We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Spot in a Lovely Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Dalla Rosa Prati
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Parma
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
354 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“A Charming Spot in a Lovely Town”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We recently returned from a lovely trip to Italy. The destination for the first two days of our visit was Parma, staying at the Palazzo Dalla Rosa Prati Hotel.

Filled with antiques and family treasures, this renovated palace is now a small boutique hotel in Parma’s historic district. The hotel’s rooms ooze with charm and history, yet the bathrooms and kitchenettes have been modernized, combining the best of the old and the new. Happily situated in the same medieval square that houses the 12th century Parma Cathedral and Baptistery, the hotel gracefully stands as a tribute to the grandeur of Parma’s past … and as a testament to the owner’s, Vittorio Dalla Rosa Prati’s, love and pride of his heritage.

From the moment our reservation was made, Vittorio and his staff were kind and helpful; arranging transportation for us, making restaurant recommendations and happily answering all our tedious questions. We were celebrating an important wedding anniversary, and the hotel had a celebratory bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us in our room, what a thoughtful and lovely welcome and a wonderful beginning to our Italian vacation.

The town is easily walkable, cars are limited in the historic area, and we were happy to discover that our hotel was convenient to everything. After strolling the city’s cobbled, medieval streets and squares, we returned to the room and popped open the bubbly. As if on cue, notes of Italian music suddenly began drifting through the window. Looking out over the piazza, we discovered an accordion player and a gathering of locals, some walking, some sitting and chatting up the day’s events … simply charming.

The hotel offers its guests a choice of breakfast in the room or at their little Bar TCafé. We chose the former and promptly at 8:30 a breakfast of small ham and cheese sandwiches, croissants and rolls, a selection of jams and cappuccino was delivered to our room. What a nice way to welcome the day, sipping coffee on the window ledge, watching the world known as Parma come to life in the Piazza del Duomo below.

We will return to this lovely spot and will be pleased to recommend the Palazzo Dalla Rosa Prati to all our traveling friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    87
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
140
279
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Would return here. We were "upgraded" from a smaller apartment to a 2BR apartment, which was unnecessary, but appreciated. Clean. Fresh linens. Unbeatable location - right on the Piazza (of the Baptistery & Duomo). Quiet. Secure/safe. The bed was the most comfortable bed that we slept in throughout all of Italy!
Minor "issues:"
1. No instructions for use of the appliances. Use of the washing machine was not at all intuitive, and required us to download a manual from the Internet.
2. This was tedious, as the WiFi was very slow
3. Microwave was not functional when we were there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishinmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Parma is one of the most lovely cities in Northern Italy: very nice people, clean, the food capital of the World and full of History, tradition, art and culture. I rented a suite in this charming palazzo for 6 months, from last December to June, as I had appointments in many Italian cities nearby. It was a unique immersion experience into the Italian culture and way of life. I recommend everything about it: the location at the heart of the historical center, the fabulous restaurants at walking distance, the spacious suites, the corteous staff and the owners who took care of me as if I were from their family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennerSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford CT
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Who would believe it: a 500-year-old palace turned into a hotel and still run today by the scion of the 1,000-year-old family who still owns it? Perhaps only in Italy. A lovely little place with eccentric touches: suites, apartments, meeting rooms, a cafe/breakfast room, and more (the breakfast was minimal, unlike the staff, who were wonderfully personal). Note that the Parma baptistery and cathedral are next door (the bells are getting louder!). We had one very major, delightful surprise; on the Sunday we stayed there the entire city of Parma came out to celebrate its annual palio commemorating its renaissance history with a long parade and procession of costumed residents, horses, bands, flag throwing, the works. What a treat!

Room Tip: Make sure you can get to your room via elevator; we couldn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for a short stop in Parma. We wished we could have stayed longer! Vittorio was wonderful. He helped us in every way even continually trying to make a reservation at a restaurant for us that was on vacation before we arrived. He was successful once they opened and we greatly appreciate his diligence!
The Palazzo is beautiful looking over a very historical square and very conveniently located although even with GPS it is difficult to find initially.
The rooms are well appointed with beautiful bathrooms We hope to stay here again very soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wortegem-Petegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just back from my Summer Holidays in Italy, with a short stop in Parma. What a fantastic experience at the Palazzo Dalla Rosa Prati : 500 yrs old family-owned palazzo.
Great location, downtown the city, wonderful style and concept and customer-friendly. If you want to visit this nice small city, then this is the best B&B you could find in Parma.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_Dupont_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Right in the middle of the historic center of Parma and an easy walk to everything, this hotel was superb for our family. The rooms are large, clean and beautifully appointed. Our family had adjoining rooms so everyone could spread out. Service and attention to detail was great as well; lots of suggestions about places to see and eat in the area. Breakfast was delivered to the room each morning -- what a luxury. The bathrooms are fully marbled with lots of amenities, but a tad small and hard to turn around in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 48 in Parma
1,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Parma Stendhal
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
#4 of 48 in Parma
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#10 of 48 in Parma
727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Button
Hotel Button
#3 of 48 in Parma
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Parma Toscanini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Dalla Rosa Prati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Dalla Rosa Prati

Property: Palazzo Dalla Rosa Prati
Address: Strada Duomo 7, 43121, Parma, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Palazzo Dalla Rosa Prati 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Dalla Rosa Prati is an historical residence, located in the heart of Parma's city center. It has suites, with wonderful view of "Piazza Duomo" and the "Battistero" than can be rented from one night on, and fully furnished apartments of different sizes (from 45 to 120 square meters) that can be considered a good solution also for medium-long term rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Dalla Rosa Prati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Dalla Rosa Prati Hotel Parma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing