We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 5* hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel de la Ville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel de la Ville
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Parma
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not a 5* hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This title is perhaps a bit misleading, but that is how we felt after our stay there. We stayed for five nights. The hotel seems to cater more for business people and sports teams, as it has a pleasant spacious foyer with plenty of comfortable seating. There is a supermarket next door and several restaurants (chains?); we had some excellent very good value pizza at Pomodoro Rosso. On the plus side, our bedlinen and towels were changed daily and the room was spacious and modern and it had a bath tub, which is important to me! Although the hotel is on the edge of town, the walk to the main sights is not too long and is on the flat. A taxi from the staion cost under 10 euros.

The minus points were , as reported by another recent traveller, that the coathangers had no hooks - no chance of theft as they were stained, old and sticky! The breakfast was really good, but only if you got there when they began serving; when things ran out, they were not replaced. I got up especially early one day to be sure of getting melon and Parma ham, but even at 0730 the melon had all gone and wasn't replaced. Same applied to the yogurts, boiled eggs etc.

I mentioned the nearby supermarket - having checked that there was a large enough fridge, I headed out to buy a biggish container of milk, as I hate the powder or sachets which pass for milk in hotel rooms. When I returned, I set about making myself a well-earned cup of tea......only I couldn't, as there wasn't a tea and coffee making kit in the room. I phoned reception to request one to be told that the hotel did not provide this amenity. Buy one at the bar, I was told, but the bar was small and frequently unattended. Anyhow, what I always enjoy about staying in an hotel is being able to make hot drinks late at night or early in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    141
    41
    12
    2
See reviews for
31
71
11
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

It is actually a pitty, as the hotel has a good location, and a modern lobby. But the devil lays in the details (check photos!) - corrosion in the bath, spots on the mirror, cloth hangers which have no hook (afraid of theft?)... Different prices for rooms with a king size or twin bed? Or for a shower or bath tub? ....If you are a appreciated loyalty program member of a big chain, this hotel is not for you... Price EUR 160.-

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CenturionMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel but not really 5* more of a very good 4*
Breakfast questionable but in general a good hotel in an excellent location
Great staff and lots of information and assistance available
Next to the shopping district
Not near any of the airports ,either 160euro cab from bologna or 200euro cab from milano.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTravelV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile


Not a 5 stars hotel but a really nice one.

Location fine just outside the city centre and a stone throw away from the Via Republica, Parma nicest shops, uninspiring first impression but nice functional room. The staff was very charming , helpful and very welcoming and the restaurant served delicious food quite late. Recommendation for the wine was Excellent. Don't dismiss it!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank radiolondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel does not have any relation with 5 star. Rooms are dirty and old bathroom is not clean enough. Does not worth that money. Breakfast is nit bad not good. I wont stay in that hotel no more. Only good thing about this otel is the restrant staff and the service and the tastety food. They were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hchully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here almost one week on a business trip. There's nothing wrong with this hotel, the location is perfect, rooms are clean and the service is good. However, if you look at the small details, you will recognize that it's not a real 5-stars-standard place. Not a problem with me at all, but for customers who are looking for such top-quality it might be disappointing. So my only advice would be: either level the rates to a 4 star hotel, or increase the quality a little bit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gipitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

It's a very nice 5 stars hotels near a nice shopping center and also the republica street one of the historical places in Parma. The room is perfect , very confortable. The breakfast is not so good and also the service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3sh3sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 52 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
#4 of 52 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Parma Stendhal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Button
Hotel Button
#3 of 52 in Parma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Starhotels Du Parc
Starhotels Du Parc
#11 of 52 in Parma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Parma Toscanini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Ville

Property: Grand Hotel de la Ville
Address: Largo Piero Calamandrei 11, 43121, Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Ville 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of our ideal city centre location inside the Barilla Center commercial complex with a wide range of attractions, shops and cinemas. Our excellent service comprises 110 rooms including nine suites, meeting facilities bathed in natural light for up to 300 people, a restaurant, American style bar, al fresco dining, a panoramic terrace, fitness centre with sauna and steam bath, 400-capacity parking and wifi access. We provide everything you could possibly need for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Parma
Sofitel Parma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing