We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local dishes”

Ristorante Cesarina
Ranked #93 of 1,822 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $67
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good local dishes”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Went to restaurant on August 16th on the recommendation of hotel. We were not disappointed.

Service was prompt, Staff attentive and easily answered all our inquiries in both English and Italian. Food was excellent, veal Bolognese which is their speciality was delicious. Wine recommended by waiter was very good.

Well worth the extra $$ if you really want more then just pizza

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dudley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    301
    123
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best modern restaurant in bologna”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Been to the Cesarina on the 17th of July, had one of the most romantic dinners we ever had, the surrounding of ancient buildings with the huge yard that kissing couples were sitting all over it, the dim light, the breeze, and us sitting at the edge of the balcony, Wow. The servise was impacable, professional waiters, each know its job working like parts of one big watch, not waiting too much between dishes and yet having enough time to rest and consume the atmosphere. The food, Oh the food, great rissoto, amazing pastas and overall, one of the best restaurants we ate at in Italy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronen-Zeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marghera, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing ... Never again”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wanted to bring a dear friend to lunch and this place was suggested. The service was horrendous. We were over looked and ignored. I was so embarrassed. The saving grace was that the food was good. Asked for a dessert menu and waited then we got up and paid and went some place else. Bologna is full of great places so do not choose this place..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo M, Proprietario at Ristorante Cesarina, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Her words: ".....The saving grace was that the food was good". For us it is enough.
For the service, give us a chance other. But it is not horrible. Next time if you're in a hurry, please tell your waiter before.
Never say never.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

wonderful food. very nice atmosphere, very helpful chef, great wine and. The food is just perfect. Unforgetable!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Celso G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid at all Costs.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Recommended by Hotel receptionist. This was our first evening in Bologna and this meal experience was one of our worst ever anywhere. My suspicions should have been alerted by the number of dinner jacketed waiters hovering around when we arrived despite the restaurant being almost empty. The menu contained a vast number of choices, which is never an indicator of quality in my view. However I perused the wine list and selected a modest Soave which I was immediately told was unavailable. I was directed to what was described as a better choice wine, naturally, at a higher cost. When served this proved to be inadequately chilled.
After placing our food orders we were shocked when the dishes were served within five minutes. Fast food, indeed, which proved to have been pre-prepared and inadequately reheated. Asparagus was limp with congealed cheese on top. My veal was not freshly pan fried as described and was similarly covered in congealed cheese. My wife returned her dish to be made hot. The staff were disinterested in our complaints and simply retorted this is how we do it. Apparently this restaurant in the past had a good reputation. Clearly the standards have now fallen to unacceptable levels. We ate very well on all our subsequent evenings in Italy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom45490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Cesarina also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Ristorante Cesarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing