We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek yet friendly”
Review of I Portici Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
I Portici Hotel
Ranked #23 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

What a wonderfully minimalistically designed, yet elegant Boutique hotel! My wife, three kids and I stayed in the top floor suite for three nights; at 160 m2 and a private roof terrace it was incredibly good value. The staff were friendly and helpful and very attentive to the kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaspar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Totally amazing! Booked it in a hurry via Booking.com and was not expecting much. Step into the lobby, and I was hooked! Clean open modern light space, rooms very well appointed although on the small side, fast easy wifi everywhere (the Booking.com said wired internet in the rooms which is wrong), welcome cocktail, cool aircon, very quiet room despite being so close to the main road. Excellent location, charming staff. Nothing to dislike! Will definitely come again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClauClau82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed there with a friend for three nights. The room was very spacious, clean and nice. The breakfast was yummy. Staff incredibly nice and pleasant. They even let me have breakfast past breakfast time one time. I had no idea it was past breakfast time, when I showed up 15 min. late, they allowed me to eat breakfast at the bar area and did not charge extra. Location is perfect.Comfortable beds, nice and specious bathroom with a big bathtub. I would stay there again when I'm back in Bologna.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKN-Objective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I'm here now...and while I'm drinking a beer on the Bar Terrazza I'm writing some words about this beautiful hotel with its free wifi.
The staff is young and helpful and the hotel is very near the train station.
My room is spacious and clean. The Bar where I am now is on a terrace near a park and it's very quiet and relaxing.
I was very tired when I arrived so I slept for a couple of hours and I found the room silent and confortable. Nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Probably the rooms on the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thor Sven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is situated in the city center of Bologna and only a 7 minute walk away from Bologna Main Train Station (Bologna Centrale). If you arrive at Bologna airport take the shuttle (Aerobus) which will take 20 minutes to the train station in Bologna and it will cost you 6 EUR per Person.

Our double room was facing the park and was very quite. The room has a very nice and new design and was very clean and very comfortable. The Bathroom also had a very modern design with a beautiful rain shower!
We did not eat at the restaurant since we considered it a bit high priced.
The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful.

I can also recommend if you want to visit Florence: take the train (runs approximately every 15 minutes) from Bologna Centrale to Firenze Santa Maria Novella railway station and BUY THE TICKETS ONLINE in advance! The train takes only 35 minutes and if you buy the train tickets online early they are MUCH cheaper!

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much and we will definitely choose it again once we return to this beautiful city!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPorticiHotelBologna, Resident Manager at I Portici Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

Dear Melanie S
Thank you for your recent stay at IPortici hotel Bologna and thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am so happy to learn you enjoyed your stay and you liked the location of the hotel, so happy also, you liked the room. For the fact that you found our 1 Michelin star a bet pricy I would like to point out that our Terrace bistro offered a wide range of menu at a moderate price and our Fresh pasta shop offers the most economic prices to enjoys fresh pasta and fresh tortellini as well.
I am so honoured to read you found our reception staff helpful and friendly I already carried your lovely words to them.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon

Mahmoud Abd Elnabi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I spent a night here in June while in transit from Urbino. The staff were absolutely excellent and the finish of the rooms is to a very high standard. The bathroom was very clean, had a multijet shower and hair dryer. Breakfast of the simple continental style but again was done to a great standard. Hotel wifi is reasonably fast and free.

My singular complaint would be that my room was pretty loud. It was by the stairs and directly next to the terrace bar.

Room Tip: Room 219 was pretty loud, so you might want to avoid that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissGeeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've return to I Portici Hotel again and again. It never fails to satisfy. Perfect location near the train station, a beautiful setting next to the park, great food and staff who really know how to extend a warm welcome. The rooms are beautiful; comfortable and quiet.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OBGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,565 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
908 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#8 of 102 in Bologna
835 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Portici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Portici Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 69, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bologna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#15 Business Hotel in Bologna
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $95 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — I Portici Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your I Portici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Portici Bologna
Hotel i Portici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing