We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary dinner in Parma - A real treat”
Review of Al Tramezzo

Al Tramezzo
Ranked #10 of 753 Restaurants in Parma
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Went here with my wife and another couple to celebrate our wedding anniversaries. We had picked Al Tramezzo on other recommendations on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. Got a taxi to and from the restaurant as it is not in the centre. Once there we were greeted warmly by Fillipo. The menu, in English, had two components the land and the sea. All of the dishes were described to us in very good English. I had the Venison for main which was delicious. The pasta dishes were delicious. The wine list was very extensive and the selection of Scottish Malt even more so. A bit pricey, but well worth it. Whilst the restaurant does have a Michelin Star it was not pretentious at all - the menu, the food preparation and friendly service all made our visit very, very good. In Parma and looking for an excellent food experience then look no further.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris_doyle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 681 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2017

Recently returned from a visit to Parma, having booked an anniversary dinner here. We were not disappointed. Filippo was charming and could not have been more helpful, as he explained in great detail, each dish to ensure we made the right choice. The food was superb and we met his lovely fiancée (and chef) Marta.
We would highly recommend a visit here, for that special holiday treat.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Manders301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017

A hidden gem tucked away in a middle-class residential neighborhood outside Parma city center, but worth a side trip! It is well-run by a local father-and-son team, providing the clientele with Michelin-star level cuisine, inventive dishes and impeccably friendly service. Mostly business people and locals coming for lunch, dinnertime can be quite busy The wines are great as well, and free parking is abundant.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Migdalser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile

Great and captivating food gastronomy at its best.
Great service and anaizing dessert s
5star for this restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank argento v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017

We visited Al Tramezzo on our holidays last year when we visited Parma for a couple of days. This was the first Michelin starred placed we've visited in the country, and so expectations were naturally highly, particularly after a great meal elsewhere the night before.

The biggest positive was the service. It was as excellent as you would expect, and included fantastic bread, a pre-starter and little pastries and chocolates at the end of the meal.

The rest of the dishes, with one exception to come, all were very good. Presentation made you want to dive in and eat, portions were generous and they tasted delicious. The risottos were rich and filling, and the seafood was fresh and well-seasoned. The tobacco ice cream on my dessert was the one part of the meal that was truly memorable and noteworthy. Both unique and something I would love to eat again, served alongside a rum mille-feuille and chocolate.

Unfortunately, my meat course was a real disappointment. It was a breaded cutlet with truffle, green beans and mashed potato; and it was exactly that for better or worse. There was no twist here or inspiration. The cutlet was very dry, the truffle flavour was lacking, the green beans were overdone and the mash wasn't anything special either. This dish really stood out compared to the rest of what we served and not in a good way.

For the price and reputation, I would expect everything to be perfect or at least to an accomplished standard, but one of the main courses sadly fell short of this and the general trend for the meal was one of very good, but not being truly outstanding. That aside, this is still a very good choice for fine dining.

As a final note, I could have done without the anachronism of women being given menus without prices, but it was not the only place in Parma guilty of this.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TMDaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Tramezzo also viewed

 
Parma, Province of Parma
 
Parma, Province of Parma
Parma, Province of Parma
 

Been to Al Tramezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing