We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice and great location”
Review of I Portici Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
I Portici Hotel
Ranked #24 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I arrived by train and walked to I portici. It was very easy just a left out of station and a right about a block away to the Main Street. I was so pleased when I arrived because it was just like pictures I had seen on tripadvisor and their website. My room is lovely, there is a high ceiling and I requested an interior room. I got room 407 which is a small room but bigger than I expected. Two people could easily stay in this room. The bathroom is nice, amenities are plentiful. Loved the breakfast which is served in the theatre Amazing food for breakfast and delicious. I thought the price was excellent for my stay. I'd easily pay more. I consider this a 4 star hotel plus. I loved that it was only 5 minutes walk from the station and about 8-10 depending on pace to the main square. Tons of shops and restaurants within very close proximity. I mean tons. Highly recommend. Loved this hotel

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are nice. I chose an interior room. Room 407
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susannaa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We traveled to Bologna during the Christmas-New Year holidays and stayed at I Portici for six days. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was clean, spacious and quiet. The room had hardwood floors and high beautifully painted ceilings. The lobby is very well decorated and modern. The hotel is centrally located and a 5-10 minute walk from the central train station and Piazza Maggiore. Trains leave frequently for Rome, Florence, Parma, Modena, and Rimini (near San Marino). We bought tickets at the station and some were quite expensive. There is probably a better way of obtaining tickets but we did not do a lot of advance planning. Note: Trains do sell out for popular destinations so buy in advance! There are great affordable restaurants within easy walking distance (Via Righi Augusto and Via del Falegnami are loaded with good restaurants that are not expensive). The hotel does not have a gym or fitness center (a big deal for me) but there was a nice exercise bike in my room! There are fitness clubs nearby (Prime (way too expensve at 60 Euros a day) but I could not find one open in the early morning. There is a park right next to the hotel for jogging. The breakfast was excellent and included in our rate. We did not try the hotel resturant but it looked very nice, There is a great quiet bar on the second floor for a late drink. The only issue we had was very slow internet service but I did not complain since it was free! The staff were friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel has some good assets to make a perfect stay in Bologna. It has a nice mixt between ancient/traditional and modern slick architecture. The situation between the ancient center of Bologna and the train/bus/taxi station is an asset if you want to join business and leisure together, the historical center of Bologna is a beauty by night :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milou-k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over new year and the staff were excellent and extremely helpful. The hotel is very clean and although quite modern, very functional. I personally found the beds a little on the hard side. We were offered an inside room which overlooks a court yard and is very pleasant and quiet. We went out for breakfast each morning, but had our new year's dinner in their Ex-Ghiaciaia restaurant. Full of atmosphere, food fantastic, very romantic. Check out the view under your seat!

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A little bit overwhelmed by the first images of the valet at the entrance and the imposing architecture of the main building (did I make the right reservation? or is this going to cost me dearly?) I parked my lease car on the privat parking lot and made my way in. Huge entrance hall, completely renovated with light modern interior. Clean but in a way very peacefully. Huge staircases or elevators bring you up to your room, where the classic architecture has been prevailed and the modern bath room been placed in a sort of cabinet space. Just great. Evening 'dinner' in the lounge on the first floor: local merlo wine, Bisol Prosecco and Tuscan Grappa accompany the typical regional pasta dish and veal meat. Wonderful!
Breakfast in a fantastic hall (former theater) with lovely restored ceiling and friendly service.
The only downside, the Wifi is free. And this time I needed to answer some urgent mails for a change. To much traffic and you could not buy more bandwidth to have access, 4 stars or not, this is unacceptable!
Very good price for this stay though, I will return when in Bologna!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Marko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A great, safe place to relax, with an easy walk into the centre. It is rather modern minimalist, but not in a cold way and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Great breakfast selection to start the day with my highlight (sad person that I am) being an automatic machine for making fresh orange juice. Also, a PC in the bar upstairs handy for printing out your flight check-in documents (for free).

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LawrenceAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Excellent option while in Bologna. I stayed for 2 nights an enjoyed its cozy facilities as well as its friendly staff. The architecture of the place is quite interesting, especially the breakfast lounge at an old variety theatre. The location is also very convenient, close to the train station and not far from the airport.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Alberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,582 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,568 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,283 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#13 of 102 in Bologna
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Portici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Portici Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 69, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bologna
#15 Business Hotel in Bologna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $91 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — I Portici Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your I Portici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Portici Bologna
Hotel i Portici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing