We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people but odd experiences”
Review of Sina Maria Luigia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sina Maria Luigia
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Parma
Parma, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice people but odd experiences”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've been to a few places in the world due to work, and had no choice in the hotel selection when in Parma. The hotel itself is in a good location, the staff was friendly and it has a certain italian feel to it. The room was nice, bathroom clean and well kept. I did, unfortunately, have the same issue as someone else reported- bad bites from some bugs in the bed. Hotel staff didn't seem too impressed or surprised, the manager issued an 'sorry' but that's about it. Seems to be a general issue, which makes me not return there again. Other than that no problems at all, but I'm sure there's other places in Parma in the price range without this problem.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the main street. Lifts do not 'bing' so being close to a lift is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    107
    107
    65
    31
See reviews for
37
89
27
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kemnay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here on a work trip booked by the company we were taken to italy by so I had no choice on the hotel but it tyrned out to be a very pleasent stay. The hotel is in a very good location and the staff are also very good.
Breakfast was continental - no complaints.
the rooms varied throughout our group but my one was very well appointed, no view from the window but it didn't make any difference to me.
I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in the Parma area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart_mitchell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed for one night and found the hotel clean but quite old fashioned. If you are planning staying for business you will need to pay for wi-fi hourly or daily. It is located very centrally and just a short walk to the centre of Palma. Breakfast was good with a reasonable selection in the buffet, however in my short visit to the dining room nobody managed to serve me coffee.
In summary not a bad hotel but a little updating required to make it a good central base for Parma.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roachaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Parma is a delighful touristic venue and staying at this establishment, handily close to the train station and many city highlights proved to be a good decision on our part. No complaints concerning the competent staff, the spacious, comfortable if little dated room -in need of a bit of TLC- , the notable dining room and good breakfast with plenty of local delicacies.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torontonian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Following a lukewarm, if not a little bit impolite, reception at the "welcome" counter, which made me doubt my choice, things got a whole lot better.
The room is wondefully spacious and confortable. The bathroom, probably designed for people with claustrophobia, actually was as big as the room where I had spent the previous night in another "four-star" hotel.
Dinner in the hotel restaurant was delicious, with an impeccable service and very pleasant staff. The prices were more than affordable considering the amazing quality of the products.
Breakfast was very varied and of excellent quality too.
If ever in Parma, I would recommend that you stay in this luxury hotel that did not get its four stars just because its rooms are equipped with mini-bars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Eddy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

old hotel, great breakfast....loveeee their range of choice of parma ham, salami and prosciuto cotto
they are pretty busy during cibus exhibition so i found out that the fromt office staff not too friendly, maybe because they were exhausted or busy...

very near to city centre and parma train station
around 5 mins to city centre, walking distance and 10 kims to parma train station

good neighborhood, safe

roomy but too dark for me, they shud put more light in their room
they still using a manual key for the room
i dont like the window, too weird and too old
and one thing that i dont like is : it was quite hot during our stay there ( it's the beginning of summer, still windy but quite hot at night)
my husband asked the front office staff, why in the world the AC didnt working
the front office answered : there's a law from the government, not to use AC during May, until end of May
of course, we believed that...we are tourist here in italy
so we stayed there, for 4 nights, without AC, early summer

the fifth day, we moved to best western farnese, and they provide the AC
and we asked the hotel about the regulation from the government that maria luigia claimed before and there's no regulation like that

we picked up by our principal there for dinner, and we asked the same question, and the answer : there's no such regulation like that, they just want to cut the operation cost
so, why do they need to lie to their customer?

we paid full amount for full service and facility though!

and its not cheap also to stay there, compare to best western farnese...the room, facilities and services

i think im not gonna stay here anymore


:)

Room Tip: ask about the AC first, especially during your stay on summer time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lickerish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Staying here alone for four nights was not something i was looking forward to on arrival at the hotel. My colleague and i quickly nick-named this place after a very famour tv programme around a rather characterful hotel!

The accomodation was basic and rather dated, the bathroom was certainly looking a little tired. The drinks in the bar were incredibly expensive (bottle of Nastro Azzuro - 7 euros!). I had heard that the restaurant in the hotel was one of the best in Parma - I would certainly have to eat here again to change my mind. Whilst the food was nice enough, the 12 Euro plate of parma ham (literally ham on a plate!) was hardly value for money nor appetising, and the main was quite literally a chunk of meat in sauce.

The hotel is however in a reasonably good location, close to the train station (5 min walk) and a good 10 minute walk to the centre, and the staff were always happy to help, which adds to it's appeal I guess.

Having considered the above, on my last day I realised that the 'charm' and location of the hotel had certainly changed my initial impression, but was it enough to make me return out of choice? Probably not.

Room Tip: The room in the photo looks a lot fresher than my room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 773RBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Parma Stendhal
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#19 of 48 in Parma
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 48 in Parma
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Starhotels Du Parc
Starhotels Du Parc
#12 of 48 in Parma
840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#24 of 48 in Parma
795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#10 of 48 in Parma
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Maria Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Maria Luigia

Property: Sina Maria Luigia
Address: Viale Mentana 140, 43121, Parma, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sina Maria Luigia 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre with lovely view of the historic sites, the Palace Maria Luigia, with its highly regarded Restaurant “Maxim’s”, is the reference in Parma, the cradle of Italian cuisine. The public areas enhanced with the view of the patio garden, the rooms and suite have been recently refurbished in elegant and refined style. The fully equipped conference centre provides an excellent meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sina Maria Luigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Maria Luigia Parma
Palace Maria Luigia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing