We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great jazz, average food”

Cantina Bentivoglio
Ranked #154 of 1,807 Restaurants in Bologna
Price range: $22 - $73
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Vitale
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great jazz, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We went to this restaurant during a three night stay in Bologna with friends. We went having heard it was the best food from some French tourists (and if they were French, they had to be right about great food, I thought). The place was huge, not intimate, in keeping with its good music. The food was just a backdrop for the music. I actually don't remember what we had. It was okay. But not memorable. But the music was great!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RuthieBinLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    383
    152
    69
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service is terrible....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

but the food is good....they make you wait 30 minutes to order....part of slow dinner I know but when one is dining alone, it is tough...

Helpful?
Thank prat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serres, Greece
Level Contributor
140 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Quite satisfactory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

The food was good, the wine was excellent, the atmosphere was really nice, the music from the live jazz tribute to Django Reinhardt was perfect. The only thing that could be improved was the service, since the staff - in my opinion - is not enough for a big place like this...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cd1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect cuisine but noise from the loudspeaker disturbed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I did enjoy the excellent meals and good wine. What disturbed me was something flowing from the loudspeaker above our table. Why they turned volume to max? The music was not possible to distinguish, particularly due the feedback of bass tones.
It will be a fine jazz sometime in future when they realise that live music is better unplugged.
My advice for visitors - look for the table in distance from loudspeakers and you will enjoy the evening.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DigiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Typical italian restaurant serving fine cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Food here was extremely nice. I took a large group of people here including my customers and we all had a great evening. The restaurant serves a variety of typical italian dishes. The parmesan cheese was just divine. To say we were a large group we werent waiting long inbetween couses and no ones glass was ever empty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Bentivoglio also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Cantina Bentivoglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing