We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For something italian, but different from the rest of Bologna”
Review of Aroma de Roma

Aroma de Roma
Reserve with
Aroma de Roma is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 1,843 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $44
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Vitale
Paw Paw, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“For something italian, but different from the rest of Bologna”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I'm not a foodie by any stretch, but the menu here was noticeably different form the rest of the bolognese restaurants that I had been to during the last two weeks. I did spend the weekend in rome, but was not familiar enough to know it as "roman" cuisine. However everything had by the group was excellent and well prepared, the service was very attentive and the owner was very friendly. If you are looking for dinner at a reasonable price, this is a good stop.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krahzee189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    327
    86
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Massachusetts
1 review
“The BEST Italian meal we’ve ever had”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

In our one week trip to Bologna, my husband and I ate at Aroma de Roma twice. They make the best spaghetti alla carbonara – we loved this dish so much the first time, we had to go back to have this dish again. We also loved the cacio e pepe – they offer several versions and our favorite was the one with bacon and hot chili. We ordered the mozzarella dorata ar telefono again on our second visit because it was so good. The panzanella alla romana is another memorable dish for us. Not only is the food wonderful, the service at this restaurant is excellent and the ambiance is cozy, upscale yet friendly and the price reasonable for the quality you’re getting. The owner made us feel very welcomed and we really liked our waiter. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PPAN510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slice of Rome in Bologna”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

To make this quick - better cacio e pepe than I ate in Rome. They add ingredients like cicoria, pancetta, zucchini flowers if you like variety. Awesome deep fried artichoke. The owner is amazingly friendly. We watched him perform magic tricks for the bambini one table over. One of the best meals I had in Northern Italy and I left with a smile in my face...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, null, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Loved the Totti setup. Michele a presto!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

As an As Roma fan i loved the restauant setup (was one of the reasons we chose it in the first place). Michele was more than helpful, in the end we ended up as friends as he was helping us to get some match tickets. Roman food was quite good. We did enjoy our first night in Bologna. Love from Malta xxx A presto caro Michele.

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Roman Food & Warm Hospitality”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Aroma de Roma was a special find in Bologna with its delicious housemade Roman pastas, selection of lazio meats, and typical Roman secondi such as saltimbocca, meatballs and Pollo Romana all done very well. An absolute must try is the trademark traditional Roman pasta, Cacio e Pepe. My husband had the classico original Cacio e Pepe version and I tried the spicy version with guanciale and pepperoncini, both versions were fantastic, especially due to the fresh housemade pasta. The interior is cozy and inviting with keepsakes and antiques lining the walls. The reasonably priced Lazio wines go well with all the food. The best part of the restaurant are the proprietors, Michele, who runs the front of the house and speaks excellent english, and his lovely wife, Francesca, who is the amazingly talented chef in the kitchen. What a team to make one feel like they are being treated as a well fed guest in their home! We enjoyed our first meal here so much that we chose to spend New Years Eve here and had a wonderful time! After 12AM everyone in the restaurant played Tombola (Bingo)! So much fun! I cannot wait to return to this warm inviting restaurant and enjoy their excellent Roman cuisine again. It was a definite highlight of our trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank CIAO2CIAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma de Roma also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Aroma de Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing