We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A traditional style, typical Italian hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels Du Parc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Starhotels Du Parc
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Parma
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A traditional style, typical Italian hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business on a cold Sunday night in January. On arrival the staff on reception were welcoming and efficient, and I was soon up to my room. The room was a decent size, spotlessly clean, if a little old-fashioned and traditional in feel; once I had the heating on it warmed up nicely and without lots of noise from the fan. The bathroom was a good size and again spotlessly clean - it really was outstandingly clean, with gleaming chrome work and shining enamel; I was really impressed. Breakfast was fairly standard, nothing special, and fairly ordinary coffee, so this wasn't such a good part of the stay; nevertheless, it would be perfectly possible to have a decent meal to set you up for the day.

I can't really comment on the location as I arrived after dark and left the following morning. I can't comment either on other meals in the restaurant as I had dinner at a local restaurant. Overall, the value seemed good (even though I wasn't paying), and I think that it would be a perfectly decent option for anyone staying in Parma for a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    354
    158
    51
    9
See reviews for
120
258
28
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Easy to find from out of town but only ten minutes walk from the town centre. We arrived in heavy snow and received a warm welcome from the desk staff. The king room was a good size & spotlessly clean, this must be one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in. If a clean room is a priority for you then look no further.

We didn't try the hotel restaurant as there are far to many better options elsewhere however the breakfast options were certainly better than your average chain hotel.

The Starhotel well placed for a short walk into town via the Parco Ducale (10 mins) or the railway station (5 mins) & so is a good location to travel by rialto some of the other towns & cities viz.. Modena, Reggio Emelia & Bologna. Firenze is also within striking distance for a day trip although I think this maybe by Bologna.

Certainly one to consider for your stay in Parma.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Caundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Large but friendly hotel across the river from the main town, accessed through a pleasant walk via the park. Room was much larger than expected for the price and provided everything we needed. Very helpful reception staff. Comfortable bar/lounge area. Great breakfasts but limited restaurant menu for our stay. Didn't expect the restaurant to be serving a very restricted menu on a Saturday evening, even on a national holiday. Fortunately there is a very good restaurant across the park, and plenty of places across the river.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCWestFinchampstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This Hotel is really need to be renovated. Toilet in our room was not working. Light as well. You can not just turn of a lamp, should turn off electricity in all room which just uuff... They were trying to fix it twice but anyway it was not working. Staff at front desk is absolutely not polite and not helpful at all. Location is the only nice point about the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Hotel is not located in the Old City but a 10-15 minute walk away. As previously mentioned a walk through the adjacent and pretty city park will take you right to one of the old city's main gates. I found the hotel to be a mix of contemporary glass and atrium styling, yet my room unlike other descriptions was very large with traditional furnishing and elegant touches such as the marble bathroom and the wall treatments which appeared to be a "victorian" style paper but was really a cloth flocking material. There must be a variety of rooms and styles in this hotel so check with the front desk and perhaps view your room first. In any case I found the Hotel and service up to 4 Star standards with a good value rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drjeffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for 1 night to see Parma and the hotel was just fine. The room and bathroom were large and comfortable. The hotel is a large business hotel with a nice breakfast buffet. The location is a little out of the town center. My advice would be walk through the park to get into the city, much more pleasant then the road. Also, they say there is a fitness room but its really just a large empty room (think dance practice) but the park makes for a nice place to run.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is located beside the beautiful Parco Ducale - a small bridge connects the hotel to the park. It's very easy to reach the historical section of town by strolling through this lovely green area. The lobby area is very grand and the dining area is lovely too.
We had a king size bed here; the room was a bit cramped but the bathroom was large and lovely with a gray and white marble sink and gray and white walls in the bath tub. The water was hot and the water pressure was good. The towels were large and fluffy and we had shampoo and shower gel here with a shower cap. The bathroom and bedroom were very clean. All the lights worked and there plenty of electrical outlets. There is a safe here for valuable inside a lovely dark wood cupboard. We ate two buffet breakfasts here. I enjoyed the croissants with butter and jam. They also had cold cuts, fruit, bread and crusty rolls, sausages and eggs, cold cereal, milk, coffee and tea and fruit juices. The coffee was brought to the table so we had to wait a bit for it. We enjoyed our two nights here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 807wheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 52 in Parma
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
#2 of 52 in Parma
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Parma Stendhal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Parma Toscanini
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese
0.7 mi away
Hotel Button
Hotel Button
#5 of 52 in Parma
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Du Parc

Property: Starhotels Du Parc
Address: Viale Piacenza 12/C, 43126, Parma, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Parma
#7 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Du Parc 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Golden Age of Travel. The 4 star Du Parc Parma is rich in Art Nouveau influences, from the striking symmetry of the hotel's façade to the Liberty style fabrics inside. Located next to the leafy green spaces of the Parco Ducale, we also offer 10 flexible meeting rooms and two renowned restaurants. Whether business, pleasure, or a bit of both, it's an experience to savour. No visit to Parma would be complete without sampling the region's gastronomic heritage, and the restaurants at Du Parc provide the chance to do just that. Canova offers a mix of local and international cuisine in a welcoming setting for up to 50 diners, whereas Aiglon can host 200 for grand banquets. Together, they're often cited as among the best restaurants in Parma. Our Bistrot by Eataly Bar completes the set, offering an elegant space for coffees, light lunches and evening aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Starhotels Du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Du Parc Hotel Parma
Starhotel Du Parc Parma
Starhotel Du Parc Hotel Parma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing