We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is indeed Charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Trevi Charming House
Ranked #4 of 299 Bologna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This lovely hotel is family run and this is so evident in their pride of customer service and all the little details that can make your stay a real pleasure. We had notified them that our plane was landing at 11:00 pm and Francesco stayed very late to welcome us warmly and graciously, even though it was almost midnight by the time we arrived.

Our room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was opulent. All the important amenities were included: high speed internet, cable TV, iron and ironing board, a set-up for making hot tea or coffee in the room and even a complimentary bottle of wine!

At breakfast we were greeted like family by Francesco's beautiful wife, who described to us all the special Sunday pastries available that day, and encouraged us to try this and that! The breakfat buffet selection was extensive including: fresh fruits, yogurt, cereals, 5 different breads, jams, a variety of cheeses and coldcuts, frittata, hard boiled eggs, juices, coissants, and 4 or 5 special pastries and cakes...and of course coffee served any way we wished!

The hotel was perfectly located very near the historical city center. We also discovered lovely broad tree lined boulevards just around the corner. When we visited, the weather was stormy, alternating sun and rain. We chose not to be encumbered by umbrellas, and because of the porticos that cover all the sidewalks, we were able to walk all day, staying dry even in a heavy rain.

We will be returning to Bologna and know that this will always be our place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gianna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Trevi Charming House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 257 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is an interesting place to stay. Francesco the owner is a darling, very nice upright guy who means what he says and says what he means. The place is super clean and a little sparse and if all you need is a place to stay that's close to the city center it will do.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drea Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We found this small family run hotel on Tripadvisor and decided to try it. It is located handily close to the city centre but in a quiet residential street about ten minutes walk away from the main square. The wife greeted us at reception and recommended a fabulous restaurant for lunch. Nothing was too much trouble.

The room was large, pine, and had all mod-cons including internet access. The bathroom was huge with a top notch shower.

Breakfast was a buffet with cold meats, cheese, and fresh breads and croissants, cereals and wonderful coffee. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had the triple room which has a mezzanine where our son slept. But all the rooms are en suite and...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jervis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights in the early summer time. The hotel is run by a couple who were so welcoming and gave us lots of great advice about the best restaurants and places to see. Breakfast was comprehensive, with lots of options. The city gets really hot in June and we were happy to come home to an air conditioned room to rest in the afternoon hours.

I was travelling for a few weeks with my mother and after the hustle and bustle of Rome, wanted somewhere we could enjoy Italian food and history in a relaxed way. Bologna was perfect for that. We could walk everywhere, the city has an amazing history and the people were friendly. I would recommend going on the walking tour they offer at the main tourist information centre in the square.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a beautiful b+b, gorgeous bright, clean rooms that are modern and spacious. The bathroom was great with lots of lovely toiletries to choose from. The breakfast was served in a lovely bright room, and had the weather been a bit brighter there was an outside terrace. Breakfast had agreat chouce of cold meats, cheese and breads and good coffee most importantly!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulugaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on the second leg on our 10 day trip to Italy in Sept. The owner is the nicest man and SUPER helpful and patient. The location is great, the whole city is walkable and he gives you a passcode to enter late at night so it feels very safe. Our room was very spacious and had a great terrace that we drank wine on and and enjoyed the view of the red clay roofs. We didnt utlize the included breakfast but we heard it was very good. Also the view from the end of the street, with the rolling hills in the backround? Such a great photo op! Bologna was a WONDERFUL city and the name of this place described it perfectly- "charming."

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pandatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Palazzo Trevi is a small B+B located 5 to 10 minutes from the historic centre of Bologna, down a quiet street, it doesn't look very 'Palazzo like' either inside or out, but we didn't mind this at all - there are plenty more superb old buildings in Bologna. We stayed for 3 nights, and found the B+B to be excellent in every respect; nice sized rooms with all mod cons (safe, Sky satellite if you need it, mini bar), superb bathroom and one of the best 'continental' breakfasts we can remember. The hosts and staff were helpful and charming - all in all a thorough recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SteveLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,472 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#6 of 102 in Bologna
1,600 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
885 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Trevi Charming House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Trevi Charming House

Address: Via Frassinago 31, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range: $140 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Trevi Charming House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable luxury B&B near Piazza Malpighi and Piazza di Porta Saragozza, one of the most beautiful residential areas of the city. Offers a Bed and Breakfast service in the historical center of Bologna, a 10-minute walk from Piazza Maggiore. This is a typical two-storey building in Bologna has been completely renovated with the most modern technological devices to pass on to our customers the maximum comfort in a pleasant environment Design. All rooms are tastefully furnished and equipped with SKY TV, laptop safe, minibar, air conditioning with climate control, bathroom scales, hair dryers, complimentary toiletries and mirror for make-up, Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Palazzo Trevi Charming House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing