We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value - business hotel - little hard to find at night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Parma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Parma
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Parma
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good value - business hotel - little hard to find at night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were two couples traveling north from Rome, and we booked here for a one-night stop-over after reading that it was convenient to reach from the highway without going into the city center, and offered free, secure parking. Even though our GPS sent us correctly, the building is set well back from the road and without clear signage at night. We passed by and had a drive on curving, dark roads finding our way back.
Upon arrival, the desk clerk was very helpful and offered to take the luggage trolley down to the garage for us, and the night porter helped to make sure our van would fit underneath the door without scraping.
Once checked in, one of our room keys (swipe cards) did not work at all, and the other couple's did not work to activate the lights in the room. However, the problems were all worked out after about 15-minutes. The only other issue was we could not access the wireless internet from the room. The desk clerk was helpful in booking us a taxi, etc. (taxi 10 EU to center).
The bathroom was clean and had a nice shower and a small granite vanity. It seems the hotel made a mistake and charged each of us an extra 60 Euros, but said they realized it and would correct it. It was fine for a short stop-over and a very reasonable price (62 Euros) including locked parking, Internet, and breakfast that was pretty good, including scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, peanut butter, breads, honey, cheese, meats, good orange juice, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtwtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    240
    69
    11
    5
See reviews for
106
140
13
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express was as expected: basic, no frills accommodation. The hotel is located a bit far from Parma and not near any public transportation but it's an excellent choice if you're driving since the parking lot is large and free. The building and rooms are updated and clean. The rooms have open shelving and a small rack to hang up clothes; the bathroom has a towel warming rack, hair dryer and bidet, but toiletries are limited to soap dispensers on the wall and in the shower. Our room was warm (temp in the 50's outside) despite turning the thermostat down, but that was good because the bedding is minimal. If we opened the window we heard traffic on the nearby autostrada, but when closed we did not hear the noise. Breakfast is included and consisted of a nice assortment of cereals, meats, juices, coffee, and breads, including delicious "homemade" cakes. There were scrambled eggs in a warming tray but they were cold when I tried them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezzybelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is, like many HI Expresses, not in a central location but is only an £6-8 taxi ride to the centre of Parma. There's a good shopping centre with food outlets and supermarket, about a 15-20 minute walk (roads/walkways slightly off the beaten track & probably not good for buggies/pre-schoolers). Restaurant area is a little utilitarian but the food & service good & reasonably priced. Breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It can be difficult to find the hotel by your own car. It is outside Parma, so there isn't anything to do, or a alternative for eating nearby. But you can use taxi. The brekfast is very okay. The dinner isn't anything to say hurray for. The waiter didn't know how to be polite at all. The local white wine he recomented was very good!
The room was very nice, but the thermostate wasn't in very good function. We had to open the window. Nice bathroom and good beds!
The free WIFI had a terrible coverage in the rooms. We had to sit by the reseption to use it.

It was a ok hotel after all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrArve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great option for staying in Parma if you have a car, since it is far from the main atractions.
But the staff is very helpful, the rooms are very cosy, clean, and silent.
They also have coffe and tea available in the room, wich is a good option when you arruve tired after walking within Italy.
Oh, the breakfast is just delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great Holiday Inn Express. Staff was very helpful,made us dinner reservations at a great restaurant. Hotels is brand new ,great rooms . Breakfast was very good . Parking was free . Hotel is a little hard to find ,need one more sign at their driveway.
Staff also helped us with sights to see.
We would stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 52 in Parma
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Parma Toscanini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Starhotels Du Parc
Starhotels Du Parc
#10 of 52 in Parma
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Villa Ducale
CDH Hotel Villa Ducale
#14 of 52 in Parma
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Button
Hotel Button
#7 of 52 in Parma
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Parma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Parma

Property: Holiday Inn Express Parma
Address: Strada Naviglio Alto 50, 43122, Parma, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Parma 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parma, at the Express by Holiday Inn, the hotel that has a wide range of services, Internet ADSL wireless Wifi, Family rooms, comforts and good rates, all in tuning with the philosophy of one of the famous hotel chains in the world.The hotel is situated in a strategic position on the main route that joins the biggest companies of the area like Barilla, Sidel, Ocme and Parmalat and it remains near the hystorical city centre where, the guest in a few minutes can reach the Tardini Stadium, the Law Court, all the museums and the Theatre Ragio. From the hotel it is easy to reach places that have seen the Operas of the Maestro Giuseppe Verdi born and grow, the beautiful castles of the Province of Parma and lots of trattorie and farms that propose delicious tastes of Parmigiano Reggiano cheese, Prosciutto Crudo of Parma and wines from the nearby hills of Parma. So come and visit us at the Express Holiday Inn Parma , city of the 2006 Jubilee, year rich of celebrations for the 900 year old Cathedral, here even your pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Parma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Parma
Parma Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing