We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the time to visit this exceptional place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa San Donnino

Villa San Donnino
Ranked #2 of 146 things to do in Modena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Production of Traditional Balsamic Vinegar of Modena and Balsamic Condiment.
Milano, italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Take the time to visit this exceptional place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We found the review of Villa San Donnino using Trip Advisor, but then a good friend recommended a different balsamic vinegar vineyard to us. We are so glad that we met Davide and visited his beautiful vineyard and home! The explanation of the process of making authentic balsamic vinegar and tasting the different types of balsamic vinegar have forever changed us. We hope that you will visit this vineyard and support the work of this dedicated artisan farmer and his wife.

Helpful?
2 Thank hphMilano_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    29
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't miss the nocino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I agree with the other reviewers but I want to add some information.
First, you should taste the nocino, a walnut liquor that is one of the specialties of the villa: delicious.
Second: after such a nice visit it will be very difficult not to buy at least one of their products. Anyway there are some pros: if you buy the vinegar at the villa, its price is lower than on shop or on internet; then, you have tasted their product, it will last for long time (not like a wine bottle). It can be carried on in the cabin luggage of an airplane (the contents of the bottle is 100cl), it is a very nice gift and is very small so you can carry easier home. But the most important thing is that with only some drop of this vinegar you can transform a normal dish in an intense experience.
Third: ask also some information about the price of everything but the vinegar: the bottle, the certification etc. You will discover something more of Italy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Gaetano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very special day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We went to Villa San Donnino enroute from Venice to Siena area. Our host Davide was so welcoming and it was an honor to visit his home and learn about his family. The experience of how really good balsamic vinegar is made and have private lunch on the grounds featuring courses highlighting the various aged vinegar (from 6 months to 35 years) was a real treat. Who knew that vinegar on gelato was so delicious! Thank you Davide for your hospitality and a very special day. We are converts and thank goodness you have a website so we can keep up our stock.

If you are in the area do not miss this opportunity.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Walking trough Davide's villa and listning to his explanations and stories is an experience that will change your conception of food, and Balsamic viniger in particular.
If you've been to Italy yet, you know the country has some fine cusine, but understanding the work invested on special specific items, such as the Balsamic viniger, makes you understand why.
Davide is a charming individual with vast knowledge about his craft and about good food and drinks.
At the end of the tour we tasted all the different kind of Balsamic the davide manufactures and bought some of the magic for ourselfs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The required stop in Modena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

If I had to pick one thing to suggest in Modena, this is it. Davide is very nice, passionate, and informative. The farm and farmhouse are beautiful. Make sure you call or email in advance to reserve a tour. He is very accomodating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_Polpetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa San Donnino also viewed

Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to Villa San Donnino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing