We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific b&b near Parma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villino di Porporano
Ranked #1 of 66 Parma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific b&b near Parma”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed at this fantastic bed and breakfast in May 2013. We absolutely recommend it for a couple of nights on your way to Tuscany or to use as a base to explore the region as others have mentioned. Our flight into Milan arrived late in the day and we did not want to just stay at an airport hotel. Villino di Porporano is about an hour and a half from Milan Linate airport and worked perfectly for us.

We loved our room on the top floor, Le Mansarda (the Attic/Loft). It had a separate space up a few steps with a beautiful bed for our infant daughter.

The breakfast is incredible and the grounds are beautiful. Elena is a terrific host and very hospitable. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to this region of Italy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DASD1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    33
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
252
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights in June 2013. It is completely true what others are confessing about this B&B! I don't normally review my accommodation but I had to for Villino di Porporano. First of all, there is the incredibly chic and friendly Elena who owns and runs the B&B and her lovely staff. The B&B itself is oh so charming with five bedrooms, which are lovely and decorator perfect. You also have the lounge area inside as well as outside also lovely and in excellent taste. Now, lets talk about the breakfast. Nonething fancy just perfectly cooked eggs however you liked prepared and a selection of the most delectable breakfast cakes, bread and parma ham of course. My husband stills talk about the perfect cappuccino he had each morning. We highly recommend that you stay at Villino di Porporano to have your own experience to review about. That is all!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I can't say enough about this B&B! I love, love, love it! My husband and I stayed here in May. Elena does an amazing job! Every detail of our stay was wonderful! Our room and the B&B is beautifully decorated. The breakfast was the best I had in Italy. I would come back and stay here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacup4074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at this beautiful accommodation was outstanding. Elena really looked after us and made us feel at home. After a long day in stunning Parma, it was a pleasure to come back and relax by the pool. Highly recommend this amazing place. Much better than a hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband, our 4-month daughter and I visited Italy in May, 2013. We stayed in Villino di Porporano where we received quality accommodation and service. The B&B itself was very well presented, nicely decorated and extremely well looked after. The rooms were clean, tidied up every day and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was varied and the homemade food was of good quality. The owner, Elena, was extremely helpful with everything, e.g., she had made sure there was a travel cot with linen in our bedroom for our daughter, advices on places to go to for dinner and made reservations for us, she'd even take our daughter from us whilst we were having breakfast and show her around the beautiful house. Thus, Villino di Porporano is a truly family oriented B&B. Location wise it was perfect for as because we based ourselves in/near Parma and then drove to Bologna, Florence, Cinqueterre, Verona. There was a big supermarket short 5min drive from the cottage where we'd get wine and then go back and relax in Villino in the evening. Overall, if you are looking for a boutique Italian experience do visit Parma and Villino di Porporano!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auksakyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights and lovely days here while touring Parma and on our way further south to Tuscany. Elena and her husband have created a peaceful and secluded paradise on a perfectly attended to property. The inside and outside spaces are exquisitely designed by Elena herself. From archways overflowing with roses to clean and tasteful antiques and sumptuous fabrics. Wherever the eye rests there is beauty....
Add 3 charming dogs and the highlight of our stay was the superb authentic Italian dinner cooked just for us upon our very late arrival by Paula. We ate our way through Italy and her dinner was by far the best of all. And don't get me started on Elena's breakfasts and the coffee...the best I've ever had. The only 'wish' we had was access to some food during the day (even snacks or fruit left out in the dining area would have sustained us) and dinners each night. Sadly dinner was only available one of our 2 nights. We didn't want to leave the property as it was so peaceful, Thank you Elena for our wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The Roses room is a suite with a separate sitting area that has a twin sized daybed and a clawed tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeKay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this villa for 3 nights. This is a wonderful B&B. The room was spacious and comfortable. Elena thought of everything. We had everything we needed in our rooms. There was a fabulous claw foot tub in the bedroom - really romantic. I know we were in Italy but it felt like we were staying in an amazing french country side farmhouse. Just lovely. We were in Italy for 2 weeks and we had the absolute best breakfast in the 3 days we were here. Elena and Paula made freshly baked cakes, croissants, breads and muffins. When I say freshly baked, I mean freshly baked. I came down one morning and the bread was still hot!!!! There was fresh squeezed orange juice, delicious sweet crunchy granola, creamy yogurt, sliced prosciutto, clotted cream, butter and cheese. All so so good. The mornings were not complete without Alex (one of the family dogs) breaking in or sneaking into the main house. So much fun. My husband almost swore off coffee forever until we got here. We had our first good cup of cafe americano at this B&B. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Nothing like the smell of roses. There are cascading roses and rose gardens - just lovely. We truly enjoyed our stay. Elena was the perfect hostess.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parma
4.1 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 48 in Parma
1,058 reviews
3.7 mi away
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
#4 of 48 in Parma
314 reviews
16.3 mi away
Antico Borgo di Tabiano Castello
Antico Borgo di Tabiano Castello
#1 of 1 in Tabiano Castello
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mercure Parma Stendhal
3.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Parma Toscanini
3.6 mi away
Palazzo Dalla Rosa Prati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villino di Porporano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villino di Porporano

Property: Villino di Porporano
Address: Strada Bodrio 26, 43123, Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villino di Porporano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few kilometres from the centre of Parma, in the small, homely village of Porporano, a young couple devised and organised this place of delightful rest. Next to the main villa, in the garden grounds, springs an old rural cottage, built in solid stone brick with a hayloft above. This simple country site has been transformed into a charming cottage for guests; 5 rooms with en suite bathroom, communal area, a large kitchen, spacious veranda protected by glass which separates it from the enchanting green. Keeping the atmosphere of times gone by with its rough walls spaced out with blocks of pebble stone in place of bricks and the dimension of the hayloft which still astonishes those who enter; the rooms where the rough wooden floor gives harmony to the colours. The owners have furnished each room carefully and with passion: with iron headboards and delicately embroidered curtains and tapestry in thick linen, once forgotten in an old trunk. The cottage of Porporano, a place where hospitality is not only a profession but a style of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villino di Porporano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing