We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Ville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de la Ville to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de la Ville
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Piero Calamandrei 11, 43100, Parma, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Parma
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

we only had a one night stay but the hotel definitely left a great impression on my family. The front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming.The rooms were very clean and well maintained.The beds were extremely comfortable and quite spacious. There is plenty of car parking space available and you are only a 7 minute walk to the centro storico of Parma where we found a beautiful restaurant. The breakfast service was efficient and you had a large range to choose from compared to other hotels that we found in Italy.
Overall,we had a short but very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
241 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

it's probably my 10th time in this hotel, last time i checked out was this morning. my opinion remains the same: excellent; location, service, cleanliness, breakfast, parking, business center (small) and gym, all excellent, the price is not low but this is Parma.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We did stay for one night and did not put too much thought into the selection of the hotel.
Luckily it still turned out to be a good choice and we did enjoy our short stay. It's not directly in the heart of the city, which makes it easy to reach by car and still close enough to go and explore the city if wished. The rooms are nice and clean, and at least ours was very quiet. The hotel is attached to a shopping centre and cinema complex and features a restaurant.
It's what you would expect from a good city hotel, but if you are in for a truly Italian experience, it might not be the right spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel was ideally located just a short walk away from the town centre. It is on the site of an old Barilla pasta factory and has a Barilla culinary academy facing it. I highly recommend being nosey and asking for a tour of it. We did and saw the largest collection of Italian cookbooks anywhere in the world. The hotel is also right next to a big shopping centre with lots of chain restaurants & shops including a supermarket. Just around a corner is a fantastic shop selling local hams & cheeses. Please find it as it is sheer food heaven. As to the hotel itself, the public areas are gorgeously furnishes with top end modern furniture & art. The breakfast is plentiful and great. The rooms however are a bit of a 80’s timewarp and nowhere near 5 star standard (but then again Italian 5 star is usually UK 3 star). We even had mould between the bathroom tiles. Most of the staff were lovely but the barman in the lobby was very surly. In the 3 days we stayed there we never saw him crack a smile.
The check-out was also an interesting experience as I had to pay before I was presented with the bill. As it happens, they were charging us 35 euro too much per night. Once I pointed this out the receptionist said that there was nothing he could do to rectify the problem on the day (Sunday) and that I would have to wait to hear from his boss. He then changed his mind 5 minutes later and did end up giving me a refund. All a bit Faulty Towers.
I would stay here again but would pay more to have an upgraded room. The standard ones really could do with a major facelift.

Room Tip: pay more for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Over a 9 month period in 2012, I stayed at the Grand Hotel de la Ville in Parma every other week and it quickly became my home away from home. The hotel is located within a few minutes’ walk of the historic town center which boasts, among other features, a range of excellent restaurants, and is nicely located next to the Barilla center which has a cinema and a small range of decent restaurants. It is clean, well maintained and spacious with a fine bar and good restaurant.
My most abiding memories of my stay at this hotel are undoubtedly of the marvelous staff who have become my family away from home and who are decidedly gracious, outstandingly courteous, remarkably accommodating, and blissfully humorous. I hope to remain in touch with them for many years to come and plan to bring my family back to Parma where they may enjoy all of the comforts that I was afforded during my splendid and memorable stay at the hotel.
Having stayed in 4 other hotels in Parma, I can state unhesitatingly that this hotel stands head and shoulders above the others and I therefore recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBayney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very convenient to walk to the centre of the town. Room was fine but far too hot and we couldn't seem to turn it down! Breakfast was varied - even scrambled eggs and bacon! Staff were faultless and very helpful.Overall - good value but don't expect "5 star" more 3/4 star.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buntys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our room was very comfortable and adequately furnished. Most of the staff were very friendly. Breakfast excellent though a bit repetetive if staying for more than a day or 2. Good central location, easy access to historic centre, shops & restaurants. Only down side, not that my wife or I were unduly concerned about it, was the fitness centre. Given its (small) size & location on the top floor it is presumably an afterthought &/or mandatory to achieve whatever start rating they have. Shower / sauna / steam is unisex. Not surprising we never saw it in use. Despite this, we had a very agreeable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinssa1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 51 in Parma
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
#2 of 51 in Parma
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Parma Stendhal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Starhotels Du Parc
Starhotels Du Parc
#15 of 51 in Parma
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
2.0 mi away
Link 124 Hotel
Link 124 Hotel
#3 of 51 in Parma
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Ville

Address: Largo Piero Calamandrei 11, 43100, Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Ville 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of our ideal city centre location inside the Barilla Center commercial complex with a wide range of attractions, shops and cinemas. Our excellent service comprises 110 rooms including nine suites, meeting facilities bathed in natural light for up to 300 people, a restaurant, American style bar, al fresco dining, a panoramic terrace, fitness centre with sauna and steam bath, 400-capacity parking and wifi access. We provide everything you could possibly need for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Parma
Sofitel Parma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing