We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amongst the finest within the Region”

Ristorante La Forchetta
Ranked #7 of 673 Restaurants in Parma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: La Forchetta" restaurant is situated in the heart of the old town centre of Parma, in one of the most beautiful and oldest buildings in the city, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Battistero. It is family-run and offers the finest of Parmesan cuisine as well as fish dishes, accompanied by the best wines. Tortelli stuffed with spinach and pumpkin, duchessa di Parma, braised veal cheeks, fish crudité, scallops in a salt and pepper crust, lobster tagliolini, tuna steaks and Catalan salad, are just a sample of the variety of our menu. Our bread and pasta are all home-made in the old-fashioned way and we are particularly careful in our choice of ingredients. It is also possible to eat outside. A visit to La Forchetta means enjoying a moment of pleasure, a delight to the taste buds, in the city of taste and fine cuisine!
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amongst the finest within the Region”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Book and reserve in advance. The menu is varied and not overly expensive but remember you get what you pay for. The standard of the food is exceptional and with service to match. You are advised to share many of the dishes to get the best choice and of course value, they expect this. Make sure you order Parma Fried bread as an accompaniment. The wine list is superb and again not overly expensive.
This made our trip in Parma we went on both our two nights to exploit all we wished we had ordered on the first night!

Not to be missed trust me Sue is a Chef

Superb

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sueandty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,078
    747
    151
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Having spent a week on a touring holiday of Emilia-Romagna, we had experienced some pretty good food. This place however took it to the next level. We went here based on previous tripadvisor ratings plus the fact that it was some 100 yards or so from the Hotel Torino where we were staying. Three courses and a good bottle of wine for under £80 for two of us. Ingredients all very fresh (including the seafood) and excellent service. Would advise booking - we were there on a Friday evening and they were turning people away at 7:45.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick&Dara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food. Great dessert”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The pumpkin ravoli was some of the best pasta we have had , as was the Parma pro. Wish we had ordered the shrimp, they looked and amazing, but the waiter recomended the tuna which was also good,but had the raw tuna for an app and it was too much tuna.Got the chocolate souffle and coconut ice cream for dessert. Supper yummy.Sit outside if you can and make reservations.Good service

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katfish219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
658 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Lovely local food”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were looking for food of the region and stumbled upon this restaurant. The food was excellent, the wine lovely and reasonable, and the service excellent. Although we didn't book, we did get a table. If I returned, I would book in advance as the restaurant was full. We had three courses with wine for about 100 euros.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely food in elegant surroundings reasonable prices”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very nice menu with lots of choice and seemingly a lot of business from locals. You need to book as we saw a lot of people without reservations being told (very nicely) that they were full. I had the pumpkin tortellini which was excellent and my husband loved his very tender veal. Desserts all seemed to be about 5 euros and mains 10 to 15 which I think is reasonable. The wine list has local and other regional Italian offerings - most under 30 euros,
Very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suezzerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Forchetta also viewed

Parma, Province of Parma
 
Parma, Province of Parma
 

Been to Ristorante La Forchetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing