We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Restaurant in Parma”

Ristorante La Forchetta
Ranked #16 of 785 Restaurants in Parma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: La Forchetta restaurant is situated in the heart of the old town centre of Parma, in one of the most beautiful and oldest buildings in the city, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Battistero. It is family-run and offers the finest of Parmesan cuisine as well as fish dishes, accompanied by the best wines. Tortelli stuffed with spinach and pumpkin, duchessa di Parma, braised veal cheeks, fish crudité, scallops in a salt and pepper crust, lobster tagliolini, tuna steaks and Catalan salad, are just a sample of the variety of our menu. Our bread and pasta are all home-made in the old-fashioned way and we are particularly careful in our choice of ingredients. It is also possible to eat outside. A visit to La Forchetta means enjoying a moment of pleasure, a delight to the taste buds, in the city of taste and fine cuisine!
Reviewed May 10, 2019

We enjoyed our lunch, starting with an appetizer of Parma ham and Parmesan cheese. It was wonderful. We followed it with a pasta dish. Excellent quality, price was reasonable. Would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank CarlaKre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ristorante La Forchetta, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Dear Carla,
For us it is a source of great personal satisfaction to read this beautiful review.
We are glad to hear you particularly enjoyed our prosciutto and Parma cheese, both local delicacies.
We hope to see you again soon,
a warm greeting to you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 2,646 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2019

Our booking was for 7:30 and the first words out of the hostess’s mouth were, “ You have to leave by nine”. Ok , but not a warm welcome.

Too fussy and pretentious...The beauty of Italian food is the simplicity and freshness of ingredients. I don’t want my chicken Marsala drowned in a gooey sauce. The lamb chops were gamely and the octopus was bland. White wine deserves an ice bucket.

Hurried service
Worse meal in otherwise delicious Parma

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ristorante La Forchetta, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear guest, thank you for leaving us a feedback: our guests opinion is essential in order to improve the quality of our service.
Unfortunately we think there was a misunderstanding. We accept telephonic booking only and - during that call - we specified that we only had a free table from 7.30 pm to 9 pm, as we had already taken another reservation for 9 pm. You accepted this condition as it was the only way to have dinner in our restaurant that night. We prefer to remind this agreement before dinner as well, as sometimes it happens that hotels book for our guests and forget to point it out. We hope you will understand that this is a form of respect towards the guests who first reserved a table and it is the only way we have to respect timing and avoid waitings or disappontment.
As concerns your opinion on the food, we are really sorry you didn't like it: we can guarantee that we only use top quality ingredients and that every dish is prepared according to tradition.
We hope to have a second chance in the future: you all will be very welcome during your next visit to Parma.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

great food and wine, but the service is not very nice, we booked a table a week in advance and had a tiny table, we felt like tied up and near the door

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dulce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ristorante La Forchetta, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Dear guest,
thank you for choosing our restaurant and appreciating the quality of our food and wine.
We would like to point out that our restaurant is located in ancient building in Parma city center. Therefore, we do not have much space for huge tables. Nonetheless we do our best to provide our guests with every comfort and a pleasant service: we are really sorry if you had a different impression.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in the future and make you fall in love with the atmosphere.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

We were lucky got table for 3 outside. Reservation required or get disappointed. Wine, food & serve very good. The restaurant was packed. Only downsize have one toilet (unisex)when restaurant is crowded can be a pain to wait in line. But worth the effort as food compensates. Staff is knowledgeable on wine & food.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank amaladantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ristorante La Forchetta, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Dear guest,
thank you for reserving a table at La Forchetta and for taking the time to write us a review.
We are all very happy to read that you recommend the quality of our dishes and loved the atmosphere and service of our restaurant.
We only would like to point out that our restaurant is located in ancient building in Parma city center. Therefore, we only have enough space for a unisex toilet, which usually is not a problem for our guests.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in the near future!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

On our first night in Parma we were recommended this restaurant. We arrived early - and luckily we did as the restaurant filled up quickly.
La Forchetta presents a modern take on traditional italian cooking which was a pleasant find after several weeks travelling eating similar dishes across the country.
The seafood offerings on the menu were innovatively presented and the tastes sublime.
Service was impeccible - with plenty of staff working well together to make sure all diners had a good experience.
Conveniently located near some of the major sites and shopping precinct - this is a must visit restaurant when in Parma. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ristorante La Forchetta, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Dear guest,
thank you so much for the kind words of this review.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest at La Forchetta and we are really glad that you loved the recommended traditional food and wine. Thank you so much fot the special mention to the kindness of the service!
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Best Regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Forchetta also viewed

Parma, Province of Parma
 
Parma, Province of Parma
 
Parma, Province of Parma
Parma, Province of Parma
 

Been to Ristorante La Forchetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing