We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best meal in Bologna”

Taverna del Postiglione
Reserve with
Taverna del Postiglione is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #318 of 1,843 Restaurants in Bologna
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santo Stefano
Description: Situated in Bologna's historic center, a few steps away from the Two Towers and Piazza Maggiore, the Taverna del Postiglione welcomes its guests in a warm and charming way. The ideal place to enjoy the excellent local specialities within its walls which speak of the past. The charming historic restaurant building is the perfect setting for a triumph of flavors and aromas. Here the typical Bolognese cuisine is complemented by a continuous search for new dishes. All accompanied by an excellent wine list, which selects the best regional and national labels.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Bologna”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We dined here on the last night of our holiday & were so glad we did as it made a special end to an excellent fortnight. For primi platti the risotto & the tagliolini were as good as we have eaten anywhere; for the main course the beef (Angus) was excellent. The grilled vegetables are a must.
The wine list was impressive, varied & reasonably priced and the service was attentive & efficient.
In our view, del Postiglione is superior in every way to the rather better-known restaurant across the passageway.
It should be noted that customers smoke in the "outdoor" section, which is effectively indoors as it is roofed by an archway. Fortunately nobody was smoking at the tables closest to us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    171
    79
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Authentic bolognese in Bologn, washed down with lambrusco that has never know known Riunite”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This being our first time in Bologna, we of course decided that we must have spaghetti bolognese, and did so at the Taverna. Seven of us sat at a single table, and I think everyone had the same dish, so I can't comment on the rest of the menu, but the spaghetti bolognese was wonderful, with a thick meaty sauce and perfectly cooked pasta. Service was friendly. We accompanied our meal with a wonderful lambrusco that made me re-think the appellation.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buddymedbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Recommended to us”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were advised of this little restaurant by an Italian 'in the know'. Easy to find when you know where it is! Full of local having their lunch. I had to have the bolognese (when in Bologna..), the pasta was lovely and the sauce was a little too salty for my taste, but who am I to criticise the authentic food of Italians! The fact that the place was full of locals is testiment to its quality.

Great atmosphere, attentive service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanga62, Proprietario at Taverna del Postiglione, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks for the review, I intend to be able to know personally in the future. Sincerely Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place frequented by locals!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was visiting my aunt in Bologna and I happened to stumble upon this gem while walking around the historic district. The lunch crowd was filled with local Bolognese. I had a delicious plate of Ravioli with Bolognese Sauce (Americans would know this as "Meat Sauce"). I followed that with a Cotoletta Bolognese...AH-MAZ-ING. After all the good food, I couldn't wait to walk around the beautiful city of Bologna to burn the calories! I liked the fact that this place was sort out of the way and not too touristy. The prices are very reasonable and the service impeccable! A good choice!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hist0ricTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanga62, Proprietario at Taverna del Postiglione, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks for the review, I intend to be able to know personally in the future. Sincerely Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We went back there 2 times”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Loved the homemade spaghetti (I'm sure that's not what the italian version wrote) with eggplant and tomato sauce... the salmon with orange salad was also amazing... and we love the fact that it was tucked away in a cosy little corner. Seems to be a big favourite with the locals for lunch too...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrsboxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanga62, Proprietario at Taverna del Postiglione, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks for the review, I intend to be able to know personally in the future. Sincerely Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna del Postiglione also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Taverna del Postiglione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing