We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended B&B providing not only 5* accommodation but also a true Italian experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villino di Porporano
Ranked #1 of 70 Parma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended B&B providing not only 5* accommodation but also a true Italian experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband, our 4-month daughter and I visited Italy in May, 2013. We stayed in Villino di Porporano where we received quality accommodation and service. The B&B itself was very well presented, nicely decorated and extremely well looked after. The rooms were clean, tidied up every day and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was varied and the homemade food was of good quality. The owner, Elena, was extremely helpful with everything, e.g., she had made sure there was a travel cot with linen in our bedroom for our daughter, advices on places to go to for dinner and made reservations for us, she'd even take our daughter from us whilst we were having breakfast and show her around the beautiful house. Thus, Villino di Porporano is a truly family oriented B&B. Location wise it was perfect for as because we based ourselves in/near Parma and then drove to Bologna, Florence, Cinqueterre, Verona. There was a big supermarket short 5min drive from the cottage where we'd get wine and then go back and relax in Villino in the evening. Overall, if you are looking for a boutique Italian experience do visit Parma and Villino di Porporano!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auksakyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    33
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
251
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights and lovely days here while touring Parma and on our way further south to Tuscany. Elena and her husband have created a peaceful and secluded paradise on a perfectly attended to property. The inside and outside spaces are exquisitely designed by Elena herself. From archways overflowing with roses to clean and tasteful antiques and sumptuous fabrics. Wherever the eye rests there is beauty....
Add 3 charming dogs and the highlight of our stay was the superb authentic Italian dinner cooked just for us upon our very late arrival by Paula. We ate our way through Italy and her dinner was by far the best of all. And don't get me started on Elena's breakfasts and the coffee...the best I've ever had. The only 'wish' we had was access to some food during the day (even snacks or fruit left out in the dining area would have sustained us) and dinners each night. Sadly dinner was only available one of our 2 nights. We didn't want to leave the property as it was so peaceful, Thank you Elena for our wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The Roses room is a suite with a separate sitting area that has a twin sized daybed and a clawed tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeKay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this villa for 3 nights. This is a wonderful B&B. The room was spacious and comfortable. Elena thought of everything. We had everything we needed in our rooms. There was a fabulous claw foot tub in the bedroom - really romantic. I know we were in Italy but it felt like we were staying in an amazing french country side farmhouse. Just lovely. We were in Italy for 2 weeks and we had the absolute best breakfast in the 3 days we were here. Elena and Paula made freshly baked cakes, croissants, breads and muffins. When I say freshly baked, I mean freshly baked. I came down one morning and the bread was still hot!!!! There was fresh squeezed orange juice, delicious sweet crunchy granola, creamy yogurt, sliced prosciutto, clotted cream, butter and cheese. All so so good. The mornings were not complete without Alex (one of the family dogs) breaking in or sneaking into the main house. So much fun. My husband almost swore off coffee forever until we got here. We had our first good cup of cafe americano at this B&B. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Nothing like the smell of roses. There are cascading roses and rose gardens - just lovely. We truly enjoyed our stay. Elena was the perfect hostess.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

A charming and inviting B&B near Parma, Elena makes you feel at home and welcome at her property. The grounds are beautiful as is the pool. The living and dining areas are full of beautiful settings and are a welcome place to relax with a glass of wine after a day of touring. We stayed in the Attic room which had plenty of space and was also well appointed and clean.
Elena is full of really good restaurant suggestions, we tried the local pasta restaurant "Romeo's" which has been going for 60 years and it was magnificent. Also one in Parma city "Cocchi" which was also wonderful. We were there to primarily visit the car and motorcycle factories of Marenello and Bologna and Villino di Porporano was within easy reach by car and a much more pleasant place to stay. We would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who appreciates a well run establishment. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTBSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Loved the decor. Beautiful relaxing romantic

The villa has been tastefully restored with attention to detail in regards to furnishings and ambience, the rooms are comfortable, clean and warm with quality sheets making for an excellent nights sleep . 

The owners have furnished each room carefully and with passion: with iron headboards and delicately embroidered curtains and tapestry in thick linen, once forgotten in an old trunk. The cottage of Porporano, a place where hospitality is not only a profession but a style of life.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stepjanye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in late April when visiting the area for a Rugby match between Zebre and Leinster
This was our second visit to this delightful place and again we got a great welcome from Elena
The location outside Parma means a car is essential
The rooms are excellently fitted out and the free wifi was also of good quality
The breakfast was as we remebered frm our previous visit - superb
Freshly squeezed orange juice
Freshly cut fruit salad
Muesli
Freshly baked bread and a variety of cakes - different cakes on the second morning
Good selection of local ham and cheese
Great coffee
Since our last visit Elena has now added an evening meal to her offering
This is not available on Sunday nights
We had the meal on the night of our arrival and it was superb
Antipasto/Pasta/Main Course/Dessert/Coffee/Wine/Dessert Wine
The food was plentiful and in keeping with the all round excellence of the place
The cost for the meal including the wine was €50 per head and I consider this to be excellent value for the quality of the meal received
On the Sunday night Elena recommended a restaurant about 3 km away because the local restaurant within walking distance was closed
The restaurant - Al Due Platani - was €15 away by taxi and the meal we received there was wonderful - well worth the taxi fare
We are already looking forward to the next match in Parma and hopefully will be able to visit again

Room Tip: Al the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Villino di Porporano. The property is beautiful, our room was very clean with gorgeous linens and amenities. The breakfast served each morning is extensive and excellent and the proprietor, Elena was very helpful. She booked a tour for us with Parma Golosa Gourmet Tours. If you have her set this up for you be sure to ask her to get Davide as your tour guide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara6592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villinodiporporano, Proprietario at Villino di Porporano, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Barbara,
thank you so much for your beautiful review....it was pleasure for me to know that you booked a room on the advice of your uncle who was our guest at Villino di Porporano!
I hope to see you for a longer stay!
A warm greeting,
Elena Maria Ciotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parma
4.1 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 52 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
3.7 mi away
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
#4 of 52 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Parma Stendhal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Antico Borgo di Tabiano Castello
Antico Borgo di Tabiano Castello
#1 of 1 in Tabiano Castello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
3.6 mi away
Palazzo Dalla Rosa Prati
3.9 mi away
Latte e Miele B & B
Latte e Miele B & B
#11 of 70 in Parma
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villino di Porporano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villino di Porporano

Property: Villino di Porporano
Address: Strada Bodrio 26, 43123, Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villino di Porporano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few kilometres from the centre of Parma, in the small, homely village of Porporano, a young couple devised and organised this place of delightful rest. Next to the main villa, in the garden grounds, springs an old rural cottage, built in solid stone brick with a hayloft above. This simple country site has been transformed into a charming cottage for guests; 5 rooms with en suite bathroom, communal area, a large kitchen, spacious veranda protected by glass which separates it from the enchanting green. Keeping the atmosphere of times gone by with its rough walls spaced out with blocks of pebble stone in place of bricks and the dimension of the hayloft which still astonishes those who enter; the rooms where the rough wooden floor gives harmony to the colours. The owners have furnished each room carefully and with passion: with iron headboards and delicately embroidered curtains and tapestry in thick linen, once forgotten in an old trunk. The cottage of Porporano, a place where hospitality is not only a profession but a style of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villino di Porporano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing