We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B near Parma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villino di Porporano
Ranked #1 of 68 Parma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in late April when visiting the area for a Rugby match between Zebre and Leinster
This was our second visit to this delightful place and again we got a great welcome from Elena
The location outside Parma means a car is essential
The rooms are excellently fitted out and the free wifi was also of good quality
The breakfast was as we remebered frm our previous visit - superb
Freshly squeezed orange juice
Freshly cut fruit salad
Muesli
Freshly baked bread and a variety of cakes - different cakes on the second morning
Good selection of local ham and cheese
Great coffee
Since our last visit Elena has now added an evening meal to her offering
This is not available on Sunday nights
We had the meal on the night of our arrival and it was superb
Antipasto/Pasta/Main Course/Dessert/Coffee/Wine/Dessert Wine
The food was plentiful and in keeping with the all round excellence of the place
The cost for the meal including the wine was €50 per head and I consider this to be excellent value for the quality of the meal received
On the Sunday night Elena recommended a restaurant about 3 km away because the local restaurant within walking distance was closed
The restaurant - Al Due Platani - was €15 away by taxi and the meal we received there was wonderful - well worth the taxi fare
We are already looking forward to the next match in Parma and hopefully will be able to visit again

Room Tip: Al the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 409 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Villino di Porporano. The property is beautiful, our room was very clean with gorgeous linens and amenities. The breakfast served each morning is extensive and excellent and the proprietor, Elena was very helpful. She booked a tour for us with Parma Golosa Gourmet Tours. If you have her set this up for you be sure to ask her to get Davide as your tour guide.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara6592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villinodiporporano, Proprietario at Villino di Porporano, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Barbara,
thank you so much for your beautiful review....it was pleasure for me to know that you booked a room on the advice of your uncle who was our guest at Villino di Porporano!
I hope to see you for a longer stay!
A warm greeting,
Elena Maria Ciotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It's a small point in your overall bed and breakfast experience, but after a long day of travel, to be greeted by a sumptuous bed is a tremendously gratifying experience. Everyone in their reviews has already praised Elena -- quite deservedly so. Her energy, openness and style is the heart of Villino di Porporano. Our one personal story concerns the trattoria at which she made dinner reservations for us. She explained that it was late in the day and it might be totally booked. On a Thursday night in April? Well, she got the reservation and we drove about 2 km to this wonderful restaurant. We arrived at 8:30 and by 9:00, it was totally filled with local friends and families. No tourists in sight (except us). The food was outrageous and one of the most affordable places we ate in Northern Italy. The chef had just made ice cream that day, so he came though the dining room with a trolley, proudly dishing out ice cream for everyone! The easy drive back to Villino di Porporano completed the great experience. We use and trust the reviews on Trip Advisor all the time and I hope this one convinces you to make a reservation at Villino di Porporano the next time you find yourself in Parma.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villinodiporporano, Proprietario at Villino di Porporano, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dears,
how nice it was to read your beautiful review!
I'm very glad that you appreciated my old bed linen sheets that we carefully washe and irone at Villino di Porporano and one of the best restaurants of Parma that is just few km far from us.
We wait you for a longer stay!
Greetings,

Elena Maria Ciotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Villino di porporano is one of those special places you come across occasionally.
Staying there made our holiday one to be remembered.
Arriving at Villino di Porporano we are greeted by Elena, and immediately are made to feel at home, tired after our flight and travel from milan, pizza from the local trattoria is arranged, this starts a couple of days of some of finest regional food i have tasted (why else do you travel!).
The villa has been tastefully restored with attention to detail in regards to furnishings and ambience, the rooms are comfortable, clean and warm with quality sheets making for an excellent nights sleep .
The morning started with an array of Italian goodies from the kitchen where Paola from bologna works her magic, all freshly made.
This was served up in the large and again elegantly turned out dining area, after breakfast we have a look around the grounds which look to be a great place to spend time on warmer days with a large swimming pool and plenty of space to soak up the view of the distant mountains.
After spending the day in Parma and Modena we return to Villino di porporano for what turns out to be a truly memorable birthday dinner.
Food aside it's the people who make the difference and our stay there was memorable as much for our gracious hosts as it was for the meals and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotus1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villinodiporporano, Proprietario at Villino di Porporano, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dears,
thank you so much for your words......They make me so happy!
It's a great pleasure for me to know that my guests have had such a lovely holiday at the Villino di Porporano!
I hope to see you soon....maybe in a warmer season!
Greetings from Parma,
Elena Maria Ciotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed during an unseasonably cold and wet late March period. The villa was very comfortable and warm and cosy. This is a very good bed and breakfast as a base for exploring Parma and the local region. Freshly cooked eggs and local cakes were lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villinodiporporano, Proprietario at Villino di Porporano, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to write your beautiful review.
I'm very happy that you like our b&b and we wait for you for a sunny holiday!
Best Regards,
Elena Maria Ciotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

In Parma we stayed at Villino di Porporano, owned and managed by the charming and helpful Elena Ciotti. This delightfully furnished B & B is about 10 minutes’ drive out of the centre of Parma. The main reason why we chose the accommodation is because Elena has an in depth knowledge of Italian Food traditions. Together with her restaurant trained cook Paula they treated me to a wonderful cookery demonstration on pastas with sauces and a wide variety of pizzas with delicious toppings. What a privilege to be taught Italian cooking in a working kitchen manned by two real Italian mammas. I was able to taste all the raw ingredients and finished dishes. I retired to my room late that afternoon with a plateful of delectable tasters and a glass of good red wine. Foodie heaven! The recipes were neatly printed and presented to me with a lovely complimentary chef’s apron.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Francina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villinodiporporano, Proprietario at Villino di Porporano, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Ina,
thank you so much for your beautifull review, for your enthusiasm and your kindness!!!
It was a real pleasure to meet you and your son.
A warm greeting,
Elena Maria Ciotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I hesitate to write this review because i feel i wish to keep this gem hidden from the rest of the world. However, i must do justice to Elena. VIllino Di Porporano is a special property and has been restored with exceptional attention to detail and with impeccable taste. I am an extensive traveller and quite particular in what I look for in holiday accommodation. Staying at Villino di Porporano is like being invited into a friend's country retreat. Elena provides great personal service in a manner that somehow manages to fuse that offered by a top concierge with a dear friend whose taste you trust implicitly.

As someone who enjoys cooking, I am deeply envious of Elena's amazing kitchen with all it's modern equipment but country feel. From here, the most amazing cakes, buns and other breakfast delicacies are produced.

At times during the stay, We reluctantly left the property to explore the environs. Reluctance only because we at the same time felt content to sit and enjoy this delightful retreat / home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JML607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villinodiporporano, Proprietario at Villino di Porporano, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear John,
I'm sorry if I answer only now to your review but I wanted to tell you that it was a real pleasure to have you and your son as our guests at Villino di Porporano.
We wait for you and your family in your "new home" in Parma for another gastronomic holiday!!!
With Best Regards,
Elena Maria Ciotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parma hotels
4.1 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 48 in Parma
1,201 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Forlanini 52
Hotel Forlanini 52
#9 of 48 in Parma
328 reviews
5.2 mi away
Link 124 Hotel
Link 124 Hotel
#2 of 48 in Parma
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Parma Toscanini
3.6 mi away
Opera B&B
Opera B&B
#9 of 68 in Parma
113 reviews
12.6 mi away
Latte e Miele B & B
Latte e Miele B & B
#10 of 68 in Parma
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villino di Porporano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villino di Porporano

Address: Strada Bodrio 26, 43123, Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Parma
Price Range: $95 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villino di Porporano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few kilometres from the centre of Parma, in the small, homely village of Porporano, a young couple devised and organised this place of delightful rest. Next to the main villa, in the garden grounds, springs an old rural cottage, built in solid stone brick with a hayloft above. This simple country site has been transformed into a charming cottage for guests; 5 rooms with en suite bathroom, communal area, a large kitchen, spacious veranda protected by glass which separates it from the enchanting green. Keeping the atmosphere of times gone by with its rough walls spaced out with blocks of pebble stone in place of bricks and the dimension of the hayloft which still astonishes those who enter; the rooms where the rough wooden floor gives harmony to the colours. The owners have furnished each room carefully and with passion: with iron headboards and delicately embroidered curtains and tapestry in thick linen, once forgotten in an old trunk. The cottage of Porporano, a place where hospitality is not only a profession but a style of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villino di Porporano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing