We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay to explore Parma and around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Relais Fontevivo
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Parma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay to explore Parma and around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in May, it is 10 minutes out of Parma in a small village and , as you can't drive into the centre of Parma, and as it is busy and crowded in summer, we were glad to be somewhere quiet. It was a good spot also for doing the Parma Golosa food tour, which we also enjoyed.We also drove about an hour to see the Ferrari museum in Maranello.
It is in an old abbey , the rooms are quite basic, and small , but adequate, but the dinners were the best we ate in a month in Italy.The dining room is very elegant, and each course was delicious , especially the Beef Letizia. We were going to eat in Parma the second night but came back because the food was so good. The owners were very helpful organising the food tours and giving directions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    20
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
30
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NASHVILLE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We have traveled a lot in Italy and for a renovation of such a building, this lovely young couple could not have done more. The rooms are small by some people standards but spotless, very quite and comfortable with all the upscale amenities. We did not get to eat in the resturant however, the menu and atmosphere was wonderful. English is spoken very well which is always very helpful in a crises which we had back home. I hope to return one day for a longer stay. If you are in the area, its a memorable place to come home too after a long days drive in Italy with so many crazy drivers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romerso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We only stayed one night but wished we had stayed longer. The setting, a converted monastery, was unique, the welcome was warm. Located in a small, quiet village just outside Parma. Our hostess supplied lots of information on things to do in the area. Breakfast was a lovely spread of local pastries, fruit, yogurt, and meats and cheeses. We had to leave early and they were willing to accommodate out needs. We had dinner at the restaurant, the 12 Monks, which was one of our best meals in Italy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naninjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donhead Saint Andrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We booked two rooms in January for a stay in September. We were informed today that they are over-booked and they have transferred our booking to another hotel.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank sv007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Situated off the main road between Piacenza and Parma this hotel is well worth a slight deviation. Fontevivo is a small and typical rural town and the hotel, a former monastery, is next to the church in the main street.

We were very warmly welcomed by the family who own the hotel and shown to our rooms by Letizia the wife of the Chef, Andrea. The first impression was of space with bedrooms set off large chambers which in turn led off wide open balconies. The rooms, formerly monks' cells, were adequate rather than luxurious but were clean and with generously sized bathrooms ensuite.

Dinner and breakfast were served in a very large and attractive former refectory. Both meals were excellent and the bed and breakfast rate of 85 euros was very good value.

We normally avoid hotel groups in modern identi-kit style and look for character and typical regional, rustic food so the Relais Fontevivo suited us very well and we intend to return on a future trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel give good views over fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suburbanite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pennsylvania, usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

While there is much to do in Bologna and Parma and I enjoyed my stay in each, my stay at the abby in the tiny town of Fontevivo was a nice respite. I received a sincere welcome upon arrival and it was great to experience true hospitality rather than the programmed, "going through the motions" type of experience that so many places offer. The hotel is beautifully set and it was fun to imagine the Hotel as it must look at Holiday time or when it is dressed up for a wedding or other special occaision. Fontevivo is a nice town to stretch your legs or to just sit and talk to folks in the square out front. The price of accommodations was very reasonable, breakfast included and the quiet was broken only by the church bells that ring each morning. Shower and bath facilities were in great shape and the beds comfortable. Nothing fancy but a very special place to stay. I only had breakfast but look forward to returning to taste Andrea's cooking for dinner. The dining room is lovely and the service simple. Parking is ample and free.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank time2meet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

We loved this hotel.
The staff were lovely, welcoming and friendly. It was good to stay in the heart of the countryside.
The room we had was good, a little bit small, but provided us with a beautiful view across fields full of red poppies.

The only fault - we had great difficulty finding the hotel, I forget how many times we drove up and down the village looking for it. We followed the directions given to us, but could not see a sign!! We stopped and asked 2 or 3 of the villagers, but they didn't know the hotel. Of course, we discovered later, once we had found it, that we had been passing by every time we drove around the village.
PLEASE make the sign visible AND make your instructions better! We would love to come again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonBabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.0 mi away
Locanda Abbazia
Locanda Abbazia
#19 of 52 in Parma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
#4 of 52 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Parma Toscanini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 52 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Forlanini 52
Hotel Forlanini 52
#5 of 52 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Parma Stendhal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Fontevivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Fontevivo

Property: Hotel Relais Fontevivo
Address: Via Roma 1/A | Fontevivo, 43126, Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Fontevivo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Relais Fontevivo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing