We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveler rating
120
241
135
32
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
120
241
135
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world junior suite beautiful terrace breakfast room old school pastries ham train station private parking home made cakes your luggage enjoyed my stay historic center visiting modena comfortable hotel single room quiet street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 546 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2018

In the best location just on outskirt of centre of town but still walking distance to station. Room was large with great patio to sit out on. Breakfast was delicious with a good variety to choose from, even teapots for those of us who prefer an english breakfast cuppa. There is a nice outdoor patio where you can sit and enjoy the garden whilst sipping a glass of wine. Front desk staff very helpful along with Michael in the bar

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Daneander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

The hotel seems locked in time with an air of beginning of last century travel. But it is spotlessly clean, nice service, the rooms and bathrooms were very large (we had a junior suite second floor) and this old feeling give it a lot of charm. Also location is perfect - not even 5 min from the cathedral and tower and the price is extremely reasonable. A very good choice for visiting Modena.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank amS5408MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Excellent location within walking distance of the centre of Modena. Able to park outside the hotel with a parking permit provided by the hotel. Loved the very grand public rooms which were in sharp contrast to the trendy breakfast room in what would have been the cellars back in the day - we loved it's sports car memorabillia. The rooms and bathrooms are a good side, spotlessly clean if old fashioned but that's part of the hotel's charm. The beds were the most comfortable we slept in during our holiday in Italy. Breakfast was also best here, with a wide choice of meats, cheeses, breads and pastries and the fruit is lush (it is everywhere we went in Italy). There is a lovely terrace outside with seating and umbrellas and it was really nice ordering drinks from the fab bar manager and enjoying the free nibbles of crisps and nuts that are provided. Please be aware that the hotel restaurant is closed, which was very disappointing because one of the reasons we chose to book this hotel was the convenience of having an on site restaurant. The hotel needs to update it's literature so guests aren't disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Bryony40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in a standard room. There is parking in front of the hotel which is a plus. There are stairs to climb to get into the hotel which wasn’t good as we had big bags and as is typical which most 4 star or below hotels, no one came to help (although they did help us load the bags back into the car).

The room was dated, as is the hotel. It was of a ok size. The air condition had only one setting. We had a terrace, one of only 2 rooms on the 2nd floor to have them (243 and 242). The bathroom was ok but had a distinct whiff of urine, which wasn’t great.

Breakfast was below par, we did arrive just before it finished but there were no hot items, just pastries, cold cuts, cheese and cereal.

If you want to stay inside the old city your options are limited so this is a decent choice. I wouldn’t stay for an extended period of time though. Also avoid the city in August as most of the food restaurants are closed for holidays.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank DyanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

We were pretty happy with the experience. Staff was nice and helpful. Room was clean. Air Conditioning was a bit weak but it was still sufficient to have a good night sleep. Location was a bit away from the center but it was in a quiet street which has it's own advantages.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ilya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews