star, however this place is extremely cheap, it's in a stunning building, it's in a lovely location and the restaurant downstairs, whilst ironically pricey, is really good.

A fantastic experience - If I ever had an excuse to be in Parma again, I will stay here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rpaulw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
28
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very welcoming and helpful staff. Lovely restaurant with good food - although breakfast was very limited (even for Italy with no cheeses or meets (from what I could see))

Room is very basic and small. Bed and pillows are rock hard.

This is the problem..........I stay in hundreds of hotels and the ONE thing I want is a good night sleep. I think I can pretty much forgive anything else but I need sleep, especially as I have to work the next day (if you are on holiday maybe it is not such an issue).
I realise that types of bed and sleep quality are very individual but I awoke here tired and far from prepared to carry out a 6 hour meeting.

Interesting experience and nice evening meal but not sure I would return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

As we could not stay in Parma (there was a Ceramics fare that week, and all hotels fully booked), we looked for accomodation around the city. This monastery is a wonderful place to stay and only 20 km from Parma. The room was clean, and the whole atmosphere great. Breakfast was also very nice, with Parmegano and Prociutto from the region, and great coffee. Staff is very friendly, warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamochillina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Remarkable job to turn a monastery into such a fine hotel, great atmosphere. An elevator even only for one floor up. The professionalism of staff (good knowledge of English), their friendliness. Hardworking people too. Fine kitchen, good breakfast buffet and excellent value for money.
The airco came in good use (though due to prevailing humidity it worked only 4 hours before a watercannister had to be emptied).
Everything to perfection, in gesture and detail.

Room Tip: No special recommedations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Situated in a charming village a few kilometres off the A1 autostrada near Parma, the Relais Fontevivo was a total gem of a stop-over. The accommodation was acceptable but everything else - the welcome we received from the owners, the outstanding and unique ambience of the former monastery and the fantastic dinner enjoyed in the cloisters and cooled by a most welcome breeze just blew us away. We shall find a reason to return! Thank you Relais Fontevivo!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessiesdad39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Peaceful location just outside Parma. Nicely renovated monastery with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Room was a little small but quite comfortable. It was a hot day and the air conditioner worked overtime but struggled to cool the room off to a really comfortable sleeping temperature.
Very enjoyable dinner outside in the courtyard. There was a group from Modena also enjoying dinner and we were serenaded by a gentleman from the group singing a cappella. Hotel staff apologized, but it added to the atmosphere and we enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb_C_Cdn_in_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risskov
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Relais Fontevivo discovering Parma and surroundings. This beautifully renovated monastery made the perfect frame around us. Dining in the candle-lit courtyard drinking wonderful local wine and eating some of the best meals we have had during our long lasting love affair with Italy will help us get through winter...
Expect simple but functioning facilities, sincere hospitality and loads of atmosphere

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.0 mi away
Locanda Abbazia
Locanda Abbazia
#19 of 51 in Parma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 51 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
#2 of 51 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Forlanini 52
Hotel Forlanini 52
#5 of 51 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel City Parma
Hotel City Parma
#9 of 51 in Parma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#21 of 51 in Parma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Fontevivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Fontevivo

Property: Hotel Relais Fontevivo
Address: Via Roma 1/A | Fontevivo, 43126, Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Fontevivo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Relais Fontevivo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing