We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you ask people where is da danilo and they respond "very good"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante da Danilo

Ristorante da Danilo
Ranked #16 of 723 Restaurants in Modena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“you ask people where is da danilo and they respond "very good"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

so you know you have reached a good place. we ate good traditional modenese food. i ate an antipasto of gnocco with salumi, and then jumped to the second plate of stinco which was very tasty. we had a reservation on a friday night the place was filled with large tables so probably recommended. they were very nice the waiters as our friends were coming from afar and got there late but they didnt make us feel bad at all for occupying the table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cavallino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    600
    126
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
259 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Tripped up on this down a side street, great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were having a day in Modena when we realised everything we wanted to see would be closed for 2.5 hours, well what to do but to find lunch. Found this place heaving with locals so gave it a go. Great find. The pasta is fresh and very well cooked, flavours sublime and seasonal. Service friendly, wine and bread great. Would love this to be my local.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent welcome to Modena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Excellent welcome and outside seating. We visited Danilo for our first evening meal in Modena.

Enjoyed the best pasta I have ever tasted followed by Beef Carpaccio with lashings of Parmesan and aged balsamic.

Bizarre bread but we later found it in all of the restaurants - regional speciality it would seem.

Wine was very reasonably priced and the restaurant was full of visitors and locals alike.

When we asked 3 different locals to recommend a restaurant and they all picked this as their top destination. I can tell why!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrAlbarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
132 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good, traditional food at sensible price in tasteful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Second or third visit to this well-established 41 year old Modena institution. On this visit it was warm enough to eat on the small street terrace, as it was for an earlier visit on exceptionally warm day in March.
Regional food is the thing to go for here. We both started with the Sformattina in a nice cheese sauce. Perfectly cooked and well-presented and just enough for a starter (8euro). Next up I decided on the taglitellini with wild boar (cinghiale) which was a decent sized portion with just enough meat for the pasta volume (7.50eu). My companion had the short gramigna pasta with salsicia which looked equally appetizing and was reported as being very good (7eu).
Only I had a dessert, of chocolate cake; very nicely home made with a slightly crisp top over a rich and moist inside (just 3.50eu). Water, a small carafe of house red - Sangiovese (6eu), and 2 coffees to drink. The slightly elevated cover charge of 3eu per person brought the bill to 50euros exactly.
Service is good, friendly and efficient.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anglital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
429 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“fantastic flavours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We choose this restaurant based on other reviews (on here) & was not disappointed. The range of food was excellent & the staff suggestions was superb. We had a fantastic night, where the seafood pasta was to die for along with the boar sausages. The balsamic vinegar is renown & didn't disappoint either. Then the deserts just topped off a great night. The prices were good also, where 3 of us ate for 40 euro plus wine. Its a must attend restaurant

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonSandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante da Danilo also viewed

Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to Ristorante da Danilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing