We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an experience!”

Osteria Francescana
Ranked #2 of 747 Restaurants in Modena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $71 - $212
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“an experience!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

highly rated restaurant, difficult to get a table unless you reserve well in advance. refined service, food and wine list. be open to try completely different and innovative food associations! excellent presentation of the food as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,330
    253
    120
    74
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sensations Tasting Menu - Sensational!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The sensations tasting menu was fantastic. We included the wine pairing which was definitely a
unique experience (not your traditional pairing). All of the pairing were from the same region of Italy as each course and included spirits and beer (all of which matched well with each course). The decor is extremely comfortable, elegant and somewhat modern (artwork). The service was exceptional and very professional. The synchronized removal of plates and delivery of dishes was impressive.

We were also very impressed with the enthusiasm of the servers with respect to their descriptions of the dishes and the sommelier's anticipation of our enjoying his choices. The staff take their jobs seriously and recognize that the food is the draw and treat all the customers with a great deal of respect. We also enjoyed Massimo visiting each table and spending a few minutes with all the customers. It was a wonderful and memorable experience well worth the extra trip to Modena.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinaLangager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“second visit not as good as first one”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Perhaps it was a mistake to go mostly for fish, perhaps it is just that the Scottish produce I am used to is stunning and fresh (of the "still alive before going into the pot" fresh for shellfish) that is an unfair comparison, but food on this visit was somewhat uneven. In particular, the prawns were a bit of a let down, they just did not taste as they should have.

The monkfish was excellent, and so was the lobster with two sauces (its own bisque and a Riesling reduction), but the "sardines and scampi" were a little tame, possibly because, unlike advertised, these actually consist of red mullets coated in squid ink - so no sardines and no scampi, odd if you ask me, and there may be other people who, like me, don't get the joke (not to mention that these are more subtle flavours than those you expect).

The prawns were really a letdown, the prawns themselves just not tasting as good as they should have. Desserts were very good.

Maybe an off day, but should you not expect consistency from three Michelin starred establishment? Service was also not totally spot on, with the occasional wait for a wine refill.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank show_me_the_dosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
617 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 800 helpful votes
“A la carte not so stunning”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Lats time I tried the Classici menu and thought it was Italian cuisine at its best. This time, several dishes chosen a la carte, while obviously very good (with one exception), were not as stunning as the accolades and the prices would require. There were problems in execution: both in a mullet and in a monkfish I found bones. And, I honestly was not convinced by either the flavours or the ideas in some other dishes. For example, I did not understand the point of enveloping a prawn in a casing so thin that it was virtually undetectable: highly skilled work, but zero in terms of contribution to flavour or texture. Also, the prawn had a funny and not so pleasant taste and texture: I suspect something, and they were rather evasive when asked for the provenance of the prawn (it's very strange for this to happen in a 3* venue where they normally shout the origin of the produce from the rooftop).
Up to desserts, the best dish had been a starter of culatello - not saying much for the culinary value added...Until we came to pre-desserts and desserts, where once again I experienced the Osteria as I knew it: stunning flavours and ideas, rooted in the Italian tradition. The 'think pink' predessert (with beetroots and strawberry), a chocolate and vignola cherry dessert, and a sweet/salty revisitation of Bottura's famous five-cheese savoury dish were all breathtaking.
Service was again a pleasant and well-oiled machine. Bottura did the usual round of the room.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank thoughtfuldiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experience”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had lunch with three friends at Osteria Francescana recently and we all agreed that it was the best meal any of us had ever eaten, and the best dining experience we had ever had. It was also surprisingly inexpensive for a restaurant rated in the top 10 in the world.

We drive 200 Kim's from Venice just to lunch there based o recommendations and we were not disappointed. I would drive there again,

The restaurant is small, intimate and extremely tastefully decorated. The food was exceptional and the wine superb. The owner/chef came out to thank us for dining there and was delightful and humble.

I would commend anyone who can go there to do so. It is a nice n. lifetime experience and one I hope I am able to repeat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexMorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Francescana also viewed

Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to Osteria Francescana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing