We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very goog staff”
Review of Hotel Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Donatello
Ranked #85 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its staff, friendly helper.
The hotel is conveniently located near the station, 15 minute walk, and not far from the center and the surrounding area there are good restaurants, bars etc.
The hotel itself however is a bad evaluation, the 3 stars are excessive. The rooms are very basic, narrow bathrooms, the soundproofing exist both outside (noise of cars, buses) and interior (you can hear everything from the nearby habiatciones). Oh and the price is relatively expensive for those installations calling for modernization.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that do not give the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPVSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 303 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2010

Positive is that it's located not very far from Bologna Centrale station. Fairly easy to find, if you have a map. A short walk away are the Two towers and the Neptune Fountain. Lots of trattorias, cafes and bars around so you don't have to go very far in search of food!! The hotel itself is all right if you're staying for a night or two. My single was very tiny and the bathroom even tinier. There is a computer with internet available for guests to use in the lobby. Wi-fi available but has to be paid for. The staff were cordial. Fairly good buffet breakfast. Great cappuccino!! Got a fair deal on price over the internet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kixguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Hotel Donatello was easy to find from the train station and is centrally located to everywhere you want to go in Bologna. The rate was very reasonable and the included breakfast was decent.
Unfortunately the a/c broke the first night and made for an unbearable sleepless night. Additionally, the person/people in the room above us sounded like they were moving furniture in high heels at 7am each morning. I have no idea what was going on but regardless, it was very noisy. Smoking is allowed in this hotel which, for a non-smoker is gross. Our concern about the a/c was addressed by the very helpful front desk manager and we were assured several times that it would be operating the next night, which thankfully it was. The service at the front desk was great but I'm not sure that makes up for the other downfalls at Hotel Donatello. I would recommend this hotel as a value-priced option for travellers on a budget but I would tell them to not expect the best night's sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The hotel is situated a short distance from the train station and the town centre. If you looking for inexpensive, clean, no frills accommodation then this one is it. The staff are very accommodating and Mary who recommended a couple of great restaurants was very helpful. There is free internet access. Our room was a little tired looking but the room was serviced and we had clean towels everyday. The breakfast was very basic but you didn't starve

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We were in Bologna at the time of the trade fair and the hotel was completely booked with rates double the typical price. The first room we we shown was on the top floor with only a skylight- no other windows. We complained and were given an alternate room that did have windows. We were told we should have requested a window. Who knew one needed to request that. It is a 3 star hotel- clean, comfortable bed, really ugly motel style furniture, no charm whatsoever. It is very well located and includes a typical breakfast and the use of a computer with internet connection in the lobby. Staff was good.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brooksval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

This is a little late, because I stayed there last April for a few days, as we were there on business. This is a little 3 star hotel, where the rooms and bathroom are spacious,and clean, with very helpfull staff at the reception, a good buffet breakfast, and right in the middle of the centre are of bologna, with an excellent rate , which was good value. I had forgotten some of my belongings there, and called a few days later, asked them to ship them to me, and they did, on their cost. I don't know of most places which are small that do this.

If you are tourist from Europe and are used to eating late, well in Italy the lastest will be around 9 in the evening, we had a great dinner on St Stefanos area called Cestatorio, I must admit it was and unforgettable meal. If you go to cold cut places, they serve great meat and cheese platters, and good wine.

If we go back to Bologna, I will definately stay at Donatella again.

Thank sponge7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Breakfast was average, tiny bathroom. The location (walking distance from train station) and free internet (computer in lounge downstairs) were the saving graces.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Geeksaregoodfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
#22 of 102 in Bologna
582 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#27 of 102 in Bologna
285 reviews
Nuovo Hotel del Porto
#32 of 102 in Bologna
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albergo Centrale
#24 of 102 in Bologna
745 reviews
NH Bologna De La Gare
#37 of 102 in Bologna
1,675 reviews
San Vitale
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#14 of 102 in Bologna
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donatello

Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 65, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range: $69 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Donatello 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the central Via Indipendenza, in a splendid building of the old town, a few hundred meters from the railway station and from Piazza Maggiore and adjacent to the University area. Just a couple of miles distant from the Airport and the Fair District. Recently renovated, the hotel has got 38 rooms, including 4 with double bathroom and one with a private balcony overlooking Via Indipendenza. The modern structure with every room particularly curated with attention to every detail, the multilingual staff always at your disposal 24 hours on 24 and ready to satisfy any of your requests will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing