We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gourmand's rescue in Parma”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parizzi

Parizzi
Reserve with
Parizzi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 654 Restaurants in Parma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $64 - $86
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Elegant restaurant in a mansion located in the historical centre of Parma which has been run by the Parizzi family since 1946. Creative cuisine that ranges from meat and fish to traditional dishes. Multi-prize winning wine list offering over 1100 Italian and international wines. Seasonal menu.Elegante di design
singapore
Level Contributor
310 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“A gourmand's rescue in Parma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were lost getting to lunch in Parma at a trattoria we found in Tripadvisor. We wanted typical Parma food but it was 230pm already and we might be out in the cold if we didin't find something quick. On a whim, we found Parizzi on our GPS so we were pleasantly surprised they took us in when we showed up without a reservation. The decor was warm, contemporary and it was full except our table. We ordered quickly a trio of Parma Prosciutto followed by entrees from their Piatti Tipici Parmagiani section. Our mains arrived while we were comparing the different aged prosciutto (24, 30 and 44 months) chased down with a beautiful Petrolo Galatrona 2001. Punta di vitello ripiena alla parmigiana was excellent as the veal paillard was moist inside and slightly crispy outside. It was garnished with roasted potatoes and veggies. Spiedino di stracotto di manzo, the beef stew in red wine sauce, was slow cooked to perfection, moist and melts in your mouth. Tavola d’arte was the "table Art" for dessert that we could not resist and what a magnificent ending: it was almost too beautiful in the arrangement to desecrate it by sinking our folks and spoons in. This being Parma, the maitre'd offered us free taste of tiny wedges of parmagian cheeses. We don't care if they ever get promoted to 2 star Michelin because this was just superlative at a very decent price. We will be back each time we pass through here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    119
    54
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best in Parma so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food at Parizzi is outstanding. I have been there a few times for business dinners - sometimes with a large group where the menu was already planned, and sometimes ordering on my own. The Parmesan custard appetizer is amazing way to eat a local specialty. Service is that perfect mix of welcoming, warm, and professional.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sublime restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

On the 12th of september i decided to - after a busy business session - to go alone (with a good book) to eat at parizzi. Compozione di manzo crudo agli oil essenziali, piccolo hamburger e birra - sublime starter the variety of beafpreparitons where so elegant, frugal simple a modern dish; spaghetti all a chitarra con trig lie, asparagus e bottarga - real primi piatti; BUT the piccione cot to allo spiedo e dissato, salsa alluvia nera e crocchetta di riso , various preparation of pigeon and the accompaniements knocked me down. The wines (i tasted 2 glasses of white and 2 halve bottles of red) where recommended by the lady of the house and the maitre d'hotel, who speaks fluently french and english. At my modest opinion, this restaurant will obtain there second michelin star very soon.And frankly they deserve it; this restaurant vaut le détour;

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, bad experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We ate lunch there in the end of July. The restaurant had a strong upscale touch to it. The food was great. I got Rabbit ravioli and nettles with gravy, pecorino cheese, fried zucchini and my wife got Ravioli filled with greens and served with Parmesan Cheese. The food with a bottle of water and a glass of wine for both of us, ended up being 50 Euros. Not bad.

However, you could easily spend 200 euros for two people, something i dont see justified at this place. A couple of areas which really bothered us. It was 40 degrees outside and their AC was totally lame. It felt like a toy air conditioner, totally ineffective. Secondly, i think the service was a bit too much. After a couple sips of water, they would come over to refill the glass. I felt i am being watched ALL the time. Come on, some privacy please. On my way out, our server handed me a brochure of the apartments owned by Parizzi for our next visit to Parma. No way i am staying with them.

All in all, the food was good but the experience was not. I would not come back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TkNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing culinary experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Parma is the capital of the Italian gastronomy. And if there must be a TOP restaurant in this city, Parizzi is the ONE and ONLY. Now this is what i call a real michlin star restaurant.

Perfect place to impress your date/girlfriend for anniversary or any special occasion.

Amazingly sublime food from one of the top famous chefs in italy.
Service: IMPECCABLE. As soon as they spot your shadow passing by the door, they welcome you with a smile and take care of your coats. They will personally accomodate you on your chair in the most courtois manner, especially for ladies. And promptly offer you a complimentary glass of wine, a selection of freshly baked bread (olives,walnuts etc) and selection of water.

Absolutely to try the Terra Degustation menu. They will bring a moltitude of sublime dishes, from hors d'heuvre to cheese selection and dessert.

The decor is modern and very elegant. I repeat myself: excellence service.

This restaurnat is every bit as good as the most prestigious restaurants in London, Paris or NYC.

Prices are high as expected, but absolutely justified and reasonable for such a culinary experience.

Recommended: Menu Terra (about 65 euros without drinks) and a dessert made as a painter's palette.

PURE ART

RECOMMENDED

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thereal r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parizzi also viewed

Parma, Province of Parma
Parma, Province of Parma
 
Parma, Province of Parma
 
Parma, Province of Parma
Parma, Province of Parma
 

Been to Parizzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing