We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restoration work, great hotel”
Review of I Portici Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
I Portici Hotel
Ranked #24 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We all know that first impressions are very important and this time, Silvia from the reception made all the difference. Thank you Silvia for the great room you gave me, on the 3rd floor with a beautiful balcony to the gardens and via Indipendenza. The room was spacious, bright, with a beautiful ceiling, very clean, comfortable bed and decent bathroom. Free wi-fi with very good speed anywhere in the hotel was a plus.
I had 4 dinners at "La Terrazza" Bistro and the quality was very good for a fair price - the “spuma di mascarpone” for desert was delicious.
Breakfast was very decent, with fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and yoghurts. I would suggest some variety of bread as we only have white bread available. The breakfast room was amazing, the old theatre beautifully restored (as the rest of the hotel) with the stage and a piano.
Location is great, just 10 minutes walk to the city centre, lots of shops in via Indipendenza.
I stayed 6 nights for business purposes and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping, ask for a room facing the garden. Via Indipendenza can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

Mixed feelings about this one.
Likes
Location good (but essentially hotel central)
Clean and interesting refurb of an old building
Quality breakfast (restaurant meant to be excellent but shut on the night I was there)
Free wi-fi (worth the extra dot)
Pretty decorated ceilings
Dislikes
As others said, noisy if people walk around above
Sparse, minimalist rooms ill-suited to the overall building (e.g. hanging rack instead of a wardrobe)
At times looks like a spooky building out of a Stephen King novel
Very slow check-out process

OK is rate is good....amazed it's part of SLH though.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gastronauta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

will you be able to sleep in peace. The rooms have no carpets and if you are unlucky to have someone above you with high heels say goodbye to your chance of sleeping. Also, make sure your room faces the garden, not the main street.

Apart from that, breakfast is good and the location is convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel for one night. It was a business travel. The location is absolutely perfect. The ambiance of the hotel was impressing. Staff was not polite. Breakfast was OK. Computer in business center is free. However the rooms are very small! Rooms have no carpet! Small TV had 5 channels. The refrigerator was working like a tractor. Doesn't let you sleep so I pulled out the plug. The room was cold in the autumn. The Hotel doesn't let you to control the air conditioner. Close to the airport; 15 minutes. There were a lot of hotels on the same street. I'm sure there are better ones.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senol84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iportici, Sales Department at I Portici Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011
Google Translation

Gentile Ospite,

mi spiace se il suo soggiorno non ha corrisposto pienamente alle sue aspettative.

Al fine di non trasmettere un messaggio fuorviante alla community di Tripadvisor è' mia personale premura precisare quanto segue:

Le dimensioni ed il design delle nostre camere è evidente sul nostro sito e sui principali canali on e off-lin: camere singole con letto francese (120 cm) 12-18mq - camere doppie 22-35mq;

I minibar delle nostre camere, per quanto non siano eccessivamente rumorosi, saranno presto sostituiti con un modello nuovo;

I nostri TV hanno un portafoglio di più di 20 canali, metà dei quali sono internazionali;

Per ragionevoli questioni di igiene abbiamo preferito non avere la moquette. Il pavimento delle nostre camere è in parquet oppure in pregiato marmo palladiana.

Un'ulteriore perplessità riguarda il suo giudizio sul nostro staff, il quale - come segnalato dagli innumerevoli recensori della community di Tripadvisor - si è sempre mostrato cortese e professionale. Ovviamente, sono a sua completa disposizione, qualora ritenesse opportuno comunicarmi maggiori informazioni a riguardo.

Spero di averla nuovamente come nostro ospite; sono certo che saremo in grado di superare le sue perplessità.

Cordiali saluti,

Pasquale Noli
Sales Department
I Portici Hotel Bologna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were told when we check in he chose a "quiet" room for us. When we walked in the room around 1PM, the room was very very dark. There was a tiny little window that faced the courtyard. The room was clean and quiet, but it didn't feel very comfortable. The breakfast was also very expensive (30euros), which we did not get, so it could be worth it?

The location was great. Walking distance to great restaurants and other sites.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kokochan420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We found this hotel by recommendations on the internet and were very pleased. The staff was extremely attentive and the venue unique. A very convenient location for walking into the old historic center. Bologna is a great walking city because of its beautiful and bountiful porticos. Rain or shine, walking is fine.

Be sure and ask the staff to show you the "refrigerator" - a bit of hidden history.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Pasquale Noli greeted us and found out I was Italian by birth. We had a regular room reserved for the night, but he upgraded us to the "Imperial Suite" in the penthouse. OMG is all I can say. Ultra modern and sleek. HUGE. Amenities were unbelievable. Service Impeccable. I would stay here all over again and will any time we come to Bologna. HIGHLY RECOMMEND..

Room Tip: The penthouse is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iportici, Sales Department at I Portici Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Dear Madame,
I really thank you for your kind review.
It was a great pleasure to met you!!!
I hope to see you soon.

Pasquale Noli
Sales Department
I Portici Hotel Bologna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,582 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,568 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,283 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#13 of 102 in Bologna
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Portici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Portici Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 69, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bologna
#15 Business Hotel in Bologna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $91 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — I Portici Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your I Portici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Portici Bologna
Hotel i Portici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing